We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting - really bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casta Diva Resort & SPA
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blevio
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting - really bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We have been to the Lake of Como for many years and always stayed at the Villa d'Este. This year we wanted to try something new and therefore went to the Casta Diva. And I have to admit: it is a beautiful place! The owner (a Spanish Group) spent a lot of money on the garden, the Villas and so on, but unfortunately, they don't want to spend any money on the staff. This is the only explanation I have why the staff is so bad. Mostly they don't speak English and the service is just slow. e.g. at the pool, there is a girl that just bores herself to death instead of asking guests if they want to drink something or just lead guests to sunbeds. We also tried the restaurant and the food was not very good, especially not for Italy. Another thing I don't understand: for using the Spa (meaning the indoor pool and the Sauna) you have to pay €60/day. I never heard of something like that before. I am used to pay for masages and so on, but not for using a Pool while I am guest at the Hotel. So they really have to work on all that. Maybe it will be better next year. However we will go back to Villa d'Este.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eddala2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    82
    27
    22
    18
See reviews for
58
284
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed in Castadiva for 3 days at the end of July.

Originally, we were going to go to Villa D'este, but we were put off by the exorbitant room rate, as well as some of the negative reviews. Friends of ours also had told us that the rooms there are hit or miss.

Upon entering the Hotel Castadiva Resort we were blown away by the magnificent site of all the grounds. The main villa is a completely restored villa from the 1800,s. It has all the charm of the original villa, with all of the modern upgrades. We booked a jr suite, and we were upgraded to a penthouse suite. The suite had every amenity imagineable. Our room overlooked the lake, and the view was like a living in a postcard! We had 2 terraces that ran the legnth of the suite. When all 4 terrace doors were open, it was as if we were right on the lake. The view and feel of it all was indescribeable.
Our suite had a full kitchen with our own icemaker built in.This was really appreciated, as most European hotels do not have ice machines readily available, and you must call room service for ice.
The hotel offers complimentary breakfast, on the veranda right on the lake, which was an unforgetable experience.
They also have complimentary WIFI, which also is great.
The hotel is in its second season, and as such everything is brand spanking new, and everything is crisp and clean.

The management and staff were extremely eager to please, and nothing was too much trouble. They even had a menu to order different types of pillows and blankets, if you so choose!

They have a state of the art spa, which is not only new, and chic, but everything is electronically controlled. It was a fantastic experience, the likes of which I have never seen anywhere else.
I think Castadiva is a real gem, and is one of the great hotels in Lake Como area, as well as the whole of Europe.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedoworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tlv
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

we have stayed at castadiva for a week, what can I say,although the pictures and the reviews are stunning, our stay for everything exsept of what was expected.
The staff lacks any sence of what is called a 5* hotel service. For example: when calling the reception to advice about the timetable for Lugano, I have been promised a prompt call back with an answer. I did not get a answer -ever.
Few times when calling the reception the call was disconnected after they've picked up the phone - you would expect them to call back,right? Well, nobody did.
They present their restaurant as a top class cuisine, well the food is mediocre and the price is exactly the opposite of the size of the dishes which you can barely see on the plate.
All in all - castadiva has to work hard on it's service to able to call themselves a 5*hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Listen, you have to pay for the privilege, but if you want the best, that is what it takes. From great concierge hostesses, to an outstanding restaurant on a patio above the lake on its eastern shore, this is in my mind better than Villad'Este - modern facilities and rooms, though we did splurge on a Penthouse room. In three days I had nothing to complain about, which for me is a record. Quiet and elegant, romantic and lovely garden plantings, you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cwheel9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Stayed in June after booking on hotels.com. We found a bit better rate than Villa D'este which was our initial first choice but over $1200 per night. We were awestruck by the views and the beautiful grounds. The front desk staff were very friendly and upgraded us to a room with an amazing view and semi private patio. I think the decor, while a bit much in some ways (too much gold) was generally an updated opulent look that balanced modern touches with old world elegance. I agree the restaurant and bar food is average and the bar service was awful. They are very understaffed. Also it should be noted that Blevio is outside Como and transportation is an issue. We had the desk call a taxi to Bellagio which cost 80 euro, so on the return we took the high speed ferry to Como and then a 11 euro cab to the hotel. The boat ride was lovely. We only stayed two days so we didn't use the spa but it looked amazing. I'm sure when the restaurant issues are addressed this hotel will start appearing in Travel and Leisure and CN Traveller.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sp83196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

The Casta Diva is one of the best hotels in lake Como along with the Villa d'este. It has great rooms a very good concierge that will help with all activities. A little bit pricy but it is totally worth it!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jnik9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We recently stayed at Casta Diva & to say it was disappointing is an understatement. We have been fortunate enough to travel extensively including many trips to Italy. On this occasion Casta Diva was our final destination & despite the expense we chose the "Presidential Suite" at $1600 euro per night to finish our holiday with something special.....

Upon arrival we found that "Presidential Suite" is actually a room category & nothing special at all....in fact the purple & gold room, located in a new building at the rear of the original villa, is possibly the most distasteful hotel room I have ever endured. In fairness a lot of work & money has been spent on renovations / facilities at Casta Diva however the interior design takes away from the wonderful views / location....

I could potentially forgive the rooms if the service was better however it's not. The staff on front desk are dismissive, the restaurant is average at best & it took 30+ minutes to gain entry to our room after a key failed. In fact the experience was so poor we decided to leave early & go to Milan for a few days despite the fact that we still had to pay the 1600 euro's per night !!! We could only find one staff member at Casta Diva who was "world class"....he had come from Sri Lanka to work in concierge and was wonderful....

There are so many good hotels in Italy that offer better value...this is my opinion only & it appears that others on tripadvisor disagree however I challenge anyone to walk away from this hotel feeling that they spent their money wisely !!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bear993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blevio
11.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
12.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa d'Este
Villa d'Este
#1 of 7 in Cernobbio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
10.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casta Diva Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casta Diva Resort & SPA

Property: Casta Diva Resort & SPA
Address: Via Caronti 69, 22020 Blevio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Blevio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blevio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casta Diva Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CastaDiva Resort & Spa is a five-star luxury resort located on the east side of Lake Como, in the lovely village of Blevio, only 5 km from Como and 57 km from Milano Malpensa International Airport. The Resort consists of seven villas for a total of 73 rooms plus 2 private Villas and it is surrounded by a luxuriant botanic park over an area of approximately 26,000 sqm. A place of excellence and exclusivity, perfect for a romantic weekend or a week of vacation on the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Booking.com, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casta Diva Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casta Diva Hotel Blevio
Casta Diva Resort & SPA Lake Como/Blevio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing