We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise in Bangkok - The Garden of Eden.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bangkok Tree House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bangkok Tree House
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise in Bangkok - The Garden of Eden.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Joey has created something entirely different with his design masterpiece, Bangkok Treehouse. Standing as a reason by itself to visit Thailand, this is anything but your average resort.

Every building in the small complex, every light, every tiny detail, has been addressed with the same level of care as if it represented the entire structure. The focus is put on recycled materials and low-carbon construction, and yet, despite the visions of cheap bamboo and re-molded plastic this might conjure up, each 'house' is a perfect balance between artistic minimalism, clean and modern design, and respect to nature. Even the ceilings are interesting to look at, and I wound up spending several mornings quietly sipping on (fantastically brewed) in-house coffee, just taking in all the beauty which surrounded me. Artwork in some form lies sublimely in every corner. I can't emphasize the details enough. Bring a camera.

The staff are incredibly friendly and earnest. They speak fluent English and manage to treat you like absolute royalty without coming off as overly stiff or formal. The menus feature many vegan and non vegan options, both foreign and domestic, and for a low fee, the staff is also able to order and deliver from outside eateries straight to your room. I stayed for an entire month and never had to eat the same thing twice (though if you're like me, the deliciousness of certain entrees will have you choosing to).

Finally, the location is like an untapped gold mine. Just a few minutes from a mainline train station and thus the heart of Bangkok, one is able to live out the near-unattainable urbanite dream - to live in a totally undeveloped scenic nature-spot, the jungle, woken by stunning song birds every morning, sleeping under the stars, and watching the tide gently lap at the rustic wooden dock - and then hop in a speed boat for a ten minute trip into the pulsating center of the capital. How many places in the world like this are left?

If you get a chance to spend even one night around Bangkok, stay at the Treehouse. Don't look anywhere else. The destination is worth the journey itself.

Room Tip: Rooms farthest from the dining area (unit #10) have the best privacy, but little wifi. If internet i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NathanaelLigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    43
    15
    14
    8
See reviews for
21
79
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dili, East Timor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

While being amongst the most hospitable hosts in Bangkok, Joey and his team at Bangkok Tree House at the very same time are breaking new ground in Thailand's hotel industry. Lying only 20km from the heart of bustling Bangkok, the Tree House is a socially-conscious luxury escape that co-exists with the natural environment of Bang Kachao. A stay here offers you an opportunity to connect with the environment (through their provision of free bicycle hire!), relax and emerge refreshed, to return to the swarming metropolis ready and revitalised. Drawing on local bamboo for construction, ensuring that all waste produce is recycled and all consumables are locally procured, staying at the Bangkok Tree House, while luxurious did not leave us feeling inconsiderate nor selfishly decadent. All in all, Bangkok Tree House is a refreshing alternative to urban Bangkok, and a vitalising journey in itself!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G0BIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights for something "different", after spending first 2 night in the Old Town, which proved to be a great way to arrange 5 days in Bangkok. Definitely nice to be away from the extreme business and pollution of the city - and in fact, "easy" to get to Sukhumvit (with the high-end malls, Jim Thompson House, etc) and the Chatuchak market from here - ferry across the river, taxi to BTS station, and off you go - actually much easier from here than from the Old Town where there is no BTS access, so something to keep in mind if you are in Bangkok and trying to plan how to see everything.

Stayed in the Butterfly Room which was lovely, though there was a minor issue with miniature ants - hotel will provide some eco-friendly spray to try to get rid of them. As others have said, the massively sized outdoor showers with rain showerhead and homemade soap/shampoo (but would be nice to have conditioner) were by far a highlight, absolutely fantastic - the only thing is that for this "nest" the shower was directly overlooking the walking path, so definitely have to roll down the big blind or you are risking someone walking by! Food I found very good, always different and interesting, had breakfast every morning and dinner once. Loved the blue tea! Free home-made ice cream as well as bottles of water in the fridge for guests. Loved the overall Eco theme. The roof-top areas were great - but it was so hot when I was there that you couldn't go up there for very long. The staff were helpful, although some spoke English better than others, so in some instances there was a language barrier. Interesting to go for a bike ride around, especially to the "floating market", but the bikes were in really bad shape with poor brakes. The one complaint would be the noise pollution from the speed boat motors on the river interrupting the peaceful purpose of this hotel - not in the hotel's control, but the boat-drivers obviously do it on purpose, they don't have to gun their motors and be that loud especially at night!

Overall it was a great stay. With a "stay 3 nights pay 2" deal, it was expensive "for Thailand" but ok for experiencing something different. However, the base prices increased even further after I booked and I would not pay more than I paid - yes it's very nice, and yes it's different, so it's definitely worth a bit more for that... but considering the lovely hotels you can get for far cheaper in town, there's a limit. The restaurant meals are also on the expensive side (relatively speaking).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Bangkok Tree House is situated less than an hour away from Bangkok city/airport which makes it the perfect getaway for both locals and foreigners. We spent a night at the butterfly tree house (chose this theme as we were not much of a creepy crawlies fan).

What we liked:
- The shower! It was a open concept shower which we loved and the water pressure from the shower head from amazing! There were no doors to both the toilet and the shower though. The shampoo and soap provided by BTH was great too, loved the smell of it!
- The rooftop sunbed. Instead of dining at BTH restaurant, we got takeaways from the market near 7-11 (around 15-20 minutes away by bicycle) and had an awesome alfresco dining experience while enjoying the sunset.

What could be improved:
- For the price of the room, we thought that the standard of the breakfast could be improved. Even though there was quite a variety, the quality of the food wasn't there. For those who are heading to the floating market, do leave some appetite for the delicious food available at the market!

Overall, we felt that a one night stay at BTH is sufficient since we could cover the main attractions of the place in one day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whoopheedoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Tree House Bangkok is a delightful place to escape for a couple of soothing days out of the madness of the big city. A half hour out of downtown Bangkok by boat and you are in a rural garden community where bikes outnumber cars and the farming gardens team with birds and wildlife. The hotel itself is right on the river and each room has a rooftop area just made for sunsets and sitting in the cool night breeze watching the river traffic slip by. The rooms are interesting with a very close to nature feel though the steep stairs to the upper levels probably would not work for young children. (There were no kids in evidence when we stayed.) The bar/restaurant is a laid back venue with a limited but very interesting menu. Borrow a bike and poke around the compact island during the day, especially the botanical garden. But, bring something to read at night unless you want to take the ferry back over for a night in the big city before returning to relax. Definitely recommended to decompress. Bob and Noi Fitts

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This place is a complete one-off. I've never stayed anywhere like it but if I get half a chance I will be back there again. If you're reading this then you'll know the basics, it's on the other side of the river from Bangkok and although you are a distance from Downtown getting there is surprisingly easy though it involves a ferry, a taxi and then the Skytrain. It sounds like a hassle but it isn't, its fun and it gives you a bit of focus to your day. Its takes about 30 to 40 minutes to get to Siam.

We caught a taxi from the airport down to the green ferry and made our way across the river. From there its a short walk of a couple of hundred metres to the Treehouse. My wife was walking along the raised walkway when a five foot monitor lumbered into view down in the swampy shallows. She shouted 'alligator', dropped her bag and high-tailed it off down the path...this was the first of wildlife encounters that included herons, blue kingfishers, squirrels, giant snails and sleepy cats. The delight of the location is that the environment is teeming with life but because you are living in a platform structure above it all you feel like an observer rather than a potential meal. I was slightly worried about insects but actually the place isn't overrun with midges or mozzies when the sun goes down and I had no bites after a three day stay.

The rooms themselves are excellent examples of contemporary design. The best feature are the showers which are outside yet enclosed and the nests themselves where you sleep. You can even go and kip on the roof if you really want to...so the basic nest features a roof space, a balcony space outside your bedroom and if you raise the blinds on your shower area a third outdoor space as well as the actual bedroom nest itself and the downstairs 'living space'. The nest has a computer, no telly (nice touch) some storage space and a lockable space for your valuables.

The staff are laid-back and helpful and the cooking is pretty good. There is a very funky outdoor bar and eating area which is a lovely space to unwind with a beer after the madness of central Bangers. Here's a tip, when you are returning to the hotel take a couple of the paper slips from the reception desk that has the name of the local pier in Thai. The taxi drivers don't know the hotel as they are driving cars rather than boats so you need the name of the pier rather than the hotel. Instead of the ferry try The Rocket Boat as a method of crossing the river.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ywaDkcqdB9g

One of the real strengths of this place is the guy who owns it. He is an american called Joey and he's usually around and about in the morning and if you don't know Bangkok ask him for a few ideas about what to see and do. He is, as we say in England, a good egg.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benedict D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Where do i begin? We stayed in the Bangkok Tree House for 5 nights over New Year 2012/13 and really didn't want to leave. We were made very welcome straight away with a lovely gift in our room and complementary fresh coconut juice. The room ('nest') was very clean, well thought out in terms of arrangement and with the best shower ever! We had loads of room and slept very well every night. There is aslo complementary ice cream and water. We ate evening meals there twice and the food was delicious - the breakfast is also lovely, especially sitting outside in the warm morning breeze. We would recommend trying different things every day from the menu (depending on how long you stay). Although Phra Pradaeng is essentialy an 'island' surrounded by the Chaopraya, it is really easy to get to from Bang Na sky train station using taxis and the ferry (or amazing shuttle boats if you are coming back after 9pm). Its situation away from the city was actually a big plus for us as it meant we could really go for it in the city (sightseeing, shopping etc.) knowing we could totally relax when we got back. There is some noise from the river but in a place where there is no road traffic means that this is still a really peaceful place. We went for quiet walks most evenings along the raised walkways and also on a bike tour of the island - highly recommended: we got to see some hidden gems, including a briliant coffee house. Paul, the guide, really knew his stuff and was very entertaining. The staff at the Tree House are absolutely fantastic, especially the owner Joey - he really made our stay special and we are very grateful for the sightseeing, eating and shopping tips he gave us. Overall, a fab stay in a lovely place...we would definately be going back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjrowlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phra Pradaeng
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#152 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 851 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Banglamphu
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangkok Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok Tree House

Property: Bangkok Tree House
Address: 60 Moo 1, Petch Cha Hueng Road, Phra Pradaeng 10260, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Samut Prakan Province > Phra Pradaeng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Phra Pradaeng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bangkok Tree House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's enough to make any urban dweller green with envy: A place where you can breath clean air, explore a lush landscape, and sleep under the stars just a 30-minute ride outside the teeming, traffic-choked city center -- by public transportation, no less -- without giving up all the comforts of home. Guests at the new Bangkok Tree House can whisk themselves away from the Thai capital and its 12 million people by hopping on a recently completed extension of the city's elevated-rail network, the BTS Skytrain, to the Bangna station and then continuing on by foot, bicycle, or boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bangkok Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangkok Tree House Phra Pradaeng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing