We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get spoiled by Jenn and Mike!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
GumboLimbo Jungle Resort
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spent three nights using the Gumbo Limbo Jungle resort as our base for birding and Mayan ruin exploration. The owners, Mike and Jenn were exceptional. The resort is completely off the grid and you would never know it. The rooms were super clean, the meals simply elegant, the staff super friendly. They will set you up with whatever you have for guiding needs. I highly recommend this place and plan on going back. We had a blast!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonB301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 60 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

Upon arriving we found the property to be above and beyond our expectations. The owners made you feel like you were at home.
If you want quiet (no dogs barking, church bells ringing all night) this is the place, you can do all the exploring and day journeys from here, and you will be hard pressed to find better food in any restaurant in San Ignacio. They even have draught beer.
On a hot day you can jump into their pool located in the centre on the complex, just steps from the cabanas.
When you awake you are greeted by Jen and Mike, the owners with a warm and genuine smile
As one guest commented (I feel like a princess here)
CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN
Robin and Dawn McKay Victoria, Canada

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belizian1Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My family started our Belizean vacation at Gumbo Limbo and Mike and Jenny set the bar very high. We arrived late in the evening and were welcomed with drinks and smiles. Even though we hadn't prearranged meals, there was a delicious stewed chicken supper available. Lunch the next day was equally as good - try the nachos! (Thanks Emmy and Chris!) Our room was beautiful, spotless, and had plenty of room for the four of us and all our stuff. The setting is beautiful - a lovely tropical garden on the top of a knoll, surrounded by thick jungle.

We didn't have plans for the day and we didn't have transportation, but Mike made arrangements to take us ziplining and drove us over and back, with a scenic tour on the way.

I didn't realize it when booking, but the location of Gumbo Limbo is great - short of staying right in San Igancio, which we didn't want to do, this resort is at a really excellent location for access to a lot of the Cayo attractions like Barton Creek, Calico Jack's, Xunantunich, and Caracol. You inevitably end up spending time on dirt roads in the Cayo, but this location can minimize that time while giving you a secluded place to rest in between.

The last thing I have to comment on is how wonderful the place was to have our family. The kids (ages 8 and 11) were made to feel welcome and had lots of room to run and play. They enjoyed the pool in spite of the rain, and had lots of fun in the hammocks and collecting rocks around the grounds.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaylene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We found GumboLimbo while in Cayo district visiting the Pine Mountain area with all of its gorgeous water falls and mountain rivers. Some of the most beautiful parts of Belize are all around this resort. There are 4 really large cabanas with cool front porches to watch the beauty all around you. Loved the bar and restaurant and the owners really care about their guests. I recommend this resort as the perfect Cayo resort for families since the big rooms and pool will make everyone happy. Can't wait to get back there when we can stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanHeimbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at Gumbo Limbo for 2 nights in January. This resort in the middle of a jungle is amazing. The location is perfect as it is in close proximity to the Western Highway and yet far away from a crowded area. This location is convenient for a number of attractions in this area. We stayed at Gumbo Limbo on the way to and from Tikal. The place is built by the owners with love and very tastefully decorated. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and the views are breathtaking. 4 cabanas are very spacious, with all modern conveniences, comfortable beds and beautiful linens. Jenny and Mike are wonderful hosts. We felt as if we were their personal guests staying in their home and were totally spoiled by their attention to every little request we made. We had our breakfasts and dinners at the resort, the food was delicious and served on fine china. On our first morning at the resort we had to leave really early, at 6 am, to go to Tikal, so our breakfast was served at 5:30 am! We also enjoyed very much our conversations with Jenny, Mike and Steve, their son. It was difficult to leave from such a lovely place, we hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klara2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Gumbolimbo. The room was a free-standing casita and was large with numerous windows, needed for ventilation as it rained the last 8 days we were in Belize. It was very clean and comfortable. Mike and Jen are fantastic hosts. They are very accommodating and friendly. The setting is beautiful and relaxing, although most of the time we were out exploring the area and not relaxing. The pool IS swimable in the winter, although it would have to be described as refreshing. Gumbolimbo is close enough to San Ignacio to eat there for variety and some very reasonable prices. We were worried about the State Department warnings against driving after dark, but that did not turn out to be a problem. Concern was about pedestrians and bicycles without lights (these definitely were there, but defensive driving handles these), animals on the road (no issues here), and potholes (no worse than the northern US at the end of winter, at least on the paved roads - the dirt roads were typical dirt roads in a tropical climate). Of course, the extensive "speed bumps" or even worse "pedestrian crossings" have to be watched for very carefully, as excessive speed over theses could cause some car damage. In summary, do not be afraid to stay at Gumbolimbo as a base to explore the wider area, even after dark.

Much ballyhoo has been made of the driveway, but it really is not any worse than some of the main dirt roads, such as the one to Caracol. We had a 4x4, but used 2-wheel drive for everything in Belize (except the one time we ran over a curb and used 4x4 to back out). High clearance definitely is recommended, though.

The only slight downside at Gumbolimbo for us was the dinner food, which we found to be a bit too bland and too salty. Granted we are picky eaters, preferring fresh vegetables and seafood with very little additional seasoning added. Meat and potato eaters we are not. However, there are great eating opportunities nearby, including an excellent and surprisingly reasonable restaurant (the best meal we had in all of Belize) at Coppola's Blancaneaux Lodge, 1/2 hour from Gumbolimbo.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcoWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Mike & Jenny run an amazing resort and have a beautiful place to call home! My husband & I stayed with them for four nights after spending 10 days on Ambergris Caye...it was paradise! So peaceful & quiet, beautiful grounds and a lovely cabana. The staff was amazing, the food was outstanding & the personal touch the owners put into our stay was out of this world. We highly recommend this place and will definitely be staying again on our next trip to Belize.

Thanks again for the wonderful Christmas dinner - it was so nice to feel loved & taken care of while away from home our first time on Christmas! XxOo

Bob & Jen from Seattle

Room Tip: If you book with Expedia or any of those travel services, it's best to call the owners and let t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgeville
20.8 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
696 reviews
3.6 mi away
Amber Sunset Jungle Resort
8.9 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Pook's Hill Lodge
Pook's Hill Lodge
#2 of 4 in Belmopan
280 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,274 reviews
8 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GumboLimbo Jungle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GumboLimbo Jungle Resort

Address: 2 Miles Mountain Pine Ridge Road, Georgeville, Belize (Formerly Gumbo Limbo Village Resort)
Location: Belize > Cayo > Georgeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Georgeville
Price Range: $102 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — GumboLimbo Jungle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is nestled in the jungle in the Cayo District, 7 miles from the bustling twin towns of Santa Elena & San Ignacio. Only 2 miles from the Western Highway on the Mountain Pine Ridge Rd . We are centrally located to many major Mayan archaeological sites and caves, and other attractions in Belize. The resort consists of well appointed accommodation, large spacious cabañas with en suite facilities and hot and cold water, comfortable relaxing areas with panoramic views over the Maya mountains. We are an eco-friendly resort using solar and wind power and every effort is being made to maintain the natural environment. Fully licensed bar. Restaurant. Swimming pool. Free high-speed wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your GumboLimbo Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
GumboLimbo Jungle Resort Belize/Georgeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing