We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodge @ Belongas Bay
Nearby Hotels
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$16
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$19
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gili Sudak Lombok Resort(Desa Sekotong Barat)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveler rating
10
10
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
10
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdive zonedive siteseach morningriceplace to staymagnetwetsuitsboataccommodationlombok
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 22 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Received very warm & prompt service from service crew Amen, whom was very patient, attentive and had a lot of initiative. Although a secluded resort, it offers privacy and hideaway from the hustle and bustle of city life. The diving here is beautiful and absolutely amazing, pristine and healthy reefs. It is the only possible accommodation on Belongas Bay so don't expect a lot of convenience.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at the lodge in early September 2013. We did the 2 days/3 night package which included 6 dives but also dived on the first afternoon we arrived and on the morning we left (each additional dive is 450,000 IDR per person), so we did 9 dives in total. We arrived in Sengiggi on the Marina Srikandi fastboat from Padang Bai and were collected by the transport arranged by the lodge (which was included in the package price). The drive from Sengiggi to Belongas Bay was about 1.5 hrs through some small towns and rice paddy fields, the lodge is on the other side of the bay so they pile you and your luggage into a small tender to take you over for the final part of the journey. We were pleasantly surprised over the accommodation - we stayed in the deluxe bungalow, it has aircon, a fan, desk, an outdoor shower, beach and bath towels are provided, the bed is on the firm side but is comfortable enough and the bungalow is immaculately clean. Each evening they came in and lit a mosquito coil in the bathroom, not that we saw many mozzies while we were there but it was a nice gesture. The gardens are also really well maintained, it’s super relaxing, like a little oasis in the middle of nowhere. There are no other options for dinner apart from eating at the lodge, the food is basic but delicious and costs 75,000 IDR per meal (you need to pay for lunch and dinner, breakfast is included). The cell phone reception was pretty good, no electricity yet but apparently it’s coming soon. The generators are turned on overnight so make sure you charge all your electricals during this time.

Everything was done on our schedule and nothing was ever an issue, we generally had breakfast at 8am and left at 9am each morning for the diving. It’s around 30mins by boat to Gili Sarang and about 45mins to The Magnet, out of our 9 dives we dived The Magnet 3 times, Gili Sarang 5 times and the Blue Hole once . Note that the Magnet can only be dived in the morning. After diving this site I can see why you need to be experienced, it’s not for the faint hearted! On our 3 dives there we were lucky enough to see 3 hammerheads on the second day, but even without these the dive site is awesome, many fish, sea snakes, white tips, etc. The pinnacle walls are huge and teeming with life. The guide PE really looks after you but he is obviously restricted by the amount of divers he has on the day which can vary wildly, we were lucky in the first 2 days to dive with in a small group (2 of us the first day, 4 on the second) but on the final day we had 6 more divers join us (which took the total to 10 divers with only one guide), the 6 who joined were all dive masters/instructors (and there was no current that day) so it was ok, otherwise I personally wouldn’t have been comfortable with that ratio considering the challenging nature of the site. You really have to be capable of looking after yourself on the dive.

We took our own gear but I hired a wetsuit which was in really good condition, they only have 3mm available but I wore a sharkskin underneath which kept me warm enough. I forgot to take the sharkskin on the first day and I was cold underneath the water, so a 5mm would really be best.

In summary, highly recommended!!

Room Tip: There are only 2 deluxe bungalows so get in early! The other accomodation also looked pretty decent, there are two twin share rooms that share a bathroom and a sitting area.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riley96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I dove Belongas Bay in the month december. I had preferred the fall season when all the pelagics can be seen, but I could not travel at that time. In december the waves were much smaller than I feared, and currents were nothing to worry about. Water temperatures rose to about 28C.

A few dive sites show a wonderful array of colors with corals and anemonies. Most of the dive sites are more interesting when you go deep, and seem to have much less live above, say, 15 or 20 meters. Hence, most of your dives will be deep, and short. The dive boat is powered by two engines, and the dive sites are some 20 minutes away in the ocean.

Belongas also does not have its own compressor, and tanks are filled off site. Electricity is off during the day, but available at night. Cell phone reception is spotty at best, don't count on it.

The village across the bay has a few small stores, nothing the average tourist would be interested in, and the small village next to the resort also has nothing you may need. Food and drinks are provided by the resort and are good, but choice is limited. The buildings and the grounds are clean and well maintained.

To and from the airport took about an hour and a half and the ride cuts through many green rice fields and beautiful mountains. Closer to the resort, the road is narrow, one lane, and even quite a few horse carriages can be seen. If you want to take a day off and go to, say Mataram, also count on an hour and a half each way.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Detroit_Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed here two years ago. There was no post on trip advisor back then for this resort. When I stayed there in July 2010 it was awesome. I stayed for 4 day by myself as I was on trip to see the Hammerheads at the Magnet. Which I did see. Where to begin .. I arrived in the night and had take all my equipment in pitch black across mud flats by hand to the boat I lost a sandal and cut my foot and was not in good spirits on arrival. But when I got there I had a shower and a large cold Bintang and put it all down to the joys of adventure travel. Southern Lombok even two years ago is not Bali and traveling around is similar experience to less developed parts of Indonesia more like Timor/Sulawesi. In the dark it was hard appreciate the place and I was exhausted. I woke up to great breakfast served on my private balcony with new pair of flip flops bought from the village, in what can best be described as luxury treehouse cut off from the rest of the world on a un developed peninsula with no access by road. From then I had great stay - the accommodation is some of the best along with Kampung Kecil in Sanur that I have stayed in the 5 years that I have lived in Indonesia. The food was cooked by the local staff mostly Indonesia but very nice. The care attention to detail in the decor and design of the rooms is amazing and you feel like your staying in 19th century hunting lodge. I liked it so much that when the owner came to visit I asked if he would sell me on of the lodges a holiday home but sadly no. Basically I was one my own as the only guest with the exception of the dive guide for four days there is was no mobile network coverage unless you followed the children from the village up the hill behind the resort, no TV, just me and some books, photo editing and wildlife and the local village. So it was place to break free from the madness of life and definitely a cure for Jakarta my current home. The diving there is awesome but not for the inexperienced. Belongas Bay is fully exposed to the Indian Ocean, the water is cooler than in most of the other popular dive destination in Indonesia, strong currents and large swells are the norm. In return you get big fish, school’s of Mobular Rays, Hamerheads at the right time of year at the Magnet, and on most dives a number of white tip sharks, black tips occasionally and lots of life. You are not diving on coral reefs but coral encrusted rocks which are in fact quite beautiful and I spent as much time with the macro lens as the wide angle photographing coral patterns. In front of the resort is an unspoilt beach on which you can still find hundreds of shells as no tourists have picked it clean. The village next to the resort is undeveloped and remote. When I was there that only the children under 12 could speak Bhasa all the adults only spoke Sasak and the school had only just begun to teach Bhasa. Forget about English. If you don't like diving in big seas or appreciate solitude, natural beauty and read a lot I feel sorry for you but if you do come here its an amazingly beautiful place and hard to believe it's only a short hop from the tourist chaos of Gilli Islands or Bali. But a total contrast. I have been to few places over the years all over the world but this is in my top ten.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riggers R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews