We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful House on the river”
other travelers have booked this property
The deck - front row seats to paradise
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The deck - front row seats to paradise
A bedroom with a view and breeze
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
25 reviews
The deck - front row seats to paradise
A bedroom with a view and breeze
Kitchen/ dinning area
Kitchen and dinning area are open with large counters
The howler Monkeys will entertain you deckside
Typical Sunset with Iguana - this big guy lives here too
Guest from Nanimo, B.C, Canada, shooting incredible photos from the deck
An amazing photo taken by a guest from B.C. right from the deck
Photos taken by guest from deck
bathroom with shower and view
Some evenings 15 pairs of Parrots will land in the trees beside the house
Bathroom is accessible to the bedroom
Brand new kitchen!
A walk through the village on the way to the Black Orchid Resort
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Burrell Boom, Belize District

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dcollicut...
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful House on the river”
Reviewed January 27, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My friend and I stayed in the Howler House for 3 days in January. It is beautiful. The house has all the amenities including cooking utensils, rain shower, free bikes, wifi, and hammocks overlooking the river. The wildlife in that area is staggering as well, iguanas and birds everywhere you look, howler monkeys serenading you at night, and a friendly crocodile named Shakira in the pond. The canoe on the river is awesome for anyone that wants to get out into the thick of nature.

Andrew picked us up and dropped us off at the airport upon arrival and gave us all the info and where to go in town. Expensive though, as he ended up charging us $140 USD for there and back, which was kind of crazy, you could probably get a taxi there cheaper.

The only bad part about the house was the bug problem. We must have been bit a thousand times. We did have mosquito nets over our bed though which was nice.

All in all a gorgeous and quiet place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Canoeing on the river and the howler monkeys
Liked least: The bugs and the price of car ride
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoFool23
Saskatoon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unforgettable.”
Reviewed January 19, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We spent three nights here, and would happily stay longer. It's the perfect combination of comfy and rustic, private and safe. The wildlife was fascinating - monkeys, huge iguanas and birds in the trees, and the adorable little croc in the pond that swims over to visit if you stand on the boardwalk and call out to it. Our driver, Andrew, was warm and welcoming and fun to spend time with. The people we met in the village were so kind and friendly. We took day trips to Altun Ha and the Belize Zoo and would recommend both. A great way to learn more about Belize beforing heading off to the cayes for some time on the water!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 22, 2015
Thanks so much for the great review - always happy, happy when our guest love this little spot as much as we do - hope you will come back again one day! Respectfully and sincerely, one love
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath J M
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sooooo peaceful and pretty.”
Reviewed January 14, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A sweet quiet getaway for couples. The house is well equipped and comfy. The view....wow! Monkeys, iguanas and birds galore just metres away in the trees. It was super relaxing. Andrew was a fantastic driver and host! We highly recommend the house to nature lovers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting on the deck watching the jungle move all around.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onyi O
1 review
“Howler House is one-of-a-kind!”
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The Howler House was one of the coolest, most unique places we've seen (or stayed). We did a lot of research beforehand and thought it would be a really cool place to stay but even then, it exceeded our grandest expectations. The house is such a fun and relaxing place to spend time. You really are right there, nestled in the jungle; the open air aspect really allows for a unique experience where you truly get to experience nature in a fun way. It is in a gorgeous location, right on the river, but just a short, fun bike ride into town. Speaking of the town, it has to be said that the people of Burrell Boom are so kind and amiable; they really made our stay feel very special! Finally, Erika is awesome! She was extremely helpful and did so much to make our stay a great one! We are already looking forward to going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is beautiful and in a great location!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danalstok...
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“The Howler House Is Amazing!”
Reviewed October 9, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Our first visit to Belize was made all that much more amazing by staying at the Howler House! The House is just as described and wonderful. It was a grown up tree house in the jungle and we loved it!!!! We were lucky enough to be serenaded by the Howler monkeys on our very first night. They are quite loud, but we were mesmerized by the sound. The house is quite clean and well appointed. The mosquito nets are awesome, just make sure you tuck it under the edges of the mattress before you fall asleep or those little buggers will sneak in. We used the house as a base for travelling all over, and that worked fabulously! We visited San Ignacio, Dangriga, Orange Walk, Belize City and Caye Caulker and always had plenty of time to make it back to the house each day. Being able to utilize the pool at the Black Orchid was quite nice. The local food and local people are all awesome, and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Burrell Boom and the Howler House! We are already planning our next trip back. I feel as though I left family...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The big screens and jungle location, as well as the local community.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V3366WAli...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Experience the jungle, with bug screens.”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautiful little place. As others have mentioned it is up on stilts, so if you have trouble climbing stairs, this isn't the place for you. It has a queen bed covered with mosquito netting for the bedroom. There is a U shaped padded bench, that could be used to sleep on in a pinch, but I wouldn't recommend it. There is a second bed in a screened porch with more netting - it is bigger than a single, but not quite a full size (double). There are 2 hammocks hanging in an open area outside, but the bugs would make sleeping here overnight a poor decision. There was also a blow up mattress, but I didn't see a pump anywhere. It was probably around, but we didn't need it, so... Multiple ceiling fans and a portable one as well - although it cooled down significantly at night anyway.

There is a kitchen with a small fridge with a small built in ice chest section (not a true freezer, but sufficient). There is a stove and toaster oven (not a microwave), and a coffee maker. There is a small bathroom with a nicely tiled shower, a screened in porch with a dining table and 4 chairs, and another screened in porch with a clothes drying line.

They are currently building a nice wooden parking area and walkway directly to the house from the driveway, so you won't have to walk through the yard much longer. There is hot water and the internet there is the fastest I saw in the entire country. You can swim at the nearby Black Orchid pool. They also have a restaurant if you choose not to cook or find more authentic local food. Plenty of towels and linens.

Those are the "facts" of the place, but they don't begin to explain what a cool experience it is to stay there.

There is a family of Howler monkeys on the premises. A dad, mom, teenager, and 2 babies. Yes, they can be loud, but they only woke us up once and didn't stay active long. It was incredibly cool. Huge iguanas, gorgeous birds. Possibly a manatee in the river. We heard something LARGE plopping about, but couldn't catch it in the act. There is a juvenile crocodile in the marshy area. We named it Jeffrey. It is as close to "tame" as a croc can get and comes right up to the bank to beg for food. I hope they put up a fence or something eventually. A croc who is too comfortable with people is sure to get shot at some point, but I digress. We got some incredible pics and video.

The neighbors are all incredibly nice. Val and Tony were away, and Erlene had to leave for a family emergency when we got there. So, we saw Beans most of the time. What a NICE guy. Easy smile, good pointers, and hard working. He even washed our rental car for us while we were packing up without us asking. There is also a housekeeper Tina, who came by but I only saw her for a moment since we didn't really need anything.

We came after the tourist season and the rainy season is starting early this year. One night there was a torrential downpour. TORRENTIAL. The noise of the rain hitting the tin roof was almost deafening and yet somehow soothing. It was the weirdest thing. Anyway, I slept through most of it. Bring earplugs if you need quiet though, the birds are cheery in the morning. = ) Also, there are a couple of geckos that come in and out of the house at will. They are harmless and like to eat bugs, so I would recommend leaving them alone. They do make a super cute cheeping sound, though. It took a while to figure out what it was.

There is a journal there with tips and stories from the various visitors. Check it out, as you can learn from those that came before you. Bring bug spray. You are, after all, in the jungle. And keep the doors closed. The screen on the windows and inside doors is a smaller weave than the outside stuff and keeps out the bugs better. It really kept them at a minimum.

I really loved our stay here and would recommend it to anyone even remotely adventurous in a second. If however, you are a pampered traveler (you know who you are), this is not the place for you. It isn't fair to go to a place that isn't a good fit and then complain about it. I see that all of the time here on Trip Advisor and it isn't fair to the owners of these lovely places. Although this is a step above camping, I would say that if you can't camp for even one night, you should avoid the majority of mainland Belize altogether. There are some nice resorts in San Pedro (Ambergris Caye) that might interest you, but there aren't a whole lot of Ritz Carlton type places on the mainland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - see the real WILDlife of the area
Liked least: Could have used a couple more coffee mugs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aparker12...
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sight and sound of howlers was spectacular”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Spent 4 days and really enjoyed being up in the trees ( as the house is 12ft up on stilts) giving a great view of the troop of Howlers which is why we chose to go here - The house is very open and lends itself to being one with the surrounding environment.
The house is basic but functional - kitchen could use a little more cooking equipment as well as hot water in the sink (bathroom does have hot water). Bathroom is open to bedroom so think it is important to know this before asking other people other than family to join you.
Owner is very helpful and assisted us in finding a guide for our adventure tours
We had a great time!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing