We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pictures don't do it justice”
other travelers have booked this property
Villa Atas with view over Selong Belanak beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Atas with view over Selong Belanak beach
Outdoor dining at its finest Selong Belanak beach - clean, uncrowded and just beautiful
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Villa Atas with view over Selong Belanak beach
Outdoor dining at its finest
Selong Belanak beach - clean, uncrowded and just beautiful
Main bedroom
Selong Belanak beach
Selong Belanak from the air
Open living/dining/kitchen
Relaxation at its finest
Fishing from our boat
Sunsets that need to be seen to be believed
Traditional style design
Serangan reef- just across the bay
Our boat
Local village life
Famous Mawi lefts - just around the corner
Friendly locals and adorable kids
Selong Belanak beach
Colorful local culture
Main house bathroom
Our infinity pool with a view
Guest House taken from the Main House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Selong Belanak, Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Littlebit...
Cashmere, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Pictures don't do it justice”
Reviewed November 26, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Villa Atas is gorgeous. We didn't want to leave. The view is breathtaking. The beach is beautiful. The staff at the house exceptional and very trustworthy. We just adored them all. The 10 minute hike uphill from beach to the house is steep but very pleasant. The restaurant at the beach has delicious food and extremely clean. Great giftshop at the spa, which was wonderful in itself. Go! You won't regret it! We only stayed for 3 nights. Stay longer!!! (Beds very comfy too) And the pool!!! Fantastic!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Breathtaking view”
Reviewed October 22, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A big thank you to Michael the owner for letting us stay in his beautiful villa above Selong Belanak Beach. The view is breathtaking at any time of the day, the sunsets beautiful and the fishing boats in the bay sparkle at night!
We were 4 adults and 2 teenage boys. There is the main villa with AC, with one bedroom and large onsuite bathroom, generous size living room with seperate toilet and with an open modern kitchen. Then there is another smaller villa with AC, with a bedroom and onsuite bathroom and kitchenette and on a mezzanine level there are two single beds. Both villas are connected with a beautiful infinity pool, a cabana and a large outdoor table. The two buildings gave us all privacy needed.
The staff was wonderful, they served us daily breakfast and we could decide in the morning if we wished to have dinner there. There was not much need to go somewhere else in the evening as our view was so magic. Thank you Ika, Erna, Anom, Onim and Juliana for looking after us and cooking the yummy meals. Thank you for organising bikes, a boat and sending us Zen and Mana with cars when we needed to go somewhere. And Erna... Steve is still heartbroken !!! :-)

We all were for the first time in Lombok and you all made our stay unforgettable including the visiting monkeys. We wish we had more time there but we are planning already to come again next year. Terima kasih banyak!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2017
Thank you Susanna for your kind words and we welcome you back anytime. Lombok and our staff learn a lot from good people like you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevieG27...
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Epic villa which really aught to be called "The View".”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I stayed at Atlas Villa July 2017 with my wife and 2 children (boy 14 girl 17) July 2017. I have travelled the world (accommodation £0.50 per night in India to £1,500 per night in Fiji) but I don't think I've stayed anywhere with a view this good. Turtle Island in Fiji is love/y- but its 10x the price.The only place we've stayed at which comes close are the over-water bungalows at the Aman Resort on Bora Bora - but they are also 10x the price and they are a lot more difficult to reach.

First off Michael the owner (very responsive via email which is great) has done a first class job designing the place - local materials used throughout, with accommodation split into 2 sections either side of the lovely pool - master bed / bath and huge living and kitchen area on one side and double bed / bath with mezzanine twin on the other - both delightful wit views to die for. At night the 100+ fishing boats are lit up like stars - the view is like something out of Hollywood CGI.

We arrived at 2pm after a 45 min drive from the airport (free transfer provided by Michael - delightful chap holding up sign at Arrivals. W were greeted by the villa staff and a very welcome cold towel and drink. Lovely staff - as per our experience across Indonesia (now and 25 years ago) and indeed across South Asia in general.

Dinner (cooked by the staff and absolutely fab) was booked for 6pm - but the kids were hungry by 3pm so the staff organised snacks for them. Nothing was too much trouble. Grey monkeys tried to disrupt our dinner but by then we had been 'adopted' by a local dog which I had stroked on the beach; enough attention to make him think I was a good bet for free food at the villa (which I was). Hence dog shooing off any 'intruders' and sleeping on the mat outside our room all night -
which I must confess (having grown up with dogs in the house) had a nice feel to it.

The excellent (possibly best in Lombok?) beach, which is a downhill 7-min walk away, is like Koh Samui 20 years ago - i.e. there are people on the beach (mostly 20+ backpackers learning to surf) but basically its empty. The water temperature is ideal / warm (not hot like Malaysia / Borneo) and the sea is clean and safe - so ideal for learner surfers and (as with my kids) budding body-boarders. Body Boards cost £2 per day to rent - presumably surf-boards aren't much more. There are lots of surf schools and the surf, while variable in strength, is mostly clean - no rips for swimmers to worry about either. Note "mostly clean" in this context is a surf thing not a cleanliness thing!

If this place had even a hint of commercial someone would be offering boat trips to the other close-by (equally delightful but impossible to reach without a boat) beaches. No one was doing this as at July 2017.

For meals outside the villa there is a lovely colonial-style cafe on the beach plus lots of great local cafes (basic huts with tables out front - really nice), The food was good / cheap at both - £3 to £5 for local curry and rice. My suggestion would be to do both. Don't miss out on dinner at the villa cos its great- but equally do an early (6pm) dinner on the beach - basic but tasty.

I (and the rest of my family) wholeheartedly recommend Michael's place - its awesome. It may look a bit out a of the way on the map but it really isn't - trip to Senggigi (via Michael's driver) took us 90 mins. Note Senggigi only worth as gateway to Gili Islands or Mr Rinjani, and by the way Mt Rinjani is a seriously challenging trek and most definitely not for the unfit faint-hearted - but that's a story for another day...

Steve

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2017
Wow.. now that's a review! Many thanks Steve for taking the time to write so eloquently about our humble little house on the hill.
We hope you can visit us again - you made quite an impression on the staff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, California
Reviewed June 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2017
Thank you for taking time to review Rena and the staff send you warm regards. We hope to see you back again soon.
Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mike C
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vacation. Ruined”
Reviewed March 16, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
4
people found this review helpful

If you are thinking of taking a vacation to Indonesia...do NOT go to this place. The house is terrible, don't trust the photos. It is a classic bait and switch. Once we called them on their shady bait and switch they locked us in the compound, refused to let us leave, called the police and we had to pay both the villa owners and the police.

Just go to Bali

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2017
A villa owners worst nightmare. They arrived late, demanded dinner at 11.30pm, got up the next morning and used a pathetic excuse to avoid paying. When our Villa Manager rightfully objected they were so abusive the Police had to be called. Such a shame that Trip advisor published their review as we pride ourselves on our service and it has tarnished our impecable reputation over 9 years
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lana V
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Experience”
Reviewed March 16, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This will is not a 3 bedroom 3 bathroom villa as indicated by the owner. It is also not very clean. The staff barely speaks any English - my overall experience was not very good!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2017
These people tried to get out of paying for their stay using a weak excuse. They were so abusive towards the staff the Police had to called. Their review is nothing but sour grapes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damir V
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This place is a trap BEWARE”
Reviewed February 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
6
people found this review helpful

We arrived to find that the villa is really two bedrooms with a three beds in one room (that is why there are no pictures of the third bedroom). There are only two full bathrooms in the house and no wifi as advertised. Not only was the owner (Michael) rude he extorted money from us when we wanted to find suitable accommodations elsewhere. We had to pay to leave! Stay away from this place! Lombok is beautiful but this place is not worth it!!!! NOT AS ADVERTISED. Beware

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2017
It was obvious that this guest found alternate accommodation prior to their arrival and was trying to get out of paying for their stay in our villa. He was so abusive to the villa manager and staff to the point the police were called and on review of the situation they demanded he pay. I settled the matter amicably so that they would leave and stop causing a scene. His money was refunded (unfairly I believe).

Your web site makes no provision for a mezzanine bedroom which was his excuse for not paying however I have since followed the instructions of your customer service to amend my listing details.

His review is an unfair assessment of both the situation and our villa and I strongly object to it being published
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing