We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Worth a Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We only stayed for one night as we were continuing our journey the next day. Looking back, we should have just stayed at Cocotino's. The hotel is beautifully-designed on a small, relaxed beach in southwest Lombok. After an hour's drive from the airport, we were thrilled to see our well-equipped room with gorgeous wooden furniture and accents, the cute patio area, and the outdoor shower. The bed was very comfortable, and all of the linens were of good quality. The beach is small and pebbly, but there are chairs provided, and the pool looked quite nice. We only ate breakfast during our stay, but we were really pleased with the large servings and good quality. The prices for other food items seemed a bit high as were the prices for excursions and spa services, but if you are looking to relax in an undeveloped part of Lombok, Cocotino's is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trubeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanSitompul, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking your time to do a review of our resort after only a one-night stay.
We are glad that you enjoyed yourself and found our location to be acceptable even though it is an hour's drive from the airport. We are a hideaway resort and every attention was given to make sure that the rooms and the gardens were well designed to provide a cozy and comfortable stay.
We hope to see you again. Please plan a longer stay the next time.
Kindest regards from all of us at Cocotinos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    105
    39
    21
    6
See reviews for
76
175
25
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Me & my friends were driving by the Sekotong area when we found this hotel. The area is nice and clean. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. But my favorite is the tranquility, perfect to let go of your stress and relax the whole day. The beach is nice and clean The food is so so, but the staffs are very friendly and the beach is very beautiful. The biggest let down is that there's no fresh water available.
This place is far away from the city but I'm okay with that since it's exactly what we were looking for. However, if you are planning to go to places like Sade, Sukarare village, senggigi, or pearl farm, you might need to consider to stay in other areas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mardliahaziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanSitompul, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for your kind review of our Cocotinos Resort. As you found our resort is ideal for those seeking a place either to relax and chill out the whole day on our white sand beach or visit the adjacent islands. With regards to the water at the resort it is from our own deep well located in the local aquifer, which presently is the only source of water in the Sekotong area and has a slight mineral content and as you will have noticed we have fresh drinking water containers in all of our rooms. (This also helps in reducing the amount of plastic drinking water bottles which are used). The local government is presently laying a fresh water main to the Sekotong area so hopefully we will have government supplied fresh water in the near future.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review it was appreciated by me and my staff. Please come and stay with us again soon since you now know where we are.
Kindest regards from all of us at Cocotinos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finksburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just departed from Cocotinos two days ago.....and only complaint that I have was too short a stay. IF I would known how nice and how beautiful the resort was, I would have extended for few more days. If you are looking for a relaxing stay with wonderful staff that cannot do enough for you, then you must book Cocotinos. Get away from the noise and the crowds of the Gili's up north and sit back and relax at Cocotinos. I don't usually post on trip advisor coz I think the very few negative comments disturb me. Maybe these guests are not happy with themselves. I only met happy guests at this resort and the excellent management and friendly staff made me feel right at home. I can't wait to return later in the year and book with Mosley at Dive Shop. These guys do a excellent job. Thanks everyone at Cocotinos for a truly relaxing experience in Lombok.

Frank L. Vogt III
USA

Room Tip: Book a Villa on the beach. Excellent value for just a few dollars more. Drinking coffee at sunrise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whereisbutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanSitompul, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear reviewer.
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort, which you say is a thing that you don’t normally do, making your review all the more important to us. As you commented on in your review our location is ideal for those wanting to get away from the hassle unfortunately experienced nowadays in Bali and here in Lombok around the Northern Gili’s and the Sengigi area.
Our location was chosen by our owner for the beauty of its beach and the adjacent islands and its location away from sprawl of the other major hotel complexes. We appreciate that this may not be to everyone’s taste, but in these days of the internet it is easy to do a bit of research before booking any hotel.
We look forward to seeing you again later this year and I am sure our dive staff will be glad to show you some of the new dive sites that Mosley and the rest of the dive crew have discovered recently.
Again thank you for your review it was very much appreciated.
Kindest regards from all of us at Cocotinos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just couldn't get any sleep with noise. Breakfast selecction ran out early. Pretty expensive for what it is. The location seems pretty far from anything touristy. Front office seemed understandign of our problems but couldnt solve anything. I wish I had booked a place that's bit more established or part of chain but some boutiquey things just don't work out I guess.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Md C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanSitompul, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear reviewer,
First of all may I apologize for the noise and disturbance that you experienced during your stay. I can assure you that we are normally noted for the quiet and relaxing atmosphere at our resort. Unfortunately we had a last minute booking from a film crew from Hong Kong who were filming in the Sekotong area and who turned out to be a lot noisier than our usual guests. Needless to say we will not be accepting booking from this group again.
We hope that if you are visiting Lombok again and are looking for a resort to relax and kick back away from the main hotel strips that you will consider us. But we do appreciate that if you are looking for a hotel close to bars and night clubs we may not be the most suitable hotel for you.

Kindest regards from all of us at Cocotinos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed there one night last week and checked out next morning. No fresh water. Very bad food. Extreeeemely slow service though staffs were genuinely friendly. Aircon in room did not work properly. When asked to talk to manager, was told he was not present when in fact the man was sitting in the restaurant. When we found out and complaint he was defensive, argued and walked away. Total lack of professionalism. As we drove out we saw some illegal gold mining activities and suspected they were the reason why this resort could not get fresh water.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globescourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanSitompul, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

It is regrettable that you did not enjoy your one night stay with us. We are at a loss because we have had many happy guests who stayed with us for more than 2 weeks and had enjoyed themselves thoroughly. For the record, we would like to point out a few things.

You checked-in in the afternoon the day before your check-out the following morning. We never heard any complaints from you until the time of your check-out, at which point you were already very unhappy and had many things to complain about and wanted to see me the General Manager. If you had let me know the day before whether there was anything we could do to make your stay more comfortable, we would have done our best to accommodate your requests. By the time you complained, it was already too late for us to do anything as you were already checking-out.

We note from our record that you only ordered vegetarian food for your evening meal. We wish you had informed us prior to your stay so we could have made a special effort to meet your dietary needs. Our non-vegetarian menu is quite extensive and delicious, and we have had many guests who have gone into our kitchen to learn how to cook our special dishes. We must admit our vegetarian selection is rather limited but we are trying to improve on this.

You also complained about noise in your bedroom which was due to an exterior water feature in your private plunge pool. This could have easily been turned off if you had given us a call. However you said you did not want to disturb us during the night. You also mentioned that there was noise from a gecko lizard which you found “irritating”, but the gecko is the symbol of indigenous Lombok fauna and as a wild animal, we have no control over it. However, many of our guests consider it a privilege to be so close to nature and to see one of these gecko on a coconut tree outside their villa, even if it’s call can be annoying.

At the time of your check-in our front desk staff already informed you that the pipe water is slightly salty. We do not have government supply and we get our water from a deep well which has a mineral content in the water. The tap water is not sea water.

Again, many of our guests who stayed with us before understand the constraints of staying in a hide-away resort and they accept the quality of the water. Many other parts of Lombok face the same problem as we do with water but many travelers consider this a small inconvenience given the chance to stay in a remote but beautiful location.

You also complained to me at the point of check-out that the price was too high for the Villa you stayed in. The price of the villa on the internet was very clear when you made your booking and there was a selection of other rooms that were less expensive. Perhaps you could have chosen a room that was less expensive and more suitable to your needs.

If you had stayed longer, we would have had the opportunity to look into your complaints and try our very best to accommodate your requests. It is our policy to give personalize service as far as possible and within reason to make every stay a memorable one. I hope your holiday was not entirely in vain and that you found a resort that better suited your needs.
Kindest regards from all of us at Cocotinos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I booked this resort with relaxation in mind, and it played out in spades. The rooms are beautiful, spotless, and well decorated. The high ceilings, fan, and AC all make for a very comfortable stay. My wife especially like the indoor/outdoor shower and the turndown service with fresh towels is very important at a beach resort. The grounds of the Cocotinos are perfectly manicured and gorgeous. The pool is very nice and close to the restaurant which is right on the beach. The restaurant prices are a little high, but overall decent value. The staff are not as quick to smile as you might find other staff to be ion other islands. But this is part of the culture on Lombok and you will find that the entire staff go out of their way to make the guests feel happy. They even arranged a beautiful surprise for my father on his birthday by giving us a cake, and the whole staff came out to sing happy birthday. They even presented him with a Bintang beer mug, I imagine it was an easy choice after seeing him drink a few for the last couple of days :) Overall I would say that this is a great relaxed resort with so much natural beauty and such helpful staff you will not want to leave!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanSitompul, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear reviewer,
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. As you mentioned in your review, the Sekotong Bay area where our resort is located has so much natural beauty that you don’t really want to leave. We tried, when building the resort, to blend the structures in with the surroundings by using as much locally available material as possible to reflect the local “kampong”(village) architecture; hence the high ceilings in the rooms and the outdoor shower that your wife enjoyed so much. (Nothing beats taking a shower outside in the tropics to the sound of birds singing and coconut trees swaying gently overhead.) The landscaping also reflects the type of planting that you would normally see in the surrounding villages, with an exuberant mix of banana trees and flowering plants amongst the tall coconut trees which we maintained as much as possible when building the resort.
Providing a birthday cake for your father’s birthday is just the sort of thing we like to do to make our guests feel at home (hope he is not using the Bintang beer mug to much)! So thank you again from all of us here at Cocotinos and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Kindest regards from all of us at Cocotinos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in one of the beachside villas. Definitely worthwhile splurging because the other rooms don’t offer the same views. The villa was huge with lovely indoor and outdoor bathrooms and the deck with plunge pool was gorgeous. Having a big drinking water container in the room is a great extra and the hotel information provided in the room is very detailed and useful.

Although beach-front villa 6 is beautiful, it’s right next to the pool and while we were there, there were a lot of kids playing - and screaming :( - at the pool which was not quite the relaxing ambience we were hoping for. I recommend requesting either of the other two villas if you want more privacy and peace. In contrast to the villas, we found the pool and restaurant areas a little functional.

Most of the staff were friendly and attentive.

WIFI is only available at the restaurant / reception area. It was a bit flaky and we were sometimes unable to connect though the hotel has a couple of computers you can use. Would be good if WIFI could be provided reliably throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geckotale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IwanSitompul, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review which is very much appreciated by all of us here at Cocotinos Sekotong. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the fact that you were at times disturbed by the noise of young children playing around the pool. We do welcome families with children at our resort and we would like to thank you for your kind consideration and patience in this matter.
Regarding your comment that WIFI connection is not available in all the rooms, kindly note that we are in a remote location and are only able to have an internet connection with a narrow band width via satellite. This is the main reason why we have not, until now, extended the internet to all our rooms. Unfortunately, the internet connection is also easily affected by rain and cloud cover. Hopefully, we will have a better connection in the future as the local telecom companies have started to upgrade their services throughout Lombok. When we have a better connection we will of course extend the internet to all our rooms.
Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Kindest regards from all of us at Cocotinos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desa Sekotong Barat
17.6 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
17.8 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
24.3 mi away
Novotel Lombok
Novotel Lombok
#2 of 11 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
#11 of 30 in Senggigi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
27.0 mi away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 3 in Tanjung
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
19.1 mi away
Living Asia Resort and Spa Lombok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Dusun Pandanan, Desa Sekotong Barat, Lombok 83000, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Desa Sekotong Barat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Desa Sekotong Barat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocotinos Sekotong, a boutique beach resort and spa, is set amidst a coconut grove in Sekotong Bay on the south-west corner of Lombok Island, overlooking Gili Nanggu, Gili Sudak and Gili Tangkong. The 3.2-hectare resort captures the tranquility and serenity of the region. Blessed with over 300 meters of private white-sand beach, the resort is the perfect getaway for romantic couples and families who want a holiday away from the crowds. Cocotinos also boasts the Laleina Spa and a sea sports centre run by Odyssea Divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa Lombok/Desa Sekotong Barat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing