We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rural France at it's best.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bluebell Cottage looking out onto the vast green valley of Janaillat.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bluebell Cottage looking out onto the vast green valley of Janaillat.
Pool area with relaxing sun-loungers and amazing views, ideal for cooling off on hot sunny days. Heated pool and terrace area, relax reading a book or just gaze out to the amazing views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Bluebell Cottage looking out onto the vast green valley of Janaillat.
Pool area with relaxing sun-loungers and amazing views, ideal for cooling off on hot sunny days.
Heated pool and terrace area, relax reading a book or just gaze out to the amazing views.
Large secure garden, with Children's Playarea, with playhouse, swings, slide and lots more toys.
Lounge with two large comfy sofas, Digital TV,DVD Player, Log Burner, I dock, games and books.
Dining Room to seat 10 people with Log Burner. We can also provide a highchair.
Bedroom 1: Double Room with amazing views, lots of original features & plenty of storage.
Bedrom 2: Double Room, with original beams, lovely views of the valley and ample storage.
Bedroom 3: Twin/Family Room, 2 Singles and a Double Sofa Bed, lots of Hanging and Drawer Storage.
Bedroom 4: Twin Room, with Velux window with blackout blind, Storage & electric heating.
Bathroom 2: with shower over bath, toilet and hand basin.
Bathroom 1: with Bath with Shower over, Toilet and Wash Hand Basin.
Relax & soak up the sun around the heated pool, whilst looking out on the amazing views.
Large Secure Garden at the rear of the property. We have swings, Football, Basketball,Badminton etc.
Views across the fields, there are lovely walks and cycling routes through the woodlands.
Lac Courtille in Gueret, only 25 mins away. Ideal for picnics, swimming or a leisurely walk
Lac de Vassiviere....with watersports, beaches or enjoy a & plat de jour& at the many restaurants.
Beach at Lac de Vassiviere, with Cafes, Restaurants and Watersports.
Tourist Train at Lac de Vassiviere, which transports you from the mainland to the island.
Zizim Tower in Bourganeuf, the nearest town with Supermarkets, Banks, cafes and Restaurants.
Inflatables & floats in the water at Lac de Vassiviere....loads of fun!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Janaillat, Creuse, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
townley1
Luton Uk
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Rural France at it's best.”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This property is set in a very small village that has no facilities so it is very quiet. The surrounding area is quite hilly and the scenery is beautiful. The accommodation and furnishings are all of a good standard but not luxurious - nonetheless more than adequate for holiday needs. There is a daily bread van but we found it better to go to another nearby village - St Dizzier - just over 3 miles. There is a good supermarket and weekly market in Bourganeuf - about a 20 minute drive. What makes this property so special is it location which we found ideal, coupled with the heated swimming pool - we had some great fun and relaxing times in and around it. In addition the owners Bryan and Jane are extremely helpful and a wealth of knowledge on local events and places to visit. It is a very child friendly property. Our extended family had an excellent holiday here.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The whole holiday experience
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 21, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful surrondings and lovely hosts
Liked least: Having to come home
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
The_Red_D...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay!!!!!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have been to many gites in France over the last 20 years. This is the first one we have ever come back to. Without a doubt, it is the best place to holiday. The owners are greasy, making sure that everything is perfect for your stay - they will even do your shopping for when you arrive (meaning that, if you arrive a little later than planned, you have food and drink available). This is a quiet little village, but there are many restaurants and supermarkets within about 5 miles or so. Some lovely places to visit, although this time we are on a motorcycle and just chilling by the beautiful pool!!!! Last time we were here, we had our 7 seater and brought the kids. We all had a great tie!! Still a few days to go until this great holiday comes to an end.....so, back to the pool it is :-)

Date of stay: July 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2014
Many thanks for your review.....I understand that "the owners are greasy" should actually say "the owners are great".....predictive text slip up!! We are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay and although this is your second stay in the gites we do hope that you will return again some time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickyV926
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing in rural france.”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Located in a small hamlet surrounded by fields, this really is rural france yet only 15 mins from Bourganeuf and 25 mins from Gueret for shops.
The properties and facilities are fantastic, to be honest the pictures don't do it justice, I was amazed to see a egg slicer!
If you want somewhere to relax this is perfect place.
Only 50 mins away is Lac de Vassiere - a must visit for a day out.
Brian, Jane and their 2 sons are very friendly and helpful advising us well on places.
What more can I say, book up and you won't be disappointed.
We'll definately be back.

Date of stay: August 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomL2859
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, homely accommodation.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

From the minute we arrived our hosts made us feel very welcome and that continued throughout our holiday. The accommodation was lovely... A real authentic, French property with character in abundance. I think the only negative about the property was the close proximity of the 2nd villa. Luckily we had a lovely group in the house next door! The equipment in the property was fine... Everything you need with the exception of a dishwasher. I know, I know... Who needs those sorts of luxuries on a holiday? Well I would rather spend my time sat under the stars with a glass of wine than being stood at the sink. Just a minor gripe though.
The pool area was very spacious and fantastic views. I don't think I'd go on a 'share a pool' holiday again. I just prefer having more control over when and how we use the pool. It'd be nice to have access to the pool lights as well... A midnight dip is great fun but just wasn't possible without disturbing the hosts.
The local area was ok.... There are some fantastic lakes nearby. If the sun is shining, make sure you visit a lake... The kids will have a ball.
There seemed to be a lack of local, family orientated, quality restaurants. We tried to find one on the last night and ended up in La Grand Bourg pizzeria. Don't go! It was horrendous. We only went because we couldn't get in the nice restaurant but the service was shocking and the food wasn't much better.
Overall we had a fantastic holiday and we would certainly reccommend this villa to friends and family.
Thank you!

Date of stay: August 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewed August 17, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the owners were very friendly and very open to our needs
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mandy M
Lyon, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a fantastic relaxing family holiday location.”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This beautiful gite was very spacious and well equipped to feel like “home-from-home”. It was spotlessly clean and well-coordinated.

The views from all aspects were amazing and it was so nice to eat outdoors whilst enjoying the fresh country air. The access to the pool area was good as we had small children and they could be watched whist we ate on the terrace. The pool and terrace area was very clean and inviting. They also provided a selection of toys for the children to play with which was much appreciated.

The owners Jane & Bryan were very helpful and friendly, as were their two boys Alex & James. The welcome pack was a god send as was the complimentary pizza meal they cooked for our first evening meal, this took a lot of pressure off after the drive over.

The location was good also, as we were not far from the pretty towns of Bourganeuf, Benevent and Gueret. We visited the lakes at Courtille in Gueret and Vassiviere, both had lovely beaches for the kids to play on the sand and paddle in the water.

The village of Janaillat is very quiet and relaxing, and it was so nice to take a relaxing walk or bike ride around the country lanes and on the dirt tracks through the woods.

This is an excellent gite and is ideal for a large family or two families holidaying together. We hope to come again soon.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The heated pool was lovely, and the views over the valley were amazing.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing