We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy rooms in Bangkoks green area”
Review of Bangkok Tree House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bangkok Tree House
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Cosy rooms, but with no toilet door! Breakfast was great but dinner was just ok (they went out of rice!). The location was ok, abit dificult to go in to town even if the staff was helpfull. Nice that you could borrow bicycles for free. A fun and different experiense but would not recomend anyone to stay more then 2 nights and if its Bangkok you want to see I recomend to choose a hotel in town.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank JennySthlm81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 151 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Bangkok Tree House for a long weekend after attending a conference in Bangkok. We were pleased with the eco-friendly hotel, namely the friendliness of the staff that simultaneously prepared served food, cleaned rooms and managed the front desk. The overall "feel" of the hotel was relaxing, with bamboo chimes in the main restaurant and clean lines/decor; the hotel thus rejuvenated us on our three-night stay.

Property: We liked the property, as the hotel was situated across the river from the main part of the city with greenery all around; a very serene location. We enjoyed the walkways on the island, a trip to the floating market, and wandering around aimlessly on all the paths. We enjoyed greeting those that live on the island, as everyone we came across was very friendly.

Room: The room was very clean when we arrived, with special treats included such as homemade soap and scented olive oil. The "green" movies saved on a computer/TV in the room were fun to watch on a rainy afternoon, and the bed was very comfortable with clean sheets. The minimalist decor was soothing and offered a stark contrast to the colors, sights and sounds in the city. The room's top floor balcony was a relaxing place to spend the afternoon, as well, reading and getting a little sun. Note to improve: our room was not cleaned on our second day even though we were out of the room from 11-1 at the floating market and from 3-11PM in central Bangkok. For the price paid for the room, it is expected that it would be cleaned daily.

Food: The breakfast served daily was delicious and offered a nice variety of freshly squeezed juices, fruits, homemade bread, and eggs prepared how you wish. We ate dinner at the Tree House once, and the dinner was also delicious Thai cuisine made with fresh, local ingredients. We thoroughly enjoyed the fish with green curry. Note to improve: meal times were ambiguous. We were told we could ONLY get breakfast between 8-11AM, but our last day when we woke up early and headed to the main dining area, there were 8 guests that were being served breakfast (a family and a group of friends) at 7AM. We wished we had also been offered this earlier breakfast option, so perhaps making standard times for all guests would be more appropriate, as well as sticking to these times, to be fair to all guests.

Staff and Reception: The staff was very friendly and it was obvious that they were multi-tasking by preparing/serving food, attending to the front desk, and cleaning rooms. We appreciated how when we had requested breakfast at 11AM one day but returned from the floating market earlier, the staff gladly changed our breakfast time. The staff booked us several rocket boats to the mainland as we had several dinner meetings in the city, and spoke with our cab drivers via cell phone to explain where the pier was located. Furthermore, on the last day, the staff arranged our transport to the airport that we had paid for previously. The smiles and warm welcome always offered by staff made the stay pleasant. Note to Improve: Clarify reception times when the front desk is open; when we went to the mainland for a dinner meeting, we left our key at the front desk with the women there. We were told that the front desk remained open from 8AM until midnight, and that that was the time the boats would also provide transport to and from the hotel. When we returned from dinner around 11PM, there was no one at the hotel's front desk and our key was laying out in plain view on the reception desk with our room number written clearly on it. This was disconcerting, especially because we had our computers and other valuables in the hotel room and the "open" layout of the hotel meant that anyone could walk up to the reception from the outside of the hotel and find our key. The security guard was asleep when we returned, though when there was a rather large spider in our room, we called the cell phone numbers of the one of the staff and she did wake him up to help us clear it out as we were not sure which species of spider it was and it was a threat or not. Therefore, we would expect that for the price of the room that the front desk would remain open for the hours that they had specified, 8AM-Midnight, and that if these hours are not the correct hours, that the true hours be clarified with guests. Also, we paid for a 990 Bht airport transfer; on the website, it stated that it would be an SUV transfer to the airport. What we ended up getting was a rocket boat transfer and smoky cab ride that the hotel paid for; the cab driver had his meter on and it was approximately 550 Bht. If we had known that we would only be taking a cab for the transfer, vs. a private vehicle, we would have booked our own cab ourselves and paid less money. Bangkok Tree House should ensure that what they list on the web site is accurate in order to manage guests' expectations.

Bike tour: We went on a bike tour with Paul. We enjoyed the sights that he showed us around the island, especially the coconut groves, feeding the fish in the park pond, the temples, etc. though it would be great if Paul could learn more about the history of the island as we had several questions that could not be answered. Guests should also be sure to clarify with Paul if they prefer more riding than talking/learning about things or vice versa. I was not very comfortable going at a fast speed, and Paul was easygoing and accommodated our slow pace, as well as lowering the bike seats manually for comfort's sake. Note to improve: Perhaps Paul could create a survey using Googleforms to ask guests their preferences about the bike tour prior to taking the tour, such as their biking abilities, if they would prefer more history and less riding or more riding and less history, preferred sights, etc. to make the tours more efficient and spend less "guess" time or clarifying the day of the tour. Paul knows a lot about bikes and he built the bikes himself, which were also highlights of the tour. Overall it is worth it for the price and guests should consider taking this tour while on the island!

In sum, we would recommend this place for people that want a relaxing place near, but not in central, Bangkok. Thank you, Bangkok Tree House, for giving us a nice, romantic weekend away and we hope you will consider our suggestions to improve guests' future stays.

Room Tip: They all look like great rooms and they all have a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank moz4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This could be a wonderful hotel, beautiful location ( even if located in a peripheral and difficult to find area) , very nice architecture, surprising and unique design! When we arrived we were enthusiastic about the first impression, but later on we were more and more disappointed. We had reserved for dinner. After some time we ordered our meals, the staff informed us that they run out of rice ( in Thailand....come on!) so there were just two main courses available! Step by step we discovered that they had run out of many other foods too ( mango, apples, bananas, chocolate,...). The most upsetting thing is that we waited for our dessert for 50 minutes, we were the only clients left. Just when we asked why it was not coming , the waitress said that she was sorry and that she thought that her collegue told us that it was not available...and there was no alternative dessert, so we waited 50 minutes for nothing! In any case the bad surprises went on when we realised that the bed linen was NOT proper : they smelled like sweat and there were few spots, they had evidently already been used!). The morning after , in the light of the day, we observed that the Wc in the room was pretty dirty and the table cloths of the restaurant too. Moreover in general the area where the hotel is build is not well kept and there is a lot of rubbish . This lack of cleaning is the real negative aspect for the price we paied( it never happened to us to stay in dirty rooms in other hotels in thailand, even if a lot cheaper) .
In the end....to summerize , this could be a wonderful hotel, the staff is really nice and smiling, the idea and the location are great, but it needs a lot more of maintainance and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Check about the cleanliness of the room before to check in. I suggest not to choose the special sus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Griis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A wonderful place that you’ll enjoy staying at if you know in advance what to expect.

We plan to stay at the Bangkok Tree House again soon.

We rented the “View with a Room”, and I would like to clarify the incorrect information in a previous post about this room… Not only does this room include the raised platform with a bed, mosquito net, and a low table for dining, but it also includes 2-story “Tree-Top Nest” room right next to the raised platform. The “Nest” has an air-conditioned bedroom on the second floor and a private bathroom (very spacious) on the first floor – in a previous review a person complained/speculated about the price of the “View with a Room” without understanding that the price includes a “Nest” as well. The Nest serves as a backup in case rain, is a secure place to store your stuff, and contains your own private bathroom.

Pros:
• Fun and relaxing location away from Bangkok traffic and high-rise buildings
• Interesting layout of the buildings
• Surprisingly easy to get to
• Free nighttime “lightening bug boat tour” (might be a seasonal event only) – I won’t ruin the surprise but it was stunning
• Very friendly staff
• Very relaxed atmosphere
• Organic menu; 490 THB for a 3-course dinner was worth it
• Complimentary breakfast

Cons:
• It is a quiet location… except for the occasional “rocket boat” that goes by with a ridiculously loud engine; this continues very late into the evening and resumes in the wee hours of the morning.
• There is an unsettling amount of garbage floating in the mangrove under the structures; however, there is so much garbage from the river (and it just keeps coming) it’s not possible to keep it clear.
• The mosquito net that was supposed to provide protection for the open-air bed on the “View with a Room” was too small and frequently blew out of position, even by a gentle breeze.

Advice:
• Brings some snacks – don’t rely solely on the hotel for all of your food; food markets are not close by.
• Bring earplugs in case the occasional rocket boat noise disturbs your sleep.
• If you just have a backpack, take the ferry to the pier and walk to the hotel, but if you have a luggage then charter a rocket boat directly to the hotel’s dock.
• Bring a book and enjoy the tranquility in the “Green Lung of Bangkok.”

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mbengwi_RPCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

it's quite far out from the city, but definitely a good choice for nature lovers.

we arrived in the evening and it was raining the whole time, quite inconvenient as we had to take a small motor boat to get to the hotel and we did have a big suitcase this time round, definitely was not a good idea for this hotel's design.

the room was nicely designed with many small surprises along the way, pity it was raining so we didn't get to use the sun beds on the roof to star gaze, also couldn't join the biking trip that was offered in the morning.

to note, there are no restaurants nearby and the hotel restaurant doesn't have a wide spread of choices, so the reception actually helped us direct the taxi to a nearby seafood restaurant near the pier before we went over. was definitely a good idea to eat there first.

I'd say it's a good idea to stay a night or two just to experience a chill, countryside, no shopping no cars vacation with just lots of green and lots of nature surrounding. then we headed back to the city for the classic bangkok shopping/eating hype.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband is an architect, very much interested in sustainability. We travel often to Bangkok and other areas of Thailand and were therefore intrigued to see if this was somewhere we could stay as an alternative to the usual hotels.

In a nutshell: NO.

I love their ideas, though. No air conditioning, breezeways for cooling, open air (but of course sheltered from view) showers, bicycles for travel etc. Really great concepts and funky design.
Planters along the timber walkways are made of plastic bottles. Bamboo wind chimes in the dining/bar area. Stones number the rooms (ie 7 stones = room #7).

The concept of the open-air platform room ("View with a room") (available on request for more than $200/night) are a great idea, but would be useless during the day because there is no shade and Bangkok is HOT. Also no storage and no bathroom. In the evening, could be quite nice as long as you stay under your mosquito net and don’t need to visit the communal bathroom during the night (it’s a LONG climb down).

BUT … for a property which proclaims itself to be green, it sits atop swamp/mangrove which is literally filled with rubbish, all of which is clearly visible, for instance, through the glass floor in the toilet.

They have a ‘pool’, which is quite hilarious. It is nothing more than a frog pond, which obviously hadn’t been cleaned out for a very long time. They explained that they don’t believe in the use of chemicals. Tropical weather + no cleaning and no chemicals = a green bog. This is how their website describes the 'pool': "We have a natural pond free of chlorine and other chemicals. The water will not be as clear as a chlorine pool and you may have to share the pool with plants and other friendly insects." I am not squeamish normally, but there was no way in the WORLD I was going to set foot, much less body, in that 'pool'!

Despite great intentions, I think this one fails simply because of its pricing (anywhere from $150-200/night – the price of a really nice hotel room or leased condominium).

It’s tricky to reach, but I would recommend making the trip if you have some time during the day and are interested in alternative architecture. Sit and have a beer and lunch, enjoy the breeze, and then head back to the city for a ‘real’ hotel room!

Room Tip: They are building a 'family nest' which looks like it might be interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank maruschka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I am reviewing only the restaurant as we did not stay overnight. We stopped by on our bike trip to have lunch. We were looking forward to this place as we expected ourselves to be tired and hot and hungry after a morning bike.

We made a reservation in advance. Not sure if this is necessary as there were not that many people around (although they recommend doing so in their website). The place is vey nice (no AC) and clean, with the view of the river. It can only be reached by walking or biking (but not that far from the main road- perhaps 5 min). Staff were friendly.

We arrived a little before noon and our food came around 1 PM. An hour of waiting for lunch was really too long for my standard. Food was good, but not great. There were only two staff members we saw, who we think did everything around the place.

The design is otherwise interesting. I did not see the room so could not comment. The surrounding is a nice escape from busy city life.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluebear_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phra Pradaeng
Banglamphu
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Sathorn
My Bed Sathorn
My Bed Sathorn
#346 of 883 in Bangkok
57 reviews
iCheck inn Soi 2
#289 of 883 in Bangkok
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 883 in Bangkok
1,524 reviews
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#146 of 883 in Bangkok
1,839 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangkok Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok Tree House

Address: 60 Moo 1, Petch Cha Hueng Road, Phra Pradaeng 10260, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Samut Prakan Province > Phra Pradaeng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Phra Pradaeng
Price Range: $106 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bangkok Tree House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's enough to make any urban dweller green with envy: A place where you can breath clean air, explore a lush landscape, and sleep under the stars just a 30-minute ride outside the teeming, traffic-choked city center -- by public transportation, no less -- without giving up all the comforts of home. Guests at the new Bangkok Tree House can whisk themselves away from the Thai capital and its 12 million people by hopping on a recently completed extension of the city's elevated-rail network, the BTS Skytrain, to the Bangna station and then continuing on by foot, bicycle, or boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Bangkok Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangkok Tree House Phra Pradaeng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing