We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveler rating
217
27
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
27
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reuben bird guide two nights water birds day trip fellow guests bird walk first stop belize airport main building two night stay a wonderful stay breakfast and dinner belize vacation off the beaten path birding tour angie
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 247 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2011

This is a great place. Peaceful and relaxing. Beautiful grounds to explore. Great food and bar. Angie & Mik are wonderful host and will help you set up tours. The boat tour to Lamani with Reyes &sons is well worth it. Good place for birders ,but you don't have to be a birder to enjoy this beautiful place. So much to see.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travler36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

For the last third of our trip to Belize, we decided to visit the Crooked Tree wildlife Sanctuary which is about midway between Belize City and Orange Walk. Until a few years ago, the village of Crooked Tree was on an island and had to be accessed by a ferry. A connecting road was constructed across the lagoon and now the town is easily accessed across a very bumpy causeway. We opted to stay at Crooked Tree Lodge (http://www.crookedtreelodgebelize.com/). A better choice we could not have made! You need to stop at the visitors’ center and then make a right turn after arriving at Crooked Tree Village and follow the signs. The turns in the road are well marked with wooden signs with yellow lettering for the Lodge.

Be ready for some surprises when you get to the Lodge. It is beautifully maintained with a lot of landscaping done to replace that which was torn up by a hurricane. The web site is accurate but expect changes as the owners were making additions while we were there. The owners of the Lodge are some of the nicest people you want to meet. Angie is a native of Crooked Tree Village and Mick was a helicopter pilot with the British armed forces in Belize. They have two delightful young boys, Cory and Zach (a bit older than shown on the web site). The cabanas are clean, tastefully decorated, well designed with a shower that has plenty of warm water and toilets attached to septic systems that accept toilet paper.

Both the family and the hired help are friendly and helpful. You might be surprised to find beer on tap in such a remote place but ask for a draught in a chilled glass. This can supplement the excellent food served in the lodge. Breakfasts are hearty and the evening meal, while not inexpensive, is gourmet quality served home style. (If you don’t want this, you can go to Carrie’s Kitchen in the village. Ask Angie how to get there.) Even the dogs were friendly at the Lodge. One of them, watched to see if we laid down in a hammock on the front porch of the cabana. If we did, he would then come over and put his head over the side of the hammock and stare at us hoping that we would talk to him and pet him. We did.

We took a morning ride with Mick along the lagoon. He pointed out the birds which were in abundance. Mick has a good eye for them and we saw dozens of different birds as we took our trip. We also saw some swimming cattle who like to eat the water lilies in the lagoon. If you stay at the Lodge, be sure to take this morning trip. As an aside, Zach, who is not yet in school but is quite vocal, is learning to become a guide. He took me on a guided tour around the small pond on the property. His descriptions were perhaps a bit less factual than his father’s but equally interesting.

We took a day trip to the Belize Zoo and to the Baboon (local term for howler monkeys) Sanctuary. Both of these were worth the trip. We spent our last day at the Lodge resting, kayaking and walking around and thinking about what we would find when we got back home (12" of very cold snow). We had hit the one day when there were no other visitors at the Lodge and were privileged to be able to eat supper with the family. What a great end to a great stay!

Date of stay: February 2011
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank oldanalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

The birding was amazing. The cabanas the nicest and most modern of our whole trip. The food was wonderful, if a bit expensive. Very quiet at night. We enjoyed meeting the family and sharing a bit of their lives for a day.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJDill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

My traveling friend wanted a birding experience and I went along for the experience - and I'm so glad I did.
The location is on the lake , the sunsets right in front, the small huts are well decorated, clean and the food was very good. The atmosphere was serene.
The best part was the hospitality of the owners - Mick and Angie. They went well out of their way to make our stay easy, problem free and fun. If you want to enjoy a bird sanctuary, a few quiet days in a lagoon type setting this is the place to go.

We had some difficulty reaching them by phone but keep trying or email them it is worth it. Getting into this lodge is easier than you'd think, we skipped the regional bus (not that dependable and the walk from the main road is too far), took a taxi (which you could get from the airport) for $65 US. Took about 45 minutes.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggyf13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

My grown daughter and I stayed here for two nights, and enjoyed our stay very much. Angie and MIck are very pleasant and knowledgeable hosts, ensuring we maximized our brief stay. I was out birding four times with an excellent guide, seeing dozens of species including Jabaru storks on their nest. My daughter spent the afternoon on the dock with a book and also saw many birds plus a few lizards and butterflies. kayaks are available though with canoe paddles, and swimming is not an option due to crocodiles in the lake.

The cabins are nice if basic. The evening chorus from the shore and lake was the only disruption to sleep. Food was plentiful and delicious, especially the talapia caught that day from the lake. Our request for a Belize meal was happily met.

We would recommend this lodge, and hope to get back there ourselves soon.

Date of stay: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart-Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews