We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and a convient pickup from the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Black Orchid Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrell Boom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This was our third stay at Black Orchid which should speak for itself.
We enjoy the convenience of the airport shuttle and the staff is very attentive from pickup to drop off and everything in between. The rooms are nice, clean, and beds are very comfortable. The food is very good, and the prices are very reasonable for both food and drink. For us it's a great stay after our flight in but I wouldn't hesitate to make this a destination as they have many activities and options available.
Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or to recommend it to anyone. This is turning in to our go to place when visiting Belize.

Room Tip: We've stayed in various rooms and all have been great. Depending on the time of the year I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 586 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

We spent our Wedding Anniversary here and had a wonderful time. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was large, beautiful, very clean and over looking the river. They had a nice size very pretty pool. The food was quite good and open from 7:00 - 9:00. The zip-lines were great fun and it was nice how the staff arranged the sites you wanted to see at a better price I might add. The tour guides were very knowledgeable always ready to help. We had a great experience at this beautiful resort. We plan to return the next time we need to be in Belize City.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 288jimh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great little resort in the Belize River. Very friendly staff, good food. Early morning birding boat ride could have been better - getting coffee before 6.30am was hard so by the time the coffee was available and we started the tour we had missed the optimum time.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Matt-Jeffery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Pleasant property set about 15 mins drive from the airport and right on the banks of the Belize River. Smallish pool but adequate for a dip if it gets really hot. Room was large, well appointed and comfortable. Windows are small though so not much natural light gets in. We had lunch twice and dinner once in the main restaurant which was simple but good - although the comprehensive dinner menu provided in the room was not actually available when we got to the restaurant which was just offering a limited number of specials but then at least you know the food was fresh. Breakfast was poor by comparison. Served in a grotty run down building by the pool. A scrappy selection of fruits under cellophane, cereals in Tupperware and do it yourself coffee machines and toasters. Really couldn’t see why they didn’t just serve it in the main building, especially since if you anything more than the complimentary comprehensive breakfast, it came from the main kitchen anyway.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Hackney13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

They transferred us from airport hitch is reasonably close and we used the resort as a base to explore caves, ziplines and Mayan ruins. Staff arranged guides well, very friendly staff always checking we're looked after, reasonable rooms in older section, good kitchen with continental breakfast.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I can't say enough about the incredible team at the Black Orchid. From airport pickup (totally on time) to the not-asked-or-paid-for honeymoon suite upgrade, to the knowledgable and friendly tour drivers to the phenomenal restaurant wait staff, I've never felt so at home in another country... Especially one that is considered to be less developed for tourists.

Our room was gorgeous and huge, and the food at the restaurant was on point each day. Yes, things take longer there (such as new towel requests and food from the kitchen when hey were busy), but people, this is Belize. Reset your expectations for what a vacation should be ... Exciting experiences with a new culture and relaxing in the ample down time, and you will love this place. Only negative for us was the weather which caused major flooding (and perilous stairs our of our suite) and some of the most horrific Mosquitos I've ever encountered (not the hotels fault at all... we met others on the second leg of our trip who stayed elsewhere in the jungle and faced the same issues).

For travelers looking for a central point in mainland Belize for which to tour sites, I HIGHLY recommend it!

Thank you to the Black Orchid and especially to Kurt, Guidel, Ryan, Cesar and Junior! Also to the ladies in management and the front desk (can't remember their names). We can't wait to visit you again!

Room Tip: Ask for the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa_G84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The airport pick up was 30 minutes late. We arrived in pouring rain and the front desk girl gave us a room with one bed (4 of us standing in front of her). We all had to trudge back through the rain to the front desk for the proper room. Got to the room: no towels, no soap. 1 small bottle of water on desk.

Trudged back to the office. Girl couldn't find soap or water. The very accommodating and helpful manager: Beverly, helped us.

Breakfast was a disaster. We had to leave at 7:30 for a tour. We were told breakfast would be ready at 7am. nothing was out and I had to go to the kitchen and ask them to get something for us to take with us.

Pool was green and pool area swarming with biting bugs. Could not enjoy AT ALL. The entire complex was over-run with Cruise ship people coming in from the river tours to eat at the restaurant.

We checked out by giving key to the front desk. Got to the airport and our driver told us we'd have to go back to the hotel because we had an unpaid balance on our account (!). We made it clear that was not going to happen and tried to do it over the phone but the poor driver had to go back to the hotel to get the credit card slip for us to sign. The front desk tried to charge us for a dinner buffet we did not go to and I still don't know if what we did sign was even correct since I was not provided with an itemized bill.

Totally poor management. On the upside: our room was clean and maybe if the river wasn't so high we could have messed around with the kayaks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teeno70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burrell Boom
15.2 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
12 mi away
Best Western Plus Belize Biltmore Plaza
14.5 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
71 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
349 reviews
21.5 mi away
Royal Palm Island Resort
Royal Palm Island Resort
#2 of 2 in St. George's Caye
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Orchid Resort

Address: 2 Dawson Lane | Belize District, Burrell Boom, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize District > Burrell Boom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrell Boom
Price Range: $145 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Orchid Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belize has such contrasts from the beaches to the jungle to the Mayan ruins, from the rivers to the Cayes, a good base from which to see it all, is the Black Orchid Resort on the banks of the Belize River on the outskirts of Burrell Boom Village, fifteen minutes from the international airport it’s easy to reach and easy to leave from. Just a short distance away from Belize City, the resort is also within an hour’s drive of most of the country’s mainland attractions, making it a convenient launching point for your vacation adventures. We provide accommodations with an ambiance of environmental radiance, alluring air conditioned rooms and immaculate, quiet and safe grounds. We are an excellent alternative to Belize City and gateway to all Belize has to offer; with knowledgeable guides and transportation for snorkeling, deep sea fishing, cave tubing, Maya Ruin tours, complimentary international airport shuttle, free use of kayaks, canoes, peddle boats and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Black Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Orchid Hotel Burrell Boom
Black Orchid Belize City
Black Orchid Resort Belize/Burrell Boom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing