We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$93
View deal
Booking.com
$68
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/03/22
Vio.com
$56
View deal
Travelocity
Agoda.com$57
eDreams$68
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveler rating
74
63
25
20
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
74
63
25
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spaghetti pad thai riding bikes ferry bangkok nature design breeze flavor cafes blend wat nok forest deck
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 195 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have just spent 3 nights at Bangkok Tree House - and what a wonderful experience ! It is quiet (except for the annoying motor boats crossing the river) and away from the crowds of Bangkok city. i took walks around the hotel along the link ways across the mangrove forest, visited the weekend floating market, spent the waking hours in the morning on the roof top lounge bed, had a herbal massage not far from the hotel, and just relaxed ! The breakfast was good - you order what you want the night before - especially the fruit platter. Dinner dishes were very good, especially the Thai ones. I had dinners all 3 evenings in the hotel instead of taking the ferry across to have dinner on the other side of the river. But the hotel is not for everyone. It's eco-friendly design may not be everyone's taste. You have to get used to the shower, the toilet and the stairs to the bedroom :) If you are looking for a peaceful retreat and to breathing some fresh air, then this is the place for a few days.

There is a special "Stay 3 Pay 2" offer till end of October. Grab it !

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TanHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We still can't get over the wonderful stay we had at the Bangkok Tree House. Beautiful hotel, good food, service always with a smile. What else can you ask for? We didn't want to leave! We will definitely go back!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MamaSqueak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This intriguing new eco-lodge is located on the little-known island of Phra Pradaeng in the heart of Bangkok, Thailand. Across the Chao Phraya River skyscrapers lined the banks, but the view from my “nest” – the delightful name for the elevated glass cubicles that serve as rooms at Bangkok Tree House – was of dense mangrove forest and canals where turtles sunned on the banks. Bangkok was right across the river, but the city felt a world away.

The rooms are luxurious, with firm but not too firm king size beds and upscale linens, and each room has a different, quirky design. Mine, for instance, had a glass floor in the bathroom that looked down to the mangrove swamp (sometimes the ground was high and dry, other times awash with water as the river level changed with the daily tides), and was decorated with beehives crafted from the local bamboo.

Their restaurant offered delicious fare on an open deck overlooking the river, and the island offered so much to do that I wished I had another three days to spend here. If you like nature and are eco-conscious, Bangkok Tree House place will delight you. It takes a bit of effort to get there (Sky Train, taxi, and ferry boat), but it's definitely worth the effort. I reviewed it as a travel writer and you can read more here: http://holeinthedonut.com/2012/07/28/bangkok-tree-house-thailand/

Room tip: If you really want an off-the-wall experience, try their bed that perched high in the air on an outdoor, unenclosed deck, and sleep under the stars.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

What a fantastic night away. This place really is an oasis in the city and one I'd like to keep to myself, so I can keep going back!

On an island commonly referred to as the "lungs of Bangkok" you are surrounded by trees and local homes. The eco concept fits right in with the environment and surroundings. Think you're roughing it? Think again. This is a very clean and well maintained property with exceptional food that could be served in any 5 star hotel.

We spent the night in the "view with a room" and thankfully it didn't rain, but they have a contingency plan which I hadn't really thought of until we got there.

The next day we used the small bikes and peddaled around parts of the island that we hadn't seen before. Of course a stop was made at the market for some snacks before returning to the "jungle" of the city.

I would suggest that this is not a place for children.

Will I go back? You bet!

Room tip: View with a room was a very novel way to spend the night, however I would only spend 1 night up there and then move to another room for a longer stay
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kejey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Just when you thought Bangkok's hotel accommodation couldn't get any more varied and unique up pops another young Thai with a new idea - and the determination to turn it into an amazing reality.

It's very hard to accurately describe the Bangok Tree House and even harder to explain how well it's many contrary facets 'work', but they absolutely do. So often you find the higher you go up the 'luxury' ladder the further removed you become from the reality of life in the country or city you're in. The Bangkok Tree House manages to blur these lines in a very successful way.

It's nestled in some trees on stilts above the Chao Phraya River. The river here isn't a vision of loveliness but the tree cover almost obscures the city on the other side and I enjoyed watching the ships, in the words of Otis Reading, 'coming in and going back out again'! Within the context of it's location - just minutes of down town Bangkok - this is a seriously quiet, pretty corner.

If you've never visited this area of Bangkok you'll be amazed. There are almost no roads, instead houses and life are connected via a labyrinth of raised walkways through coconut groves and jungle - raised because this is a flood plain and there is very little firm ground here. If there is an area like this so close to any other major city in the world I'd be very surprised.

The hotel has bikes which it will lend you for free and you can ride around all day discovering this amazing neighbourhood. On weekends there is a large market which is great for food and bits and pieces. It's really lively, cooler and much, much nicer than Chatuchak. In future I think we'll suggest visiting friends should check out this market instead of Chatuchak as combined with the walkways it's a much more enjoyable day out.

The rooms at the Bangkok tree house are pretty amazing. The standard rooms have a huge outdoor solar heated shower, comfy clean bed, aircon, computer and free wifi (which works OK but not great) and private roof terrace. The building is unique and the way they maintain it is really cool. The whole place is designed to fit in with the nature around it and so leaves aren't all cleared away and the place hasn't been made completely sterile. It's a high level of comfort found in balance with it's surroundings, not trying to eradicate its natural neighbourhood.

Everything to do with this place tries to be in balance with the natural and human world around it. The manager Joey explained that he didn't build it until he had the local neighbourhood onside and wherever possible he puts money back into the local economy. Money from every booking also goes to clean up the drift-rubbish that the river inevitably brings down with it. This really is an attempt to make luxury accommodation work with it's surroundings, and you do get a feeling of that staying there. You're part of a real, living area of Bangkok and yet you're in a beautiful hotel, you're on the side of a major shipping lane and yet you're relaxing on a roof terrace with a sparkling wine. It's contrary but it works.

The food changes with the seasons but always caters for vegan/veggie, with the rest of the menu when we went made up of fish and seafood. The three course menu is a total bargain at 500bt each.

A trip to the Tree house involves a bit of an adventure, especially if you're a tourist who doesn't live here. But don't let that put you off - the trip across the river either on the ferry or long tail rocket boat is all good fun and you'll get there even if you don't speak any Thai.

I would say the best thing about The Bangkok Tree house is how easy it is for people who live in Bangkok to get away for the weekend. BTS Bangna, short taxi then river crossing and you're there - less than a hour from lower Sukhumvit.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank northrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews