We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great is all weather”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Haeinsa Temple

Haeinsa Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$130.00*
and up
Private Tour of Junam Wetlands and Haeinsa Temple
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The depository of Tripitaka Koreana, the famous collection of Buddhist texts on woodblocks.
Busan, Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great is all weather”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This temple is wonderful!. The mountains in the spring time are gorgeous. In the winter time, the temple is still very active and beautiful. I was a little disappointed that you can't take pictures of the books.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank AmLyBo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    45
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Daegu, South Korea
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

It is a really beautiful temple and at a gorgeous location. The air and water is pristine clean. The roads to get there are lush green and winding making for an interesting journey. Once there, there is absolute tranquility. A good way to spend an afternoon out of the hustle and bustle of the crowded cities.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Phumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“UNESCO World Heritage Site - A Must See While In Daegu”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The Haeinsa temple is the home of some of the first printed words in human history. Well worth the bus ride from Daegu. The temple is in a beautiful mountain setting that is quite a change from urban Korea. A food tip, if you take the bus from Daegu have your lunch at the bus station. The ladies there make a great homemade bibimbap!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank otsegony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
131 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Remarkable for Location and Tripitaka Storage Buildings”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We liked the location of the temple, high up in a valley, and found the storage buildings impressive. Otherwise the temple is a fairly normal large temple, nothing outstanding if you have seen some of the nicer temples in Korea or Japan.

Nice to visit if you are already in the area, but I would not make the trip from Seoul (about 4 hours each way) just for this.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank gumshoe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunschweig
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Buddhist temple with Tripitaka”
Reviewed July 13, 2010

I was impressed by this temple and also by the Tripitaka scriptures on wooden blocks.
Deservedly included in UNESCOs World Heritage Sites. I took the bus from Daegu. From the bus stop, a short walk up the hill takes you to the temple, where a very peaceful atmosphere reigns. During my visit, I was lucky to watch a few people praying to some of the buddhas (is praying the right word?) and presenting offerings. There was also a monk chanting in the temple right at the top of the hill, in the middle of the buildings housing the Tripitaka. It is possible to stay at the temple overnight, which I didn´t do but would have liked to.

Helpful?
1 Thank EmigAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haeinsa Temple also viewed

 
Hapcheon-Gun, Gyeongsangnam-do
Hapcheon-Gun, Gyeongsangnam-do
 

Been to Haeinsa Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing