We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great respite from the bustle of Belize City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Black Orchid Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrell Boom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2009

This place was incredible. We spent 6 nights here with Praying Pelicans. 19 teens and adults on a wild eyeglass mission trip. We enjoyed the air-conditioned rooms, very roomy and comfy beds. Despite not having hot water, the place was incredible. Canoeing on the river with the Howler monkeys right outside hanging out after a great tasting breakfast at the restaurant. Great people, got to know the staff well in a week, very accommodating and don't forget to get some ice cream before turning in to bed. Quiet little getaway, 30 min from Belize city near the baboon sanctuary. And boy, can you hear those monkeys howl!

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donniebeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

540 - 546 of 584 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2009

We stayed at the Black Orchid Resort for the last two nights of our vacation in Belize. I highly recommend this resort to anyone who needs to stay in the Belize City area, either at the beginning or ending of their trip to Belize, as it's gorgeous, immaculately maintained, and in an area where there is abundant wildlife.

We were given a two-bed room with a view of the Mopan River, on the upper floor. Each building has a name, which is part of the charm. The room was clean and the air conditioning first rate, which was ideal considering that it was unseasonably hot and could get uncomfortable mid-day. The beds have beautiful comforters on them that are hand-stitched by the local Mennonites. They are religious in nature, but if that bothers you, just look at the exquisite workmanship. The room had a good-sized balcony, and a nice area for storing luggage and belongings. The bathroom had a large shower with great water pressure. It was a very quiet setting with extremely comfortable beds.

The staff was incredible and helpful and went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of. Bev personally made sure that we had assistance with luggage and that everything was in great shape for us. There are paddleboats and canoes for guest use, and Ryan and Hector made sure that we had what we needed for a leisurely paddle up-river and back. Ryan also made a special trip to secure some ace bandages for a member of our group who had gotten injured, and the entire staff made sure that we were helped all the way along.

The pool is relatively small but very inviting on a hot day, and my children loved spending time in it. It does get very slippery since it's surrounded by tile, so more than usual caution needs to be exercised. The kids had a great time here. They loved talking to the resident parrot, and looking for lizards (basilisks and anoles) near the pool. Since one of the things we love about traveling is seeing the wildlife, the fact that howler monkeys came by every morning (ask the staff where to look in the tree by the dock) and that there were very large and fast iguanas that hang out on the grassy lawns, was a bonus. There are also loads of birds that come by, as well as geckos, so there's plenty to watch for.

The onsite restaurant offers superb food. There's clearly a great cook back in there - everything from french fries to pastas was perfectly cooked and delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunbunny31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

We were going to Ambergris Caye on vacation but wanted to spend a day on the mainland to visit the Belize Zoo and avoid Belize City at the same time. Based on the Trip Advisor reviews we stayed at the Black Orchid. It was perfect for our needs.

We were easily met at the airport for a quick ride back to the hotel. Once there we had a nice swim in the pool and a very good meal in the restaurant, including the Belizean version of Chicken Korma, which was excellent. Their breakfast, especially the fresh fruit and juices, was excellent too. Try the watermelon juice. The hotel itself was not "fancy" or modern but was a nice, clean, simple hotel / motel kind of place. Our room was large, the beds comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean. The grounds were cool too set right on the Belize River w/ Howler Monkeys and iguanas all over the place. But the best thing about the hotel was the staff. Everyone was uber-friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were all happy. As we were there w/ young kids they showed them a lot of attention, which they of course loved.

The reason we stayed here though was so we could use it as a base to visit the Belize Zoo before heading to Ambergris Caye and this was certainly the highlight of the stay and one of the best parts of our trip to Belize. The guide we had, Ryan, was friendly, educational and entertaining. I would highly recommend you ask for him by name. He guided us through the Zoo in about three hours, we saw pretty much everything and he was good at finding some of the more difficult animals to see, including the jaguar, ocelot, marguays, puma, monkeys, etc., etc. He was really good at "calling" the howler monkeys and getting them to respond back, which was very cool. It's amazing how loud they are. And according to Ryan... you can hear the loud ones from a mile away.

Although we were only here the night, when my kids are older I'd come back for an extra couple of days to use it as a base to also tour The Baboon Sanctuary, Lamanai, Altun Ha, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelustNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

Black Orchid is a great choice close to Belize City. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and right on a river bank. The rooms are a good size and kept clean. The staff at Black Orchid is top notch, everyone is super friendly and helpfull. They offer great tours you can book at the front desk. I highly recommend trips to Lamanai, Altun Ha, Belize Zoo & Cave Tubing / Zip Lining. The resturaunt is also excellent, a little slow, but that's just Belizean time for ya! I loved every minute at Black Orchid!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NattyATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

We chose to stay at the Black Orchid because our flight to Belize was scheduled to arrive at 4:45pm on a Sunday, which meant that if it was late, we'd miss flights and water taxi to an island and renting a car to the jungle meant driving on unfamiliar roads in the dark.

Dexter picked us up from the airport as promised and the ride to the resort is about 15 minutes. He was our driver for a couple of excursions. He's friendly. The driving in Belize is a bit crazy though. Please be careful if you decide to rent a car.

We stayed in a river/garden view room. While the decor is like going to grandmother's home with funny bedspreads and art, it is spotless. We kept the windows and the door to our veranda open during the day (when we were in our room) - it was very comfortable. At night, we used the AC. We could hear other televisions, but I think it was because our windows were open...we slept fine.

We took two day-trips. One to Jaguar Paw for zip-line and cave tubing. That was fun. The next day we went on a river cruise to Lamani. I wouldn't call it a cruise as you are flying down the river in a speed boat. That trip was ok....but certainly not worth $100US per/person. It was noted that the trip was a "private tour" but it included about a dozen other people from island resorts.

We canoed the Belize river, that was nice.

Unexpected perk: we were able to us free Wi-Fi which was a plus as we avoided massive roaming charges on our iphone. So we were able to send our kids a couple of pics of our sights for the day.

The food was fine. I didn't feel the prices were that bad. The best part of dinner was visiting with other guests (there were very very few but my husband and I were craving interaction, so we'd introduce ourselves. :) )

If I had a do over, I would have stayed one ... two nights max and spend an extra night on the island....or go further inland to San Ignacio's jungle lodges for a full on jungle experience.

As another reviewer noted, there is a $20BZ per/person charge to go to the marina for a water taxi to the cayes. I thought that it was free of charge since airport drop-offs were included.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank littlelily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

Mr. Doug, Mr. Dexter and all the staff were exemplary. We were met at the airport as promised. Our room overlooking the river was extremely pleasant and well equipped, peaceful and even our own resident iguana on the lawn. We enjoyed the swim pool which was close by and our meals in the dining room were varied and leisurely. Trips from Black Orchid were well organized.

The day trip up river to Lamanai, was well worth taking. Out to the Baboon Sanctuary not too exciting. We think a visit to the zoo at night to see all the nocturnal creatures would be a far better experience.

Since Black Orchid is on the river you can take canoes or paddle boats out free of charge. It was great fun being on the river on our own.

At the end of our stay we were driven to the Princess Hotel for the next part of our journey. When we saw the Princess we knew we had made a wonderful choice staying at Black Orchid. It had character and such friendly staff.

Trip Advisor comments came through for us again. All the positive things people said were true and we would highly recommend getting out of Belize City and staying with 'friends' at Black Orchid. Thanks to everyone who made the start of our trip so memorable.

Margaret & Kay
Mountain View, CA

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaretandkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2009

I don't know why so many people recommend this place. The best positive I can say is the staff is VERY nice, but the walls were thin (you can hear the TV and every bit of conversation next door), the decor was cheap (mattress hard as hell and ugly "America the Beautiful blankets!), and most importantly - the food was lousy. When you order something with cheese, understand you get nacho cheese from a can. They also have instant mashed potatoes, pancakes from a box, etc. etc. Hardly anything is GOOD, it is all just 'decent,' but clearly the owner is cheap and only buys the cheapest ingredients at the store. Also, they don't set up most of the trips they advertise for on their website. They mostly just tell you how to get there. Important to know: THEY CHARGE $40 EACH WAY to go into Belize City! Meaning if you want to do a trip that leaves from there, tack on an extra $80 to your expenses. My advice, stay at the Radisson in town. It's much nicer looking and I'm sure their mashed potatoes don't come out of a box.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beautifulbrunette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burrell Boom
15.2 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
12 mi away
Best Western Plus Belize Biltmore Plaza
14.5 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
69 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
343 reviews
21.5 mi away
Royal Palm Island Resort
Royal Palm Island Resort
#2 of 2 in St. George's Caye
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Orchid Resort

Address: 2 Dawson Lane | Belize District, Burrell Boom, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize District > Burrell Boom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrell Boom
Price Range: $144 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Orchid Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belize has such contrasts from the beaches to the jungle to the Mayan ruins, from the rivers to the Cayes, a good base from which to see it all, is the Black Orchid Resort on the banks of the Belize River on the outskirts of Burrell Boom Village, fifteen minutes from the international airport it’s easy to reach and easy to leave from. Just a short distance away from Belize City, the resort is also within an hour’s drive of most of the country’s mainland attractions, making it a convenient launching point for your vacation adventures. We provide accommodations with an ambiance of environmental radiance, alluring air conditioned rooms and immaculate, quiet and safe grounds. We are an excellent alternative to Belize City and gateway to all Belize has to offer; with knowledgeable guides and transportation for snorkeling, deep sea fishing, cave tubing, Maya Ruin tours, complimentary international airport shuttle, free use of kayaks, canoes, peddle boats and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Black Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Orchid Hotel Burrell Boom
Black Orchid Belize City
Black Orchid Resort Belize/Burrell Boom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing