We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$99
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
FindHotel
$50
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/07/21
eDreams$84
Trip.com$69
ZenHotels.com$59
View all 13 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
73
63
25
20
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
73
63
25
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree house green lung bang krachao chao phraya river boat ride short taxi taking photos peaceful place fruit juice city bangkok bicycles bamboo boats paths escape birds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 194 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This intriguing new eco-lodge is located on the little-known island of Phra Pradaeng in the heart of Bangkok, Thailand. Across the Chao Phraya River skyscrapers lined the banks, but the view from my “nest” – the delightful name for the elevated glass cubicles that serve as rooms at Bangkok Tree House – was of dense mangrove forest and canals where turtles sunned on the banks. Bangkok was right across the river, but the city felt a world away.

The rooms are luxurious, with firm but not too firm king size beds and upscale linens, and each room has a different, quirky design. Mine, for instance, had a glass floor in the bathroom that looked down to the mangrove swamp (sometimes the ground was high and dry, other times awash with water as the river level changed with the daily tides), and was decorated with beehives crafted from the local bamboo.

Their restaurant offered delicious fare on an open deck overlooking the river, and the island offered so much to do that I wished I had another three days to spend here. If you like nature and are eco-conscious, Bangkok Tree House place will delight you. It takes a bit of effort to get there (Sky Train, taxi, and ferry boat), but it's definitely worth the effort. I reviewed it as a travel writer and you can read more here: http://holeinthedonut.com/2012/07/28/bangkok-tree-house-thailand/

Room tip: If you really want an off-the-wall experience, try their bed that perched high in the air on an outdoor, unenclosed deck, and sleep under the stars.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

What a fantastic night away. This place really is an oasis in the city and one I'd like to keep to myself, so I can keep going back!

On an island commonly referred to as the "lungs of Bangkok" you are surrounded by trees and local homes. The eco concept fits right in with the environment and surroundings. Think you're roughing it? Think again. This is a very clean and well maintained property with exceptional food that could be served in any 5 star hotel.

We spent the night in the "view with a room" and thankfully it didn't rain, but they have a contingency plan which I hadn't really thought of until we got there.

The next day we used the small bikes and peddaled around parts of the island that we hadn't seen before. Of course a stop was made at the market for some snacks before returning to the "jungle" of the city.

I would suggest that this is not a place for children.

Will I go back? You bet!

Room tip: View with a room was a very novel way to spend the night, however I would only spend 1 night up there and then move to another room for a longer stay
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kejey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Just when you thought Bangkok's hotel accommodation couldn't get any more varied and unique up pops another young Thai with a new idea - and the determination to turn it into an amazing reality.

It's very hard to accurately describe the Bangok Tree House and even harder to explain how well it's many contrary facets 'work', but they absolutely do. So often you find the higher you go up the 'luxury' ladder the further removed you become from the reality of life in the country or city you're in. The Bangkok Tree House manages to blur these lines in a very successful way.

It's nestled in some trees on stilts above the Chao Phraya River. The river here isn't a vision of loveliness but the tree cover almost obscures the city on the other side and I enjoyed watching the ships, in the words of Otis Reading, 'coming in and going back out again'! Within the context of it's location - just minutes of down town Bangkok - this is a seriously quiet, pretty corner.

If you've never visited this area of Bangkok you'll be amazed. There are almost no roads, instead houses and life are connected via a labyrinth of raised walkways through coconut groves and jungle - raised because this is a flood plain and there is very little firm ground here. If there is an area like this so close to any other major city in the world I'd be very surprised.

The hotel has bikes which it will lend you for free and you can ride around all day discovering this amazing neighbourhood. On weekends there is a large market which is great for food and bits and pieces. It's really lively, cooler and much, much nicer than Chatuchak. In future I think we'll suggest visiting friends should check out this market instead of Chatuchak as combined with the walkways it's a much more enjoyable day out.

The rooms at the Bangkok tree house are pretty amazing. The standard rooms have a huge outdoor solar heated shower, comfy clean bed, aircon, computer and free wifi (which works OK but not great) and private roof terrace. The building is unique and the way they maintain it is really cool. The whole place is designed to fit in with the nature around it and so leaves aren't all cleared away and the place hasn't been made completely sterile. It's a high level of comfort found in balance with it's surroundings, not trying to eradicate its natural neighbourhood.

Everything to do with this place tries to be in balance with the natural and human world around it. The manager Joey explained that he didn't build it until he had the local neighbourhood onside and wherever possible he puts money back into the local economy. Money from every booking also goes to clean up the drift-rubbish that the river inevitably brings down with it. This really is an attempt to make luxury accommodation work with it's surroundings, and you do get a feeling of that staying there. You're part of a real, living area of Bangkok and yet you're in a beautiful hotel, you're on the side of a major shipping lane and yet you're relaxing on a roof terrace with a sparkling wine. It's contrary but it works.

The food changes with the seasons but always caters for vegan/veggie, with the rest of the menu when we went made up of fish and seafood. The three course menu is a total bargain at 500bt each.

A trip to the Tree house involves a bit of an adventure, especially if you're a tourist who doesn't live here. But don't let that put you off - the trip across the river either on the ferry or long tail rocket boat is all good fun and you'll get there even if you don't speak any Thai.

I would say the best thing about The Bangkok Tree house is how easy it is for people who live in Bangkok to get away for the weekend. BTS Bangna, short taxi then river crossing and you're there - less than a hour from lower Sukhumvit.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank northrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This establishment is outstanding and unique and shouldn't be missed on any itinerary to Bangkok. The rooms are small but very comfortable with air con, extremely clean and great views of the rainforest jungle in the "lungs of Bangkok". The rooftop lounge is exquisitely peaceful and romantic - as you watch the stars and see the lights in the distance of life on the Chao Phraya River. The outside double-shower is a great place to wash off the sweat of an Asian jungle while listening to the wildlife whistle at you.
Free internet and computer are a bonus, as are the huge range of in-house movies to watch on the computer.
The quality of food in the restaurant is first class in presentation and taste - it is worth going for the restaurant alone, as you dine right on the Chao Phraya River. The "lungs of Bangkok" surround this place and provide hours and hours of walking and riding entertainment. The staff are so friendly they will even take you on a tour of the area as you ride or walk on walkways above real tropical jungle.
The staff in this place are the friendliest and most polite I have ever seen! They are all locals who live nearby in the "lungs of Bangkok".
We have lived in Bangkok for 5 years and never knew this place existed. Please don't miss it if you are visiting our large overcrowded city - it is haven that is unbeatable.

Room tip: If you can't handle stairs then maybe this is not the place for you - see the photo showing the steepness of the stairs. But still we're middle-aged and it was no problem for us.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PhilMalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Very nice place. You get three floors, down is bathroom, up is bedroom, and on the roof is a sunbed. Don't go up in the sun tho, you will fry, but the breeze at night is super nice.

There are Big windows (with shades you can pull) and a computer with movies for the hot hours of the day.

You can get to the bts line in about 20 mins, but the local area has a lot narrow concrete trail built on pillars over the jungle floor, ideal for riding a bicycle. Which you can lend for free.

Only caveats is the missing door on the toilet and the price of lunch.

Enjoy something different!

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeacherBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews