We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in an appalling location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leicester Marriott Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Enderby
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The location of this hotel is one of the most bizarre I have experienced - it's quite literally nestled between an area of wasteland and am industrial estate - deeply unattractive.

Check in was very ordinary. The room was okay but clean. The lack of herbal teas and mineral water was a shame. The food at dinner, breakfast and lunch was deeply, deeply disappointing.

This is an okay place for an overnight stay on business, but that's it. The staff are unremarkable and dull - some struggle to speak English.

I'd struggle to recommend this hotel but I gather its the 'best of a bad bunch' in Leicester.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francophileonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

794 - 800 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel was used for the National Polio Games 22-24th March 13. Excellent facilities, staff & food.
Clearly one of the best for the price.
Waiting for the lift was a bit of a pain but with many disabled people using the hotel it coped very well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My daughter in law had her 50th birthday party here and it was a lovely weekend, good recreational equipment, reasonable bar service. Very good meal and overnight accommodation. Being of a certain age our room rate was good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rustynail7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

An excellent hotel with great atmosphere and staff. Greated by polite reception staff on all occasions and the porter was extremely pleasant and willing to assist. The food from the bar was good (we had nachos which was excellent) and the buffet style breakfast offered something for everyone. The rooms are well appointed and provide good quality toiletries and good size bath and shower and a very large bed. The television is small but not tiny and does offer a range of channels. Great service throughout the stay.

Room Tip: Look for a room overlooking the Atrium - great if you are a people watcher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPUDSCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed overnight at this hotel after dining in the restaurant at a family 50th birthday party. The rooms are a decent size and very clean. There was a good breakfast buffet with excellent choice of food and the staff at breakfast were all very helpful. The only down side was the price of the drinks which I found to be excessive.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is very much a commercial hotel....for business people in transit I felt but I was there recently for a "do" and stayed 2 nights.
The most impressive comment one can make about the hotel is the quality of thier staff!
From check-in to house-keeping to restaurant staff ALL were so helpful, smiling and efficient!
Well done Marriot Leicester management!
The only negative comment I make is the cost versus value of the lunchtime food! I ordered a Ploughman's at £12.50 and it arrived....looking great BUT the reality was that it consisted of three small pieces of "toast" and three small pieces of cheese! It WAS nicely presented and dressed up BUT the amount of food for the cost was VERY silly! Come on Marriot!
My partner ordered a beef sandwich which was, again, nicely presented....twice the size of my lunch and half the price! Lesson?....avoid the Ploughman's!
We dined in the restaurant the first evening. It was relatively costly at just over £90 for 2 people having 2 courses in an Hotel restaurant....but the food was good! We started with Thai style pancakes and they WERE good! Again, the staff were excellent!
By the way, we ordered room service breakfast and that was....on time both mornings and REALLY full....enormous in fact! A GREAT start to the day!

Room Tip: Rooms are good and well appointed. There ARE no views etc...so, cannot add anything useful here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HERMOSAMARIPOSA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I've stayed in a few Marriotts primarily in the US, so had a rough set of standards in my mind as I have always had a good experience. Getting to it wasnt straight forward as signposting wasnt good and I missed my turning and thiis hotel is on an estate. it is fairly and squarely designed for the business traveller and conference set as it is just off the M1/M69.

Reception went smoothly and as I was attending a conference my bags were taken up to my room for me to arrive. A good sized room with the usual facilities and two comfortable chairs to sit in. Leisure facilities etc. Catering for conference was good and the breakfast had a good range covering European and English tastes. The dinner we had was good but nothing special . As with all Marriotts the bed is big and is comfortable and I had no problem sleeping which when you are away from home a comfortable bed is a godsend. Good pillows and the bathroom had the usual range and a a good bath and shower facilities.

OK now for my bug bear. In the US Marriotts have unlimited wifi. Here you are restricted to 1 hour in a public area. In a conference you want to have access to wifi and certainly in your bedroom. I did query this with the reception who stated that the restrictions were part of the current contract with Ibahn.

Come on hotels get out of the dark ages this is part of the plumbing that a business facing hotel should have as part of the price. To be realistic someone is probably only going to use wifi in their room for a max of 2 hours and you can throttle it back if someone is downloading a movie. Please be consistent Marriott in terms of global. The US hotels do it why can't we.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enderby
0.3 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
1,620 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
940 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#9 of 41 in Leicester
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
3.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
1 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester (Braunstone) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leicester Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leicester Marriott Hotel

Address: Smith Way | Grove Park, Enderby, Leicester LE19 1SW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester > Enderby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Enderby
Price Range: $99 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leicester Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the M1, the Leicester Marriott Hotel is near locations like National Space Center, Twycross Zoo, Leicester Tigers Rugby and Leicester City Football Club. Our contemporary hotel features a decadent restaurant, relaxing lounge, state-of-the-art fitness center and serene swimming pool. Plan your next getaway at our Leicester hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Leicester Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Leicester Hotel Enderby
Leicester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing