We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location to the airport.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Black Orchid Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrell Boom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The best thing about the hotel is the location near the airport. We stayed at several other resorts in Belize during our stay and found the BLack Orchid to be the most costly with the least to offer. We stayed in the "cabin", which was basic at best. The food was fine, but nothing to write home about. If you need a place to stay before or after a flight, you might want to consider the Black Orchid.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
There are newer reviews for Black Orchid Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 579 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a very nice overnight stay at the Black Orchid. The beautiful Miss Bev was especially attentive and friendly. We had a fun tour of Altun Ha with Tony and Miss Anna on the afternoon of our arrival. It was especially fun to talk with Tony about living in Belize during the ride. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed the continental breakfast. The shuttle to and from the international airport was appreciated. Rooms were large, air conditioned and scrupulously clean. The only downside was the expense, which seemed somewhat high.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here one night but wish we would have booked one or two more nights. The staff was extremely professional and friendly. Room was clean and had AC. We liked paddle boating down the river. Heard, but didn't see the Howler Monkeys. Quiet and well kept grounds. Room service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strack2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We ended our honeymoon at the Black Orchid. We had a great time there! Wonderful staff, nice rooms and good food. We came in on a Saturday and were leaving on a Monday. We had wanted to do a tour of the city and Belikin factory, but the factory is closed on the weekend. So the front desk ladies offered to have a driver take us in to the city, show us around and take us shopping. Anthony was our driver and was AMAZING! Friendly, helpful and SO knowledgeable! We went to Altun Ha the next day and Ann was our tour guide and she made it such a fantastic time. We decided to go to the tattoo expo with some new friends and Anthony ended up being our driver again. He made our trip in to and around town so perfect! Definitely would recommend asking for Anthony if you're going on any tours or need a driver when you're there.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the river and it was nice and quiet
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

People were wonderful. Rooms spacious and clean with murals on the wall. We saw a family of howler monkeys right on property. One of the staff tony took us to the Belize Zoo. He was a gem that loved his family, loved his job. He was fulfilled a lot of Americans should take a lesson from him

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had just completed an intensive 11 day tour of Belize and wanted a place to stay for 3 nights. We took the package with built-in one day and a half day trips. The hotel took great care of us with nothing being too much trouble. The tours were well organised and included a trip to Lamanai, Cave-tubing and jungle zip wires. The rum cocktails and swimming pool were the perfect way to finish each day.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask early for al the components of your package.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quincebush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was our first trip to Belize and the Black Orchid and its staff did everything to make us want to come back again and again. The rooms were large and comfortable (the bed I wished to pack up and take home with me) while the restaurant and grounds were better or equal to other five-star resorts my wife and I have used on other trips. The staff was, bar none, the most friendly and committed to catering to our needs than any other trip I have been on. They strived to make you feel at home, and in our case were very successful. We spent the entire week there, booking various excursions for day adventures and relaxing by the pool or down by the river in the evenings. There was just so much to do and see...snorkeling to bird watching to Mayan ruins, etc...and all of it unique! It was the perfect romantic getaway for us and one we hope to make it a habit in the future.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor overlooking the river, which turned out to be perfect for us. The...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffAbell_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burrell Boom
15.2 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
12.0 mi away
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
14.5 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
68 reviews
21.5 mi away
Royal Palm Island Resort
Royal Palm Island Resort
#2 of 2 in St. George's Caye
57 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Orchid Resort

Address: 2 Dawson Lane | Belize District, Burrell Boom, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize District > Burrell Boom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrell Boom
Price Range: $130 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Orchid Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belize has such contrasts from the beaches to the jungle to the Mayan ruins, from the rivers to the Cayes, a good base from which to see it all, is the Black Orchid Resort on the banks of the Belize River on the outskirts of Burrell Boom Village, fifteen minutes from the international airport it’s easy to reach and easy to leave from. Just a short distance away from Belize City, the resort is also within an hour’s drive of most of the country’s mainland attractions, making it a convenient launching point for your vacation adventures. We provide accommodations with an ambiance of environmental radiance, alluring air conditioned rooms and immaculate, quiet and safe grounds. We are an excellent alternative to Belize City and gateway to all Belize has to offer; with knowledgeable guides and transportation for snorkeling, deep sea fishing, cave tubing, Maya Ruin tours, complimentary international airport shuttle, free use of kayaks, canoes, peddle boats and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Orchid Hotel Burrell Boom
Black Orchid Belize City
Black Orchid Resort Belize/Burrell Boom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing