We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GumboLimbo Jungle Resort
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Welcoming Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at this charming small resort over the Christmas holidays. The property is beautiful, the kids loved the pool and the little houses are roomy and comfortable. It was ideal for our family of 4. Our house had 2 double beds and a single bed. Mike and Jenny are so warm and friendly. They made us feel so welcome. I even had a terrible cold and they introduced me to the hot toddy! In addition, the food was delicious and child-friendly. One day we even got a packed lunch to take on a hike. The location is very convenient to some great sites like Barton Creek Cave and the Rio On. I would definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mere_Ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I have stayed with Mike and Gen twice before and am booking a third visit! Expect knowledgeable conversation about Belize and your destinations in a beautiful lodge overlooking the hillside of Georgeville and off into Barton Creek. They were amazingly attentive to my itinerary, and helped me accomplish better than I could have planned. They truly enjoy time with international travelers, making them feel welcome and safe in the beautiful tropics of Belize. The road is a bit rough to get to, but sometimes in the words of Robert Frost ".and I... I have taken the one less traveled by, and it has made all the difference". Friend, these words ring true for Gumbo Limbo

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonesm738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Bottom line: very recommended.

Beautiful small resort in the middle of the Belizean jungle. Perfect geographical place for travels to Tikal, variety of local Maya cities, and ATM.
Self build and hosted by the owners, Jenn and Mike who are very friendly.
You will get good value to your money, but ridiculously they charge you for the egg as an addition to the breakfast (that is included). It's not the few more dollars - but it is unheard that egg is not part of a breakfast unlike in any resort we have been around the world. Overall, the place is "saving". The water pressure was VERY low. The lights were dim to save electricity, and the breakfast was minimal. Small portions of everything.

The dinners were excellent. Better than most restaurants we have been too.

Two points you have to consider before making your reservation:
1. The road to the resort is unpaved. If you plan to go by yourself, you need a 4 wheel drive car. We had a simple rented car that could not make the steep uphill. Going there for the first time in the dark when you don't know the place is unpleasant or even scary.
2. It is nice to be on vacation and get away from the hectic modern life style, so get ready to be isolated. The phone reception is poor, and the wifi is sporadic. If you need to check your emails once daily, this us not the place for you. Btw - no TV, no movies.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ahva63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sh009c00362004, Manager at GumboLimbo Jungle Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2016
Included in the price of the room is a large Continental breakfast including fruits, toast, preserves, cereal, granola bars and yogurt. We only charge for cooked breakfasts. The WiFi and phone service have all been upgraded in the last 2 years, so know we have perfect cellphone reception. Thanks for your positive comments. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had 5 wonderful days in this luxurious small scale jungle resort.
The house (they are real houses, no huts) are incredible spacious, clean and well-appointed.
Jenn and Mike are wonderful hosts and run the resort like a guesthouse.
The resort is in the middle of the jungle but in a cleared space.
I would say it is probably the best value for money in Cayo.
The Mountain Pine Ridge is nearby as is San Ignacio
We abolutely didn´t have enough time to do everything but Caracol definitely was a highlight.
Thanks for everything, we had a great time!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marieke v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucker
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Mike and Jenn were both wonderful as was the resort. Our room was beautiful, new and CLEAN with a cool bathroom. The resort is gorgeous we even took a dip one evening to cool off in their pool. Food was great and the pies were made by the Mennonites which has a large community in Belize. You are a bit remote up here, but we were looking for a feel of jungle. The only minor flaws was that i could not get internet in our room and because you are in the jungle we did see bugs. But hey, we were in the jungle so its expected. My cousin, I was traveling with, and myself were both very pleased with our choice to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coverbye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We live in San Pedro, Belize and made our first trip to San Ignacio. We could not have picked a better place to stay! Mike and Jenny are AMAZING PEOPLE. They are such a cute, hard working couple that will make you feel like you are at your home away from home. With only 4 cabanas...how could you not feel like you were home?
They brought us french-pressed coffee, with all the fixin's....to our porch every morning...or you could just grab a chair and have your morning coffee with them in the lounge area. Continental breakfast is included and it was just perfect.
We had dinner with them our last night and Jenny made a homemade pork roast with all the fixings...stuffing, glazed carrots, with a pineapple slaw, potatoes and a choice of dessert. It was one of the best meals I have had since moving to Belize. Sitting family style was so appropriate and we met a fun group also staying at the resort.
The peace and tranquility makes you truly enjoy the experience and the beautiful landscape. But...yet you are only a 15 minute drive to the town of San Ignacio. PERFECT LOCATION!!!!!!
They will help you with all your desination spots for your vacation....hiking, waterfalls, ruins...you name it, they will assist.
Top of the line, first class service with a personal flair.
I truly look forward to heading back to San Ignacio and I will most likely stay here again.
Cheers Mike and Jenny! You guys rock. Can't wait to see you again!

Room Tip: Only four cabanas to choose from....all were great. All quiet. One honeymoon suite, and the others h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnackShackBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
530 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

A very comfortable quiet place to stay. On Pine Ridge Road about 10km from San Ignacio, which might seem on first impression a long way from town but then none of the main hotels are actually in San Ignacio itself and all would require a taxi or your own car to go to the town. And I thought we would occasionally go to town to eat at restaurants, but that proved to be not the case as the town really lacked a ‘centre’ and nice looking restaurants proved hard to find. So wherever you stay you’ll very likely be eating there as well. And in that respect Gumbo Limbo also scored highly. Dinner was a set three course meal each evening and changes for diet requirements will easily be accommodated. A three course meal for two people was 80BZ$ which is US$40, UK£27 Extremely good value. Breakfast is included in the room price and was a selection of cereal, lots of fresh fruits with juice, coffee and toast. Always a good start to the day.
Rooms are very large and comfortably furnished situated well apart in the gardens with a pool in the centre. No tv or fridge in the room or a/c but none of these proved necessary as who wants tv on vacation, beers were cheap enough even if you were out in the countryside, and the rooms were large enough to be cool especially in the evenings. Mike and Jenny were friendly helpful hosts and will do a packed lunch for you for longer day trips, have contacts locally for all the usual excursions and even have contacts in Guatemala for taxis if you want to arrange your own trip to Tikal and Flores as we did. We had our own car having driven around the Yucatan and Belize and they very helpfully allowed us to leave it there while we did our 4 day Guatemala trip. The 1 km track off the main road to their place did prove a little challenging for our tiny hatchback but is easy enough for the 4x4’s used by excursion companies and most taxis. But you’ll only drive in and out once a day and as long as you are careful, even in a very small car like ours, it shouldn’t be an issue. A place we can well recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KS&HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgeville
5.6 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
7.1 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
6.4 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
9.0 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GumboLimbo Jungle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GumboLimbo Jungle Resort

Property: GumboLimbo Jungle Resort
Address: 2 Miles Mountain Pine Ridge Road, Georgeville, Belize (Formerly Gumbo Limbo Village Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > Georgeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Georgeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — GumboLimbo Jungle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is nestled in the jungle in the Cayo District, 7 miles from the bustling twin towns of Santa Elena & San Ignacio. Only 2 miles from the Western Highway on the Mountain Pine Ridge Rd . We are centrally located to many major Mayan archaeological sites and caves, and other attractions in Belize. The resort consists of well appointed accommodation, large spacious cabañas with en suite facilities and hot and cold water, comfortable relaxing areas with panoramic views over the Maya mountains. We are an eco-friendly resort using solar and wind power and every effort is being made to maintain the natural environment. Fully licensed bar. Restaurant. Swimming pool. Free high-speed wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your GumboLimbo Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
GumboLimbo Jungle Resort Belize/Georgeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing