We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Orchid Resort
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 05/31
Book now, pay at stay
$134
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bachelor Inn(Belize City)
$57
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$201
$169
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$207
$201
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Anchorage Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. George's Caye Resort(St. George's Caye)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Royal Palm Island Resort(St. George's Caye)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ignacio's Cabins(Caye Caulker)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (613)
Filter reviews
614 results
Traveler rating
351
173
63
20
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
173
63
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbelize riverblack orchidhowler monkeyscave tubingmayan ruinsriver viewlast nightcontinental breakfastbelize zooclose to the airportour tour guideinternational airportroom was largefree shuttlenice poolzip liningambergris caye
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 614 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had two wonderful nights in the new rooms. The room are clean and spacious with an incredible shower...The hand carved wooden doors are amazing.....we spent time in both the pool by the restaurant where the staff catered to us and the roof top hot tub, most of the time we had the roof top to ourselves...spent the days and nights watching all the wild life by the river and grounds, different birds, lizards and we watched the bats feed and night, absolutely incredible....Carlos took us to Crooked Tree for a great tour of the bird sanctuary, he was extremely knowledgeable. The funniest part was when the husband came out of the room and I could not go back in, after giving him a hard time for locking us out he went to the front desk. They immediately sent someone over to unlock the door for us....I went into the room to change and could not get out...now I had to call the desk and explain I was locked in and the husband was locked out...not that we were concerned I had the bed and bath...and the husband was concerned that his beer was in the fridge but could sleep on the roof top...after calling the desk and everyone have a good laugh they sent three people right away to fix the problem...the continental breakfast was also amazing...I can not say enough good this about the Black Orchid and their staff....Special thanks to Doug & Bev who were amazing...Carlos our tour guide and Kenny our waiter...we would defiantly go back

Fred & Connie

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 777Connie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at the black orchid for 3 nights when we first arrived in belize after a very long flight from Canada.
We can't say a bad hing about it.
The whole resort is top quality from the people that work their to the rooms, pool, restaurant and tours that they offer.
We would definitely return and recommend the black orchid to anyone who wants a quality resort at a reasonable price.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Bernice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My group and I had initially meant to spent 1 night here, however due to the length of time spent at the Lamanai ruins we wouldn't have been able to make the last water taxi. Even though this was the case the driver was willing to make the trip- which we ultimately decided against. We stayed a second night at a very competitive rate and were happy to do so. The location of the hotel was so private and secluded we really felt comfortable and safe. The pool area was fantastic and nicely manicured. The morning continental breakfast was one excellent and included freshly squeezed local fruit, fresh coffee, and the most amazing scones. The staff was exceptional and friendly, especially Bev who greeted us with a smile each day bright and early. Our 2 queen bed room was spacious and shower was enormous with plenty of hot water and great water pressure. The only complaint we had was really the food. My personal suggestion for guests would be to get the traditional Belizian affair - rice, beans, stewed chicken, plantains and coleslaw. This was probably the best tasting and best bet of the different menu items we tried. Overall we had such a pleasant experience and I would definitely suggest to any family or friends. It is located in proximity to many tourist attractions and offers great tours through said companies. We booked a Lamanai ruin river boat tour and it was a life time experience. An exotic getaway-it is very typical to hear the howler monkeys and tropical birds.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alberto F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife stayed here when she first arrived in Belize while waiting for her parents to arrive a day later. The manager was able to pick her up at the airport which was unexpectedly easy ( no charge). The staff was friendly, professional and accommodating. The food was excellent. The room was clean and comfortable. A great way to ease into her trip to Belize. Highly recommended for a single female traveller. Cost was expensive for mainland Belize.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1_4_adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My husband & I recently stayed 4 nights at Black Orchid and, while our room was exceptional (stayed in one of brand new buildings - highly recommend new building), the service left a lot to be desired. It was, however, good on our last day there (we had Jose as our waiter and he was awesome). Most of the time, my husband had to hunt down a waiter to take our order. The poolside drink service was good. The kitchen is structured to cook one meal at a time, so there is a considerable wait for food delivery. We were ensured before leaving that they are striving to improve their service and Beverly was genuinely interested in our suggestions. The property was manicured beautifully; however, one note of caution, the sandy area under the hammocks is full of sand fleas, so spray something on before enjoying hammocks. We did not know this and suffered miserably from bites after using the hammocks the morning we left for the airport.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for room in one of the newer buildings. We had excellent water pressure; nice coffee/frig/sink area and sitting desk. Very comfortable bed and large bathroom. A/c kept us plenty cool for weather we had at the time (highs in 80's).
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews