We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Right Place for a Selected Few”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau La Thuiliere
Certificate of Excellence
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Right Place for a Selected Few”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Even confirming your reservations by email and phone conversations won't guarantee that you'll have a room reserved. That is, if you can actually find the chateau since the sign for the turn off was encrusted with dirt and virtually unreadable. Months before my husband and I had emailed Chateau La Thuiliere to reserve a room for two nights. This was followed up later with a conversation by phone when we were assured that a room would be waiting for us. Imagine our surprise when we were told that there was no room for us even though they had just confirmed our reservation by phone an hour before! We can't tell you how disappointed we were since the chateau and surrounding grounds were beautiful from the outside and the guests (strangely all beautiful young men) seemed to be enjoying their stay. Luckily for us, our hotel in St. Emilion happened to have a room available and we spent the next two days enjoying our stay there. Imagine our dilemma if they had been totally booked up!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lathuiliere, Propriétaire at Chateau La Thuiliere, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Christina,

We thank you for your comment and we are very sorry about the confusion that lead to your situation.
Our booking policy is that all reservations are confirmed after one night deposit payment. This was not your case so we did not send you any final booking confirmation by email though we exchange some emails.
One hour before you arrival we received a phone call from somebody from St Emilion demanding on your behalf directions to arrive to our place. As we had two pending check-ins for that day we thought the call was related to any of the pending check-in.
Once you came in to the hotel, we offered you two alternatives hotels of similar categories to stay in at the surroundings but you preferred us to contact your last hotel in St Emilion and arrange a booking for you, so we did it successfully. Also we offered something to drink and stay some time in our place if you would like in order to rest a little bit, but you preferred to depart.
Again, we are very sorry for the situation and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your days in France. We would be happy to welcome at our place in the future. Please feel free to contact directly to us if traveling again to Dordogne.
Kind Regards,
Jordi Bernal, Eduard Diaz & La Thuiliere's team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    24
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
188
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tours, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

The only problem with coming here is you just won't want to go anywhere else! Just returned from our second stay - a perfect reflection of our first visit. Jordi and Edouard are the perfect hosts and really make us feel at home in their home. The food as always is fantastic and a true culinary experience. It was wonderful to be able to bring our dog to share our break and she loved making friends with their dog Patch. So relaxing and we will definitely be back for a 3rd visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 39Nicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lathuiliere, Propriétaire at Chateau La Thuiliere, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Nikki,

Thank you for your kind words! We have love to have you back home and we hope to see you again in the future.

All our best regards to John-Paul and Phoebe!

Eduard, Jordi & Patch, and La Thuilière's team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed here over New Years Eve and it was the absolute perfect destination. Eduard and Jordi are the most perfect hosts. Absolutely every little detail was thought of and executed with perfection. The food was simply amazing - just as good (if not better) than any Michelin-starred restaurant we have been to. We have never felt so relaxed and completely at home as we did in the Chateau. We highly recommend and cannot wait to go back soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I found the chateau while looking for a dog friendly hotel for our drive back to the UK with our french bulldog...

Edu & Jordi are the most perfect hosts where all 3 of us were made so welcome in their beautiful hotel.
Sadly we only stayed over night but in the brief time there we enjoyed the company of our charming hosts.
Dinner was relaxed and of the highest quality and breakfast, which was served in the fascinating old kitchen of the chateau, was exceptional.
Highly recommended
Nigel & Alison

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nigel345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I were traveling through Europe and spent 2 wonderful nights at La Thuiliere. We could not have been happier with the accommodations, food, and the host. Eduard made it a special experience. It is a very easy trip to St. Emilion and we will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Jordi is the perfect hotelier. He is the only person in this 3 1/2 week trip to France who actually listened to our requests and accomodated us. The chateau itself-more of a Belle Epoque manor- was a lovely combination of modern design which complemented the original style. A fire in the library on a rainy day was perfect. Jordi was present yet not intrusive. Perfect. The food was delightful. The breakfast casual in the kitchen downstairs. And Jordi did not charge a ridiculous amount for the continental breakfasts as all too many hotels do. A wonderful stay in the beautiful Dordogne countyside.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sftcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were very much looking forward to our four day stay at La Thuiliere, especially after the many extremely positive reviews. You can add us to the list of positive reviews! Our stay was excellent. The decor, rooms, and cuisine were beyond our expectations. Our intention was to use the chateau as a base to explore the Dordogne and Bordeaux regions. Although we had mapped out in advance places to visit, our friendly hosts, Jordi and Eduard, who are extremely knowledgable about Dordogne and Bordeaux (which the chateau is very close to), made additional suggestions that were very helpful.
After our first night's delicious dinner at the chateau we had no thought of going elsewhere for the next three nights. The setting and the the food were excellent.
Do not be put off at eating at a common table with a group of strangers. Each night turned out to be delightful. Every night we had engaging conservations with couples from Spain, England and the U.S.
Not enough can be said about Jordi's excellent talents as a chef. He prepares a variety of tasty local dishes, being also inspired by the foods of his native Barcelona. His description of the meal made us think that he needed his own TV cooking show.
Each night we were served a perfectly balanced five course meal, beautifully presented. We left the table feeling very content. There were good recommendations for local wines from Bergerac and nearby St. Emilion, which complemented the meals. Every night's meal was different from any other, so we got a chance to experience a variety of local foods. Jordi's lively and amusing discourse on the cheese course is not to be missed. Other reviewers have discussed the excellent buffet breakfast, so we won't say anything except that we wholeheartedly agree with them.
The lighting inside the Chateau at night is magical. We can appreciate the complexity of illuminating large rooms with high ceilings, but whoever did it deserves applause.
Our room was on the second floor in the front, very large, nicely decorated, and with two huge windows facing an expansive front lawn. The king size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was large and modern with two sinks and a good size shower. A Nespresso coffee maker was in the room.
With the chateau as a base, there is much to explore in the area, and we certainly intend to return for a longer stay in the near future. Sent from my iPad

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Front-de-Pradoux
21.1 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
19.8 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
25.0 mi away
La Metairie
La Metairie
#1 of 1 in Mauzac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Chateau De La Cote
Chateau De La Cote
#1 of 1 in Bourdeilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#4 of 13 in Bergerac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
18.6 mi away
Chateau des Vigiers
Chateau des Vigiers
#1 of 1 in Monestier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau La Thuiliere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau La Thuiliere

Property: Chateau La Thuiliere
Address: Lieu Dit la Thuiliere | Route St Martin 38, 24400 Saint-Front-de-Pradoux, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Saint-Front-de-Pradoux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Saint-Front-de-Pradoux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau La Thuiliere 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sumptuous rooms, lavish fabrics, rolling parkland and gourmet dinners followed by billiards...A stunning, romantic Dordogne getaway ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Chateau La Thuiliere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau La Thuiliere Hotel Saint-Front-De-Pradoux
Chateau La Thuiliere Dordogne, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing