We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short but very enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocotinos Manado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cocotinos Manado
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wori
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Short but very enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I spent three nights, with my wife and our four month old baby girl, at Cocotinos.
All the staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. My wife tried the spar and had a body massage and scrub, while I went off diving. She said the service in the spar was excellent, and left feeling refreshed and relaxed
The dive team were very efficient and friendly, the equipment I hired was in good condition and the dive sites we were taken to were excellent.
The room we had was excellent, well laid out, equipped and maintained. The open air restaurant is very relaxing, good food and cold drinks. There was always someone on hand to take care of the baby for a while, to allow us to eat. I would definitely stay here, if I visited Manado again. They also have another hotel of a similar style in Lombok, so when we visit Lombok next year, we plan to stay there.
The pool was a bit small, but it is a boutique hotel and most people are diving in the daytime, so there is usually plenty of room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkH294229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
7) Review “ Short but very enjoyable stay “ by “ Mark294229 ” Jarkarta, Indonesia, reviewed on the 17th November 2012. Stayed November 2012.
Dear reviewer. We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Even although we are a boutique resort, myself and my staff always enjoy having children stay with us, and taking care of your baby while you and your wife enjoyed your meal is just part of the service, it is just what we do. We pride ourselves in having our guests feel like they are staying at someone’s home and so can relax and enjoy themselves, the natural friendliness of our staff helps a lot. We look forward to seeing you at our Lombok resort next year. The Cocotinos resort in Lombok is a bit bigger than Cocotinos Manado and has a bigger pool as well as a nice long white sand beach, good for your baby to play on.
Again thank you for the review. Kindest Regards Martinus,,,,...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    102
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
112
23
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spend 2 day in this beautiful boutique hotel. Nothing comparable to big resort that you can find in Bali for exemple but the Room are nice, spacious and clean. The food at the restaurant is also quite good. They have a spa and dive center with look quite professional. Make sure to let them know that you going to plan diving as they tend to give day off to there staff when the occupation of the hotel is low.
The only good or bad point will be that you need a good hour to get to the city so make sure that you have everything that you need before getting there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibine7985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
6) Review “ Relaxing place to stay in Manado area “ by Bibine7985 “ Jarkarta, Indonesia on the 8th November 2012
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review of our Cocotinos resort. As you commented we are nothing like the big resorts in Bali. (Thank goodness). We designed Cocotinos to be just the opposite of these mega resorts, but still with a good level of service and food, comfortable rooms and more important for the ladies a large shower and toilet area.
On your comment regarding the diving, it is a good idea during the low diving season to give us a call before you arrive. So if you wish to dive we can make arrangements to have staff on hand, we have boats that are suitable for small groups of divers and our house reef is quite close, if you don’t have a lot of time.
We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future. Thanks for the review of our resort it is much appreciated by myself and all of my staff. Kind Regards. Martinus,,,.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Cocotinos hosted our group of 13 snorkelers for 4 nights after our 8 days on a Raja Ampat liveaboard. Our group was made up of advanced snorklers and nature lovers. On arrival we were quickly greeted at the Manado airport by their ground staff and the 25 minute ride to Cocotinos was comfortable. Arriving at the hotel we were met by the staff and given fresh cold towels to cool off from the afternoon sun, and coconuts ready to drink.

Our rooms were spacious, complete with a safe, refrigerator, flatscreen, extremely comfortable king bed, robes, and AC. Everything was spotless, and the extra shelves and hanging areas were very welcome after our small quarters on the vessel. The showers were expansive and gave the feel of an outdoor shower with screened in sections that allowed live plants to grow and sun to filter in. Outside the rooms was either an ocean view or the crystal clear and inviting pool. Amenities include an open bar/restaurant area with free WiFi (in room WiFi available at about US$8/12-hour period), a massage area overlooking the ocean (US$30/hour), and a short walk takes you to the Odyssey Dive center and pier out to the dive boats. Additionally Odyssey has a camera charging room, with computer, Fish ID books, and an assortment of musical instruments.

We had two full days snorkeling the reefs of Bunaken Marine Park and Siladen Island, both about a 40 minute boat ride away. We were given packed lunches and spent our entire day in those areas, snorkeling vibrant and robust reefs. Our third day we traveled to the Tangkoko Forest for a day of primate and bird viewing. Tangkoko is about 2-hours away and Manado is about 25 minutes from the hotel. The hotel grounds also had active sunbirds, eagles, and kingfishers that could be easily spotted each day.

The hotel sits in the small village of Kimo Bajo, our group walked freely in the town and was warmly greeted by the children and the folks that flew kites in the evenings. Our meals were served in the open air bar and were buffet style with multiple, delicious offerings. Each night we had at least four entrees to sample, as well as soup, salad, and fresh local fruits and a dessert. The breakfasts offered equally diverse selections. On our last night the group arranged for the Cocotinos special bar-b-que and they went all out. Grilling fresh farmed fish and shrimp, as well as chicken. They also had a live band. The great food and music were enjoyed by all.

The dive center was great. I did do one dive on the nearby house reef and saw dragonets, pipefish, small shrimp, nudibranchs, and many Banggai cardinalfish. However our group was there to snorkel and that we did, about 5 hours in the water each day. The dive staff provided four guides for our 13 members and took us to great spots pointing out many creatures, and kept us safe in the ever changing currents. The boat used was spacious, covered, with a fresh water shower, and had a bathroom. They provided snacks, purified drinking water, and towels each day. On our return the staff "made" us leave all our gear and they rinsed and hung our equipment, having it back on board the following morning. The shop has all the equipment needed to rent if you did not bring your own. Also the dive guides busily collected plastic pollution as we saw it when snorkeling. It was great to see them do this on their own and by the end of the day we were all pitching in bringing back plastic bottles / bags and various fishing line encountered while snorkeling. Don't get me wrong the reefs were great but as anyone that spends time in the ocean knows plastic pollution is unfortunately everywhere these days.

All in all I would highly recommend both Cocotinos and their dive facilities. It is a great central spot to explore the area, and not as isolated as staying at Siladen or Bunakin would be. During our free time our group was able to arrange tours into Manado for sightseeing. Lembah is about 1.5 hours away and easily accessible for organizing a day of diving if so desired. The spacious clean rooms and quality of care given by the staff make this hotel a "sure" thing for a traveler exploring Sulawesi.

Room Tip: The first set (1-4) of poolside (Garden view rooms) are a bit cheaper but have a view across the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albatross37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you so much for your great review of our Cocotinos Resort, It was very much appreciated by myself and my staff. It was nice to have a large group of snorkelers at our resort. The snorkelling around our resort and at the Bunaken national park is always underrated, although the snorkelling is on par with the diving and in some ways even better especially around Siladen and Ganga Islands . As divers and snorkelers ourselves we designed the resort to have a very friendly atmosphere with comfortable rooms, beds and decent showers. We try to sweat the small things such as having cold or hot towels after a dive, and washing and drying your equipment after a dive or snorkel. After all you are on holiday and should be relaxing next to the pool with a cold drink instead of scrubbing your dive gear
We are also glad that your group took the time to explore the local village and the nearby national park at Tongkoko. As you found, the local villagers and their children are naturally friendly and glad to interact with visitors.
We hope to see you all again someday soon at Cocotinos. No need to spend your hard earned cash on a live aboard, when the snorkelling and diving in Manado is so good.
Thank you again for taking the time to review our resort it is much appreciated by us all here at Cocotinos. Kindest Regards. Martinus...,,,,,,,,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I stay in cocotinos for 1 night, on November 4th 2012
Since we havé à very short time visiting Sulawesi , we have quite a hectic and tiring schedule . And we found this hotel through tripadvisor , without reading each and every review . So we rely on our guts. On the way to go there, seems it was quite isolated , and we start to have doubts. We don't want bad resort after all this tight schedule. But we were satisfied . Despite there's no diving instructor available on Sunday ( I think you should really consider this ) , the ambiance, hospitality of the whole staff ( the one who welcome us her name is Elle ) , the food , the villa, the cleanliness were satisfying and all the little details were well thought and professionally execute.
It's a perfect place to have diving holiday, or just enjoy the nature in Sulawesi !! Keep up the good job guys !!

Ginsa&Florian

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review it was much appreciated. It was a pity that you were only able to spend one night with us due to your tight schedule, as the diving is really good at Bunaken and around the resort. We note your comment that there was no dive operation on the Sunday that you stayed with us. We normally have diving everyday of the week, but if we have no prior booking or divers going out on any particular day we tend to give our dive guides the day off to let them decompress. Please if you intend to dive with us at short notice just give us a call and we will see what we can arrange. But we are glad to hear that you liked our resort and hope to see you again in the future.
Maybe this time for a longer stay. Regards Martinus ..........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My 2nd visit to this wonderful resort after 2 yrs. The room is still as clean and nice. Very well maintained. Love the room, very big and comfortable.

Food is good and the bbq dinner was just wonderful. Service are excellent. The service staff really make the effort to fulfill each and every of our request.

The diving is great, plenty of micros to see. Dive crews are wonderful. We were served hot teas and coffee after every dive. And fresh fruits were served too.
This is a place I will come back again and again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tulips02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for coming to visit us again after a two year break. As you have seen our service is still to the same high standard as your last visit, apart from the diving which has gotten even better as we have discovered some new dive spots with lots of macros quite close to the resort. So, no need to spend hours on a dive boat just getting to the dive areas.
Please don’t wait so long to visit us again as we are always glad to see return guests. All of the resort and dive staff and myself send their regards, thank you for the review and your comments they were much appreciated. Kind Regards. Martinus,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

The staffs really took care of you since fetch you up from the airport. They just need your presence and everything will be done for you by them.

Room really great and comfortable, villa style so the rooms are quite big.

Diving great with expert dive master to bring you to the best dive sites and will search for you some interesting macro organisms!!! :)))

Overall really great and I will definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orangejr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
2) Review “ Paradise on Earth “ by “orangejri” on 13th October 2012 Stayed October.
Dear reviewer. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The resort rooms were designed for maximum comfort and to give a laidback and relaxing atmosphere, enabling our guests to totally relax and enjoy their holiday. Our dive masters and guides send their regards and hope that we will come to dive with us again soon. The diving is pretty much all the year round here, so you can come back anytime. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, it was very much appreciated by all of us here at Cocotinos. Kindest Regards. Martinus...,,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The resort is nice with excellent service staff. Rooms are comfortable and clean with all the necessary amenities. Has a small lap pool next to the dining area which serves buffet meals other than lunch. There's a choice of bbq dinner buffet on request at about $25USD. Happy hour (only Bintang beer avail when we were there) is from 5-7pm daily.
The resort is located inside a village and you can take a walk around the village where there are small shops selling drinks and snacks. There is also the famed village 'disco' where we had the opportunity to experience (belongs to one of the boat crew we dived with).
Whatever you want, let the service staff know and you can be assured they will try their best to fulfil your wants.
The resort is pricey than the other dive resorts but if you like a nice resort with good dive guides and most of all, excellent service staff, you wont be disappointed paying the difference.

Room Tip: You might get free wifi (from the dining area) for rooms closer enough. Wifi is avail in the rooms b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pyrrhous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Review “ 9D8N Diving Vacation” by “ Pyrrhous” Singapore on 4th October 2012 stayed August
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your kind review of our Cocotinos Resort. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. My staff and i always try to make our guests feel very much at home during their stay. As you remarked in your review, we may not be the cheapest resort around, but as you experienced, our level of service more than makes up for any difference in price. Again thank you for taking the time to write a review on Cocotinos and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Kind Regards. Martinus....,,,,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wori
4.5 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#3 of 44 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
8.1 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#2 of 44 in Manado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
7.0 mi away
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Siladen Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.0 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#1 of 44 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
6.5 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#4 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocotinos Manado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocotinos Manado

Property: Cocotinos Manado
Address: Desa Kima Bajo, Jaga 3 | Jaga 3, Kec., Wori 95000, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Wori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocotinos Manado 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocotinos Manado is a boutique dive resort located within Wori Bay in the heart of Kima Bajo, a fishing village overlooking the Bunaken National Marine Park, world famous for its astounding wall and macro scuba diving. A mere 25-minute drive from Manado's Sam Ratulangi International Airport brings you to the resort, on the water's edge, in full view of Siladen Island and Manado Tua, a majestic dormant volcano across the Sulawesi Sea. Through the use of selected hardwoods, stone, and other ecologically friendly building materials sourced from the region, the resort blends seamlessly with the surrounding village and coconut grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Fastbooking and Priceline so you can book your Cocotinos Manado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocotinos Manado Hotel Wori
Cocotinos Manado Indonesia/Wori, Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing