We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to start and end”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Black Orchid Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrell Boom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I just returned from the Black Orchid and must say that it was a very pleasurable experiance. The staff was very friendly and attentive to our needs. We had breakfast two mornings and it was tasty and served promptly. The lime juice was wonderful. The pool was a welcome relief from tired muscles and the quiet atmosphere made for a very relaxing visit. If you are looking for action, this is not the place. It was just what we needed. The entire staff was exceptional, but the person who stood out was Beverly. She is a gem. She made sure that we were taken care of, and even drove us to our cave tubing adventure. We had a wonderful time with her. We rented a car, which we later found out was the owners SUV ( he was out of town ) and went over to the San Ignagcio area and visited Mayan ruins. The only thing I missed was a coffee pot in the room, but the room was spacious. well decorated and had a very nice patio/deck area. So, I guess the lack of a coffee pot could be overlooked since the restaurant was only a few steps away. I would recommend the Black Orchid especially for those starting or ending their trips to Belize. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 581 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed in a River View room for a few nights. The staff was very friendly. The rooms were basic, but kept well. The tours may seem pricey online, but the transportation was included. Our drives were typically an hour to our drop off locations. They did an amazing job setting up fun and pretty tours! You get free canoe, boat, and bike rentals, so take advantage of them! Overall, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed at The Black Orchid in the month of January. It was true delight. The staff was so helpful and accommodating, the food was great and the grounds were well maintained. Our room looked out onto the river and we were able to enjoy the peaceful hammocks and lounge chairs poolside. We used the resorts Kayaks to explore the river, which was full of wildlife. There were iguanas, birds, monkeys and crocodiles everywhere. The resort set up our tours for snorkeling, cave tubing, zip lining, and more. Every adventure was better than the last. Book with the resort because they know the best companies and best guides who will take you out and make you feel like a VIP, rather than getting grouped in with 45 other tourists from the cruise ships.

This was the best Resort. Go enjoy Belize, and definitely stay here!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LHS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We were so comfortable at The Black Orchid Resort! The room was clean and spacious. We had a porch to sit on to watch the iguanas in the trees. The staff was so gracious and helpful, we felt pampered all week. They helped arrange our activities each day and we saw all the places we had wanted to see in the area. Above all, we appreciated the quiet, restful retreat AND the shuttle service to and from the airport. It isn't fancy, but this place did just what we wanted. Make sure to schedule a massage while you are there...fantastic!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

My husband and I were in San Ignacio and then traveled to CC. Honestly, we weren't into CC and cancel our last night in CC. We were leaving early the next day, and needed to be closer to Belize City. I looked here and decided to go for it. We called and arranged for the free shuttle to pick us up and they were there waiting for us. We got in, and after we ordered some lunch my husband noticed some howler monkeys right outside the screened porch. We ate, and then jumped into a kayak where we saw bats resting, iguanas sunning, beautiful birds, and a crocodile. We decided to go on the zoo night tour, which was just us. We fed some animals and just had a great time. We did cave tubing the next day after an early morning kayak, then left for the airport which was a hop, skip and a jump away. What a gem!
We had given up on the end of the trip b/c of not enjoying C C. Amazing staff and comfortable rooms. Great location, and vary quiet. A gem! Very accommodating!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDukeCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We only stayed for one night at the Black Orchid, but we loved our stay. Rooms are clean, but pretty basic.

1) Free airport pickup. This was actually a big factor for us in picking a location. Most of the Belize City hotels would have required us to rent a car and then pay additional for parking.

2) Great location! We only needed to stay one night and the main attraction we wanted to do was the Community Baboon Sanctuary. The Black Orchid is very close to the sanctuary and pretty close to the airport. We were able to arrange for a tour of the sanctuary through the Black Orchid.

3) Peaceful setting. The Black Orchid is right on a river in a pretty secluded area. We felt safe on the property at all times. A little disappointed that we didn't have an in-room safe, but found that we didn't really need it.

4) Friendly staff. Everyone was very friendly and helpful!

I'd say the only downside is that the food at the restaurant isn't great and you don't really have any other eating options. However, since we were only there for one night, it worked out okay. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marvin_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Black Orchid resort on the Belize River outside Belize City was a wonderful last minute find for my family of 5. With 3 young boys in tow, it is not easy to find places where they can run free and enjoy nature in an environment that is comfortable, beautiful and has great service... Black Orchid ticks all the right boxes. My boys were fascinated by the river with tales of crocodiles and had to borrow the resorts' kayaks for a paddle. The hammock garden under massive trees was so relaxing. All the family loved the pet parrot WhooDBird that lives in the tree next to the main building. We would definitely return again for another holiday!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HuddTravellingZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burrell Boom
15.2 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
12.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Belize Biltmore Plaza
14.5 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
13.4 mi away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
68 reviews
21.5 mi away
Royal Palm Island Resort
Royal Palm Island Resort
#2 of 2 in St. George's Caye
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Orchid Resort

Address: 2 Dawson Lane | Belize District, Burrell Boom, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize District > Burrell Boom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrell Boom
Price Range: $118 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Orchid Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belize has such contrasts from the beaches to the jungle to the Mayan ruins, from the rivers to the Cayes, a good base from which to see it all, is the Black Orchid Resort on the banks of the Belize River on the outskirts of Burrell Boom Village, fifteen minutes from the international airport it’s easy to reach and easy to leave from. Just a short distance away from Belize City, the resort is also within an hour’s drive of most of the country’s mainland attractions, making it a convenient launching point for your vacation adventures. We provide accommodations with an ambiance of environmental radiance, alluring air conditioned rooms and immaculate, quiet and safe grounds. We are an excellent alternative to Belize City and gateway to all Belize has to offer; with knowledgeable guides and transportation for snorkeling, deep sea fishing, cave tubing, Maya Ruin tours, complimentary international airport shuttle, free use of kayaks, canoes, peddle boats and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Orchid Hotel Burrell Boom
Black Orchid Belize City
Black Orchid Resort Belize/Burrell Boom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing