We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little getaway with good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Black Orchid Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrell Boom
Certificate of Excellence
Eden Prairie, MN
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice little getaway with good location”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent one afternoon and night at Black Orchid; it's a great location for exploring the different directions of Belize without having to stay in the city. Tony picked us up from the airport and gave us great info about the country, the owner chatted with us as we checked in. Our kids LOVED hanging out at the pool, canoeing on the river and looking for iguanas. The food was very good in the restaurant (which you have to eat in, as that's the only place around) and the continental breakfast, while sparse, was just fine.

We had the Jaguar House which was a few blocks down the road. It was a little weird and far away, probably not preferable for most people, and I killed a giant roach in the bedroom. Ick. We were supposed to stay in the Howler House which would be great for people who wanted to just lie around by themselves with a beautiful view but no amenities, but it was too far away down a ridiculously rough road for us. Black Orchid moved us with no issue whatsoever.

We left the next morning on a tour after which we headed to Ambergris Caye, but if we had wanted to base inland for a few days the location would be great.

Room Tip: Only choose Howler House if you're a honeymooner and want to sit on the beautiful deck watching...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tacocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    149
    56
    17
    7
See reviews for
130
247
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salome, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at the Black Orchid Resort the first night in Belize, after a long trip from Phoeix AZ. The staff, every one of them, were great, and went out of their way to help us and make us comfortable. The dining room was great with good food. In fact we came back for lunch after we finished touring Belize and on our way to the airport to go back home. Even the owner made a point of visiting with us both days we were there. Wish we had known more about the great Black Orchid Resort before we came, I know we would like to spend more time there. My only suggestion is a couple of luggage racks in the room, hard to rumage around in our bags on the floor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunbirdAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hatfield
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Our family recently returned from Belize. We stayed our first night at the Black Orchid and had a wonderful time. The hotel staff were terrific in helping us arrange excursions to the nearby Howler Monkey Sancutary and the Lamani Mayan Ruins. The setting for the hotel on the river with monkeys frollicking in the nearby trees was idyllic. Our arrival flight into Belize was delayed by a day and the hotel graciously refunded the first night of what should have been a two-night visit. We will be back to spend more time at this great property!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

we stayed at the black orchid for thee nights.it was a very wonderful stay.the staff were very nice and out going and helpful.the hotel it self is very nice and clean.food was good.air conditioning was excellent.the site is next to the river very nice.i just have to say i will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conairs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at the Black Orchid for a couple days when I arrived in Belize, and two more before I flew out of the country. No complaints at all. Clean, modern rooms, excellent service and even saw a howler monkey with baby twenty feet away from where I was sitting having breakfast. Mr. Thompson who runs the place is a member of the Belize Tourist Board and sure knows his business. Justine at the reception desk, the ever-professional Beverley, and the dining staff are all very good at their jobs. The lady who served me breakfast even remembered I had milk but no sugar in my tea! Free pick-up from the airport is a welcome touch.

If you want to be sure of a quality hotel for your stay near Belize City, this is a perfect introduction to Belize - friendly, safe, efficient and comfortable.

Cheers,
Kevin Casey (the Remote River Man)
Brisbane Australia

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed here recently and cannot say enough about how friendly and accommodating the staff was. Brenda went out of her way to make sure our stay was perfect. I have honestly never seen a staff who cares so much about their guests.
I found the food to be delicious. The menu offers a wonderful variety and every meal that I had was delicious.
Thank you for sharing your beautiful country with me!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Queen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, AB
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We rented cars and didn't want to drive in Belize City. Our rental manager in Placencia recommended this resort.

Wonderful location! Very close and easy drive to the airport but in a rural setting on a beautiful river.

We stayed in the villa and it was very comfortable for six adults. They did everything to make our stay enjoyable.

The pool with the Howler Monkeys overhead was great. We enjoyed a paddle on the river. Didn't see a lot of wildlife but we were on it during the middle of the day. Most probably better in the early morning. Did see a flock of green parrots fly over the villa in the early morning.

Definitely recommend this resort if you wish to stay on the outskirts of the Belize City area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burrell Boom
15.2 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
12.0 mi away
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
14.5 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
13.4 mi away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
67 reviews
21.5 mi away
Royal Palm Island Resort
Royal Palm Island Resort
#2 of 2 in St. George's Caye
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Orchid Resort

Property: Black Orchid Resort
Address: 2 Dawson Lane | Belize District, Burrell Boom, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize District > Burrell Boom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrell Boom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Orchid Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belize has such contrasts from the beaches to the jungle to the Mayan ruins, from the rivers to the Cayes, a good base from which to see it all, is the Black Orchid Resort on the banks of the Belize Old River on the outskirts of Burrell Boom Village, just fifteen minutes from the international airport so it’s easy to reach and easy to leave from. Just a short distance away from Belize City and the airport, the resort is also within about an hour’s drive of most of the country’s mainland attractions, making it a convenient launching point for your vacation adventures. We provide accommodations with an ambiance of environmental radiance, alluring air conditioned rooms and immaculate, quiet and safe grounds. We are an excellent alternative to Belize City and gateway to all Belize has to offer; with knowledgeable guides and transportation for snorkeling, deep sea fishing, cave tubing, Maya Ruin tours, complimentary international airport shuttle, free use of kayaks, canoes, peddle boats and free wireless internet access. Your safety is our business. Come let us show you Belize ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Black Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Orchid Hotel Burrell Boom
Black Orchid Belize City
Black Orchid Resort Belize/Burrell Boom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing