We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Black Orchid Resort is the best - hands down.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Black Orchid Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrell Boom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2009

My wife and I (both seniors) made our first trip to Belize in early December, 2009 and decided to stay three nights on the mainland before going to Ambergris Caye. We elected to use the services of a local travel agent (Kim Chanona with Up Close Belize) to book our hotels, rental car, and inter-island flights) and we elected to stay at the Black Orchid Resort in Burrell Boom, Belize.

The Black Orchid Resort is exceptional in every way:

Location - about 25 minutes from the Belize airport and situated on approximately two acres (my guess) right on the Belize river in a jungle setting;

Facilities - outstanding in every aspect, very spacious and well appointed rooms, plenty of windows to let in the wonderful outdoors, everything works (the resort opened in 2005) and the landscaping is beautiful;

Dinning - a terrific experience. The area is under-roof, open but screened in, and has the in-the-middle-of-the-jungle feel. They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner (it's a good thing, because there isn't much else to choose from for miles around). The meals are well prepared, served in a timely manner, very tasty and the menu offers many choices;

Staff - Doug and his wife have assembled a staff that truly care about their visitors. Each individual showed honest interest and took extra care to insure our experience was enjoyable. Everything was more than we expected, not a single disappointment.

Going the extra mile - our connecting flight out of Detroit had been delayed three hours so we didn't arrive at the Black Orchid until close to 8:00 pm. But there was Doug, the owner, standing outside to welcome us and direct our way. I knew at that point we had selected the right place to start our Belizean experience.

Note: If your trip to Belize might require an overnight stay before continuing to another destination don't look to facilities in Belize City - look to nearby Burrell Boom and the Black Orchid Resort - tell Doug we sent you. You'll love the experience.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HubieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 579 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2009

The location on Rio Wallace was perfect. The vegetation was gorgeous and the food...baked chicken that fell off the bone, plaintains, red beans and rice...not to mention the Bilikin Beer....heavenly. If you want to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyrtleBeachKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

This small hotel is situated on the banks of the Belize river.
Reception, Dining Room and Bar are situated in a main building and bedrooms are in blocks (four rooms to a block) around the spacious grounds.
Numerous, birds, butterflies and iguanas are regular non-paying guests!
Doug, the MD and all of his staff were always extremely welcoming and obliging and attended to all of our needs with a ready smile. Belizeans appear to be the happiest people on the Planet and take a very philosophical attitude to life. Why not living in such a beautiful country?
The hotel provides cycles, kayaks and pedaloes free of charge, whilst a variety of excursions can be booked at Reception. We can recommend the River Trip from the Hotel, to become closer acquainted with the wildlife.
Our air-conditioned room was very comfortable with two large beds and Cable TV.
The bathroom always had plenty of hot water.
The Kitchen staff worked hard to satisfy our demands and the quality of the food was excellent
The wine selection was a little limited for the connoisseur but the choice offered created no problems for us.
The Hotel lacked a comfortable lounge area and the swimming pool showed signs of an algae problem, but theseare problems which are being addressed and we are sure they will be remedied before we return. Which we certainly intend to do.
Neither Belize nor the Black Orchid are for those who want an all action holiday but both are more suited to those looking for a peaceful, relaxing break.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaphosCyprus_Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

made the trip for my Perfect for family! and alot of activities and guided tours to see and do!

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
Thank TerranceC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

We decided to stay at the Black Orchid Resort the day before we flew out to come home. We were on Caye Caulker and our flight left at 10am the next day, we didn't want take any chances on weather, water taxi schedules etc. so we were looking for a place to stay in Belize City.

Our first mistake was not using their pickup service from the water taxi. Black Orchid will charge you $25 (this is a good deal. Do not use the taxis, they will take you to a different hotel and charge you more than $25 to take you to the correct hotel). Our second mistake is that we only spent one night. I really was not aware of all the things we could have done in our one day stay but the staff can definitely help and set up any excursions.

Upon our arrival, two staff members came to the taxi, unloaded our bags and when our room was assigned they took the bags for us. There was no talking about it or asking for help, the staff just helped us.

With it being our last day we ate all of our meals in the dining room and found it to be reasonably priced and good. I do feel that the staff went out of their way to make the stay more enjoyable. For instance, we went to the pool with my small daughter and without asking or talking to anyone one of the staff members dropped off three pool towels. In my opinion this is just good service when they take care of your needs before you realize you need it!

The rooms were spacious and very clean.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoTravel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

My sister and I bought tickets last minute tickets to Belize with no plans, knowing very little about the country. We picked Black Orchid because the other reviews made it sound like they would help take care of everything for us. And they totally did! They were at the airport when we arrived and took us to the hotel. We picked out some activities from their list and they were ready to take us the next morning. We're vegetarian and were a little worried but the food was great! We just billed everything to the room and never once had to deal with cash. The trip to the Mayan ruins was absolutely the highlight. Great trip all around.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celarkobri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

We stayed at the Black Orchid on the last day of our week in Belize. I found it online and let me tell you that the website pics do not do the grounds justice; the hotel and grounds are much more beautiful in person. We met the owner on the day we checked in and he made sure that we felt welcomed during our stay. It is in a great location not too far from the airport in Belize City but far enough so that you do not hear the air traffic noise. The grounds are kept beautiful with many places to sit outside and enjoy the weather. We loved to sit in the screened in patio that overlooked the river; it was a calming place to enjoy breakfast and evening snacks. The room was a standard hotel room with air conditioning available. The room was very clean with great running hot water.

The restaurant at the hotel was ok. The food was not exceptional but it was good. We were happy with the price and the quality of the meals.

We booked a tour with them to go to the zoo and loved the personal service we received. They were eager to give us as much info about Belize and the area as we could intake. We actually wished we could have stayed here for a couple of more days to take in more of the sites near Belize City; the hotel is in a good central location to get to many places. We found out also that the hotel is going to try and have a rental car available to guests in case someone does not want a rental car for a full week but does want to venture out on their own a couple of times.

We told the owner that we will plan to stay again when we come back to Belize.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RescueAPei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burrell Boom
15.2 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
12.0 mi away
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
14.5 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
69 reviews
23.1 mi away
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
21.5 mi away
Royal Palm Island Resort
Royal Palm Island Resort
#2 of 2 in St. George's Caye
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Orchid Resort

Address: 2 Dawson Lane | Belize District, Burrell Boom, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize District > Burrell Boom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrell Boom
Price Range: $122 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Orchid Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belize has such contrasts from the beaches to the jungle to the Mayan ruins, from the rivers to the Cayes, a good base from which to see it all, is the Black Orchid Resort on the banks of the Belize River on the outskirts of Burrell Boom Village, fifteen minutes from the international airport it’s easy to reach and easy to leave from. Just a short distance away from Belize City, the resort is also within an hour’s drive of most of the country’s mainland attractions, making it a convenient launching point for your vacation adventures. We provide accommodations with an ambiance of environmental radiance, alluring air conditioned rooms and immaculate, quiet and safe grounds. We are an excellent alternative to Belize City and gateway to all Belize has to offer; with knowledgeable guides and transportation for snorkeling, deep sea fishing, cave tubing, Maya Ruin tours, complimentary international airport shuttle, free use of kayaks, canoes, peddle boats and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Orchid Hotel Burrell Boom
Black Orchid Belize City
Black Orchid Resort Belize/Burrell Boom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing