We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, family place”
Review of Hotel Rain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rain
Ranked #3 of 5 Kizkalesi B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly, family place”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Very warm and friendly, family run place, close to the beach. The owners seem to have Kizkalesi covered with their cafe Rain and reserved beach area at the end of the street. I really appreciated their assistance helping me make day trips in the area and find onward accomodation.

Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Dav66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los angeles
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Clean, bright and cheery room. Very helpful and friendly staff. Excellent breakfasts (and dinners in the associated Rain Cafe).

Special thanks to Mehmet, who went out of his way to make us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbLosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This place was located close to the beach and had reserved chairs/umbrellas, but that can be said for most of the hotels in Kizkalesi. We rented a "family suite," which was not a suite. I imagine a "family suite" to have at least a sitting area separate from the bedroom if not another bedroom. This was simply three beds crammed into one. The A/C worked, but it took time to get going. All of this was actually adequate, but the price we paid was not equal to the facilities. The shampoo in the bathrooms looked as if they had been refilled a few times. There were no top sheets on the beds, oddly enough. Wireless internet was available, but spotty. For not much more, we probably could have gone down to one of the nicer hotels with a half pension.

That being said, there was a certain charm to this family-run place. The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful, and the breakfast (while typical) included made-to-order eggs and french toast. The entryway to the hotel is attractive with a wooden pergola and vine-covered walls. The nearby Cafe Rain is run by the same family it seems and had good food and atmosphere. I don't think I would stay here again, but if there is nowhere else in town, it will suit your needs.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLGabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful with assisting us with our onward travel.

The hotel itself is located on a quiet street, 80m from a lovely sandy beach. It is a very clean hotel, with large rooms and comfortable beds. The maid service is daily, so you always have nice fresh towels. There was a small french balcony overlooking the street, and an outside terrace area where breakfast was served. Breakfast is from 8am, and was a plated Turkish breakfast, tea or coffee and then melon and strawberries afterwards.

Sunloungers and umbrellas are free on the beach if you are staying at the hotel. The beach was lovely, with only a few people and brilliant views of the castle out to sea.

This is an up and coming tourist area, with very reasonably priced cafes and restaurants, one in particular we found to be excellent, which was the Cafe Rain, which is just around the corner from the hotel. The food there was fantastic and very reasonably priced, I would highly recommend the pepper steak and chicken rain special.

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel and would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellycyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Really nice, helpful staff. The room was big and clean, with a nice balcony with sea view. The hotel is 100 mt. from kizkalesi beach. The city is so nice and has a relaxed atmosphere, a hidden gem compared to the caotic Marmaris or the turistic Bodrum.
Perfect place to spend some days with the family.Go to the fishers village of Narlikuyu for a good seafood restaurants!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FedeSiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kizkalesi
0.0 mi away
Kilikya Hotel
Kilikya Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kizkalesi
51 reviews
20.7 mi away
Eylul Hotel
Eylul Hotel
#4 of 7 in Erdemli
11 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Lamos
Hotel Lamos
#6 of 7 in Erdemli
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Golden King
Hotel Golden King
#28 of 41 in Mersin
15 reviews
8.7 mi away
Paperon Hotel
Paperon Hotel
#1 of 10 in Erdemli
7 reviews
5.5 mi away
Royal Sebaste Hotel
Royal Sebaste Hotel
#1 of 6 in Erdemli
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rain

Property: Hotel Rain
Address: Akdeniz Mah. Ahmet Erol Cad. Kizkalesi, Kizkalesi 33790, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Hatay Province > Kizkalesi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kizkalesi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing