We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis after a Long Day Walking”
Review of Hewas Inn

Hewas Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Sticker
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a traditional country pub set in the middle of a Cornish village. We serve hot & cold food lunchtimes & evenings. We pride ourselves on local sourced meat, fish & vegetables wherever possible. Most of our food in made fresh on the premises.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I had been out walking all day and was hot,muddy and tired. The Hewas Inn was yet again an excellent oasis of food and drink. The latest great range of options on the specials board made choosing my meal quite tricky but I finally opted for the superb steak and ale pie.
The usual range of good St Austell beers were also on tap and my favourite Proper Job was served in excellent condition - CAMRA would rate this pint highly.
The atmosphere in the pub was friendly and welcoming- the landlord still has his sense of humour and the good wifi connection allowed me to relax and catch up with my emails after a long day out in rural Cornwall.
If you are around this area of mid Cornwall and looking for a great place to eat then make your way here - you will not be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cacher69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 209 of 215 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

A good selection of food served by friendly staff who cannot do enough for you

1  Thank Hilary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

A last minute decision to eat out and we weren't disappointed. On arriving we were greeted and given a table. The pub had a great atmosphere, a real buzz without being too loud. We ordered a starter of nibbles and dips followed by fish and chips (no problem to have garden peas instead of mushy) and gammon wth egg. All was of top quality, nicely presented and with friendly service from the waitress.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cazza1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Great village pub that serves good value food and a range of good beers.
Staff are very helpful and the waitress service is easy on the eye. The landlord has a curious sense of humour and in another life he would have been a stand-up comic.
Good regular menu with lots of specials that change every day or so. Great place to meet up with friends or to enjoy a good value meal out with family. Children of all ages are welcome. Plenty of parking.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cacher69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

This used to be one of our favourite local pubs to eat at, but after problems with previous two visits last year when meals had to be sent back, we left it a while before visiting recently.
Unfortunately the landlord and landlady were again not present( it was always excellent when they were there) and the service was very average and the prices too high for what you get compared to other local places. The coffee was brought out with the saucers swimming in liquid, soaking the mint and sugar sachets. The waitress apologised but didn't offer to change them or clean up. My meal was fine but my wifes pasta dish was burnt around the edges and obviously microwaved, quite poor really. some of the specials were not available but no one could be bothered crossing them off the board.
It wasn't very busy, a sure sign that things aren't what they were considering you always had to book for a fri/sat evening, a couple of years ago.
Sadly we won't be returning anytime soon as there are far nicer places locally with much better value than here. Shame as it used to be lovely.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Badcat110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia R, Manager at Hewas Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Dear Sir

Thank you for your review. I apologise that you did not feel that the service or the food was up to scratch. I have spoken to our waitress about the mess of your coffee and i will make sure it doesn't happen again, but accidents do happen and we are sorry. If you had said to our supervisor at the time they would of offered a replacement. As for our specials board we cook our specials fresh everyday so we do tend to sell out.

Our apologise once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hewas Inn also viewed

Polgooth, St Austell
St Austell, Cornwall
 
Mevagissey, Cornwall
Pentewan, St Austell
 

Been to Hewas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing