We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were woken up by a rat on our bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“We were woken up by a rat on our bed”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed for 3 nights at Cocotinos Sekotong in June 2013. Overall, we would say that the hotel is well designed and the staff do try to provide good service. The place is fairly quiet and very accessible if you are looking to visit the Southern Gili Islands (Nanggu, Gede, Rengit), they even have a private jetty that make boarding and unboarding from the boats much more convenient. The beach is a great place to walk in the late afternoon during the low tide as you can find all kinds of sea creatures in the shallow water. The only real problem we have is the lack of attention to cleanliness in our rooms and also in the spa treatment. We took a massage and scrub at the spa. Whilst the massage was good, the therapist did not bother to wash our feet or cover our hair, so she struggled with pulling away our hair each time it got in the way of the massage. Neither did she bother to ask if the massage pressure was suitable or if she should turn down the air-con in case we felt cold without our clothes. After applying the scrub, we struggled to the shower room with bits of scrub falling all over the floor to take a shower. We stayed at the Rinjani Suite and for the first two nights, there were mozzies and we had to put down the mosquito net. The cabinet and sink in the bathroom were dusty and so was the bed (see photos attached). We were told that the resort was fairly new - less than 3 years old, but it sure didn't seem like it. The final straw came on our final night at the hotel. My husband was woken up in the middle of the night by a large rat (a little less than 30cm) that was scurrying around on our bed and accidentally bumped his face. And we did not bring any food to our bedroom at all, except for bottles of mineral water! We reported this to the staff at checkout the next morning but they seemed pretty nonchalant about it. Not sure if this was because they couldn't understand English that well or didn’t find it surprising to be woken up by a rat, the counter staff was not at all apologetic for the disturbance. We also spoke with the owner who happened to be there, and he said he had not encountered such rat incident before. Overall, a good location for water activities but unless the level of cleanliness improves, we won't be going back anytime soon. The room rates are not cheap, so we would have expected much better quality than what we got.

Room Tip: Avoid the Rinjani room unless you have inspected the cleanliness and checked that they've gotten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolT_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanSitompul, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
"Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your frank review of our resort. First of all our sincere apologies for the unpleasant incident that spoilt your stay with us. It was indeed the first time that we have had a rat problem. However the owner who met you when you were about to board your transport to the airport, took immediate action and called in the pest control people with whom we have an on-going contract. The very next day we caught the pest in a glue trap. It was indeed a field rat, the type we find in rice fields nearby. There is nothing to eat inside the villa and so it could not have grown up inside the villa. It probably wandered in when the doors were open during daily cleaning by our housekeeping staff. It is unfortunate but it happened. We also noted your comments about shortcomings in cleanliness and in our spa procedures. We are normally commended for the cleanliness of our rooms and other facilities but we take your comments seriously and we have met with the staff to push for even higher standards. If the incident had happened on your first night we could have changed your room and made recompense. But it happened on your last night and it was too late for us to do anything .

The owner who takes a keen interest in the running of the resort is most concerned that you did not enjoy your stay and would like to offer you and your family a free 2-night stay in a villa, with a free spa treatment of your choice for two persons on your next stay, valid till 30 June 2014.
I hope you will accept our offer and once again our apologies.

Regards from all of us here at Cocotinos. "
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    109
    40
    21
    6
See reviews for
78
185
26
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishopsteignton
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Cocotinos is a small hotel in a great, peaceful and scenic location. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we had a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean as was the bathroom and the shower.

We enjoyed the swimming pool and the beach and our excursions to neighbouring villages and beaches.

Everyone at Cocotinos was friendly, courteous and helpful and made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanSitompul, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for your very positive review of our resort. All of us here at Cocotinos Sekotong enjoyed having you with us and we look forward to your next visit . Please pass on the good news to your friends and relatives.
Kindest Regards from all of us at Cocotinos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I visited Cocotinos a few years ago.
This year we went to revisit Malaysia and Bali.
We stayed in some high profile resorts in Bali, what a MISTAKE that we didn't visit again Cocotinos.
The resort is the perfect place to relax with great service, pool villas, views. Very well run hotel.
I am still angry with myself that we didn't come to Cocotinos again and instead we wasted some time staying in Bali in ugly big hotels.
Keep doing great job, Cocotinos !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moschino24_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanSitompul, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
"Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your five star review of our resort. Do not despair. We are still here and growing stronger everyday as we seek to improve our resort and our our service constantly. With our new Garden rooms and privacy wall the resort should feel even more cozy when you next visit. The plants have grown bigger and the place looks ever more lush in the wet season. We are waiting to receive you with the same warm and personal service we offer to all our guests.

Cheers, we remember you fondly and best regards from all of us here at Cocotinos."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you're looking for a quieter alternative to the rigors and crowds of Bali, this hotel on Lombok is an excellent choice. Don't expect wild nightlife and endless shopping, but do expect a small, friendly, comfortable hotel in a lovely beach setting with a beautiful swimming pool. The rooms are well appointed and roomy, the restaurant has enough variety and quality to keep you interested and the day excursions for snorkeling and exploring to nearby Gili Nanggu give you plenty to do. Car hire and day trips around Lombok can also be arranged and the resort has its own Dive centre and dive trips. Check if they're expecting a group from a cruise ship to drop in for a swim as you might want to make that the day you go on an excursion. While the group may only be there for a few hours, it did feel like an invasion and it would have been good to know in advance. It will take you 1-1.5hrs to get there from the airport. I suggest you arrange transport with the hotel even though its a little more expensive, as the drivers know exactly where they're going and the journey will be much quicker. The cost of hiring a car and driver for excursions from the hotel is expensive compared to Bali, but then it's so nice to be there you won't want to do too much of that. Oh, and don't forget to indulge in a treatment at the spa, perched above the beach in the gentle breeze.

Room Tip: We stayed in a pool view room, which had nice sea breezes. The garden view rooms may not get that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanSitompul, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your lovely review of our resort. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our accommodation, food and overall service to your liking. It was our pleasure to have helped make your vacation a great one. We do apologize for the "invasion" you encountered when a group of guests from a cruise ship came by for lunch. Thank you for letting us know your feelings about this. Following your suggestion we have now briefed our staff to inform all in-house guests in advance of any future large groups that may drop by our resort for lunch.
We hope to see you again and please tell your friends about your time with us.
Kindest Regards from all of us at Cocotinos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Cocotinos Resort locate far away from the main city/town

Good:
- peaceful and quiet. Great for a getaway from the city lifestyle.
- A swimming pool with 2m depth (for swimmer lover)
- It has it's own jetty. You can take stroll during sunrise or sunset
- It provide diving or snorkeling
- Tea break provided at 5pm-6pm
- Free wifi at dining area.
- Big and comfortable bed and room space.
- people are friendly. A home-stay feeling with a resort facilities.

is a recommended place to go for all divers.

Not so good:
- Inconvenience to do shopping for clothes, food and drink as it take more than 20min to travel to main city area.

Room Tip: Try to ask for Room 1 or 2 which is closer to the dinning area. Should be able to tap into their fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanSitompul, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for staying in our resort and taking the time to do a review.
Many of our guest have, like yourself, enjoyed staying at our resort and found their experience akin to being a guest in somebody's house.
We have recently upgraded our wifi service and the coverage now extends from the lobby and restaurant to all the rooms.
Yes, like our sister resort in Manado, we also provide full-service scuba diving and snorkeling to numerous dive sites in the Sekotong Bay.
Being a hideaway resort, we are by our very nature, away from shopping centers, restaurants and bars. But we do our best to provide a good dining experience within our resort.
Kindest Regards from all of us at Cocotinos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Cocotinos Sekotong is a place where you should stay for your holiday... Runaway from the busyness in your life.... Unfortunately I stayed for a couple of days to work, nevertheless the place made work seemed easier and fun...

Having breakfast, lunch and dinner with a great view will overcome any tiredness....

The room is fantastic and very cozy and also you can have the option of indoor or outdoor shower...

Yes, the place is far from everywhere (2-3 hours from airport), but if you wanted a peaceful and beautiful place with a great view of rinjani, the sunrise and sunset, this is the place....

Would love one day to go there again for holiday... :)

ps: since it's far from the city, you might wanted to bring some midnight snacks just incase you're hungry in the middle of the night... :)

Room Tip: Book the bungalows near the pool, you'll find a great view when you wake up in the morning....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LetitsiaGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanSitompul, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for staying with us for 2 nights. We are glad you liked everything about our resort. Please inform us of your requirement for mid-night snacks before your next visit and we will do something special for you. It is our policy to give as much personalize service as possible so long as we have advanced notice. It will be our pleasure to prepare some mid-night snacks for you. We look forward to your next visit.
Kindest Regards from all of us at Cocotinos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hengelo, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We first made a tour for two weeks around the island and this hotel was the ideal stay to relax for the last week. Very quiet and comfortable.We stayed here for 9 days and had a lovely time! Very friendly en helpfull staff, a beautiful seavieuw and delicieus Indonesian food. The appartment was spacious and had all the things you want in a good hotel. There is a nice swimmingpool which we used a lot.
A boat from the hotel can bring you to Gili Nanggu, this is the most marvelous place to snorkel. Beautiful coral en many, many different fishes!
We had a great time here at Cocotinos!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marliesj d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanSitompul, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Reviewer

We are delighted to learn that your stay in our resort for 9 days was a great one. The owner chose the location of the resort because he wanted a hideaway place for those seeking quiet and relaxation.
Our resort is perfect for guests like you.
We would like you to help us spread the good news to friends of yours who are looking for the same kind of holiday. Be rest assured they will be satisfied when they come and stay with us.
Kindest Regards from all of us at Cocotinos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desa Sekotong Barat
17.8 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,493 reviews
17.6 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
24.3 mi away
Novotel Lombok
Novotel Lombok
#1 of 11 in Kuta
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
17.4 mi away
Holiday Resort Lombok
Holiday Resort Lombok
#7 of 7 in Mangsit
768 reviews
19.1 mi away
Living Asia Resort and Spa Lombok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Dusun Pandanan, Desa Sekotong Barat, Lombok 83000, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Desa Sekotong Barat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Desa Sekotong Barat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocotinos Sekotong, a boutique beach resort and spa, is set amidst a coconut grove in Sekotong Bay on the south-west corner of Lombok Island, overlooking Gili Nanggu, Gili Sudak and Gili Tangkong. The 3.2-hectare resort captures the tranquility and serenity of the region. Blessed with over 300 meters of private white-sand beach, the resort is the perfect getaway for romantic couples and families who want a holiday away from the crowds. Cocotinos also boasts the Laleina Spa and a sea sports centre run by Odyssea Divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Fastbooking, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa Lombok/Desa Sekotong Barat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing