We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Leicester Marriott Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Enderby
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed here for one night with work. I stayed in a standard room and had room service. My food was very nice and it was delivered by a very diligent man who was friendly and keen to help. The service in the hotel was great. The room was nice, what you would expect. For the location and the choice of other hotels in the vicinity I thought the hotel was expensive. I'm due back in Leicester in a couple of weeks but think I will stay in a better priced hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, or upgrade for the price! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

786 - 792 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

First time I have used Marriott, previously stayed at Hilton and I was impressed with it. Excellent staff, very helpful and very patient. Room was gorgeous and the pillow, what can I say about the pillow. It was literally the best I ever had and this gave me the most wonderful sleep! Food was excellent, price reasonable for its quality, however drinks were high as per usual. Will consider staying at Marriott instead of Hilton.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 8 times between August and Christmas as a close family member living nearby was seriously ill. The hotel was an excellent base. Clean, excellent service, all our preferences met. Nice pool area enjoyed by our kids. Staff very friendly making a rice pudding for my daughter when the buffet ran out and accommodating my excessive coffee requirements at breakfast with a smile. Restaurant staff very helpful, receptionists resolved problems with the bill quickly and without being asked. A few hiccups when a room service order was forgotten and we were kept awake by a charity ball but these were quickly and professionally resolved - free ice cream for the kids/ a quick room change. Good value. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtqp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Last year I reviewed this hotel and gave it 5 stars. The food is still good, as are the facilities, but Marriott's decision to go with iBahn for wireless internet is a disaster. In the guest rooms, the wireless struggled to get over 1Mb/s so it is just wrong to describe this as "High speed internet" (if Marriott know how bad it is, they are dishonest; if they don't, they're incompetent). As a gold Marriott Rewards member, I am meant to get free internet access, but even after an hour of trying, couldn't get my iPhone to log on (managed to get on with my iPad after 20 minutes). It's time the premier hotel brands realized that however much money they are making out of charging people for internet, they are losing more goodwill. I have stayed here four times within the last year, but this will probably be my last.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DylanWadol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I spent one night during a business meeting and found the stay very comfortable in this modern, clean hotel. I thought the food was decent, the staff were attentive and friendly and the room was really excellent, with two king beds with comfy pillows and duvet. I would defiantly stay here again for business.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravellerTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I've stayed here a few times on business and I must say for a business stay a really good hotel. Granted not the most exciting or funky places to stay but then again that's not what you'd been looking for here is it.

The rooms are good and very well presented. The restaurant is good. The staff are very good. all in all it does "exactly what it says on the tin" and a little bit more. Never did quite understand why they had two bars in the place and then closed the one that was self-contained leaving only the lobby bar open, which can get a little crowded.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DTFWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Good, sound hotel, especially if you are on business - and it is full of business people.
Check in can be slow but staff friendly and helpful. Dining okay but food nothing special - both dinner and breakfast - again staff friendly and helpful.
The swimming pool is good and gym facilities functional.
Very good but not "special".

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madmagic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enderby
0.3 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
1,590 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
923 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#9 of 41 in Leicester
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
3.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leicester Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leicester Marriott Hotel

Address: Smith Way | Grove Park, Enderby, Leicester LE19 1SW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester > Enderby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Enderby
Price Range: $93 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leicester Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the M1, the Leicester Marriott Hotel is near locations like National Space Center, Twycross Zoo, Leicester Tigers Rugby and Leicester City Football Club. Our contemporary hotel features a decadent restaurant, relaxing lounge, state-of-the-art fitness center and serene swimming pool. Plan your next getaway at our Leicester hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leicester Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Leicester Hotel Enderby
Leicester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing