We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diver Gang from Thailand”
Review of Cocotinos Manado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cocotinos Manado
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wori
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
“Diver Gang from Thailand”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was my first time with Cocotinos and Odyssea. Their services impressed us since airport. Once I steped into the resort entrance, I thought I was in right choice. Its room is very comfortable and functionable. All crews from both Cocotinos and Odyssea are very talented and service mind. I will definitely come back here if I come diving in Manado.

One small issue, the resort should provide better sleeping pillow or choices of pillow.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noom_Saksit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind review and your comments on our level of service at the resort and the dive center; our staff always appreciate a happy guest. And we look forward to having you stay with us again soon. We have noted your comments on having a better selection of pillows. During your next stay, if you need a firmer or softer pillow, just ask and we will do our best to provide it.

Regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    104
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
52
113
24
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

A great small hotel experience in a magnificent part of the world, marred by poor dining quality.

As a couple of non-divers we had some apprehensions. But Cocotinos worked out well for us because we were able to rent a small boat all to ourselves and visit snorkeling sites of our own choosing and at the pace we desired. And one day we took a car and driver and guide and did an inland excursion whereby we visited some inland sites such as Mt. Mahawu, Tomohon and Tondano lake. There is a pool and some nice wooden sun loungers. A wander around the surrounding village is eye-opening. We felt we had adequate activity levels available to us even if we did not dive and at no time did we feel we were treated less well because we were not ponying up for expensive diving packages (which is where a lot of the places in the region make their money). This aspect was great.

For us, the problem was that we were deeply disappointed by some of the food (variety, quality and quantity). I'm a food lover, and know Indonesia has great cuisine, so this is important to me. But most everyone else was on a package and seemed content with the limited and bland buffet spread included in their rate and we had subtle pressure to follow suit and succumb to the buffet formula. The pressure became more effective as it became clear the kitchen simply was not prepared for much a la carte ordering because they didn’t have the ingredients. One day there was no chicken AND no prawns. For several days there was no beef. Some supply variation I can understand - it is a small hotel - but such repeated and consistent scarcity was hard to accept when there is no place else to go; we were a captive audience. 

So (sigh) we ended up giving up and joining the buffet line almost every day. Nothing “boutique” about the dining! There were limited choices (e.g. one fish dish, one meat) and if we did not hit it very early (as some of the dive crowd did) some items would be finished and not ever replenished. One evening all that remained of the fish main course by the time I got there were fried fish heads with dull eyes staring at each other and at me. Furthermore, a significant number of items were deep fried (fried chicken, fried fish, fried pork in sauce, etc.) and I feel they could do a lot better than that. Perhaps the problem is that when everyone at a hotel is on a full board package there is little incentive to impress with the food and there may be incentives to cut corners and skimp. A few dishes were good, to be fair, but it just was not up to the standard I expected or have experienced at other similar places.

Otherwise, staff are very warm, the place is well landscaped and the rooms were very clean and fresh. We recommend taking a “water’s edge” category room for the added privacy and open views to the sea and the sunset. Note there is not any beach to speak of. The wifi in the restaurant worked well and was a really welcome free amenity.

Room Tip: The water's edge rooms are more private and have sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superdeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of our resort. I apologize for the quality of the food during your stay which unfortunately coincided with the fasting month and the Muslim holiday at the end of it. This means that some of our kitchen staff who are Muslims do not show up for work, leaving our kitchen short-handed. As they are not allowed by their religion to eat or drink during the fasting month, they cannot taste the food for seasoning. The fasting month also affects our fish and food suppliers as many of them. to use an Australian expression "go walk about" and don't show up for work. Furthermore, the fishermen don't go out very often. Based on your comments, we have made changes to our menu and kitchen staff, as normally our restaurant is a lot better than that which you experienced.

But we appreciate your positive comments on our rooms and the resort in general and that the boat tours, village tours and the mountain excursions proved enjoyable. Thank you again for your comments.

Regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
britnix
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have very mixed reviews of this resort that we stayed at in July, and I think both helpful and easiest I will breakdown review into different aspects:

Accommodation: We stayed in number 26, the very end sea end bungalow which had fabulous views of the beautiful bay, an amazing porch with 2 comfortable chairs. The room was brilliant, clean, high ceilings and very comfortable with lots of space. A fridge with chocolate and drinks and a very powerful refreshingly hot shower and large bathroom with a bath. We stayed for 2 weeks but our bed linen wasn't changed at all - we knew as a flower stained the bed cover on our first night and this stayed for our duration. Also provided were bath robes.

Restaurant/food: We were very disappointed with the food quality the first week of our stay. There was no buffet provided and all food was served 'a la carte'. We found that the meat quality was very poor, mainly scrag ends and tendons. We ate out at other parts of Northern Sulewesi including a local restaurant and at Lembeh, so in comparison we felt it was very poor. We requested a dessert menu for 'a la carte' and were told that one was not provided and no desserts were available, although they did offer ice cream. However, the following week, full dessert was available in the buffet?? The table water was warm (even slightyl hot?) Service was very hit and miss, depending if the hotel manager was present, for example, when he was present our tea and coffee came with a jug of milk, when he was not present we had to ask at every meal serving (we stayed two weeks so became very annoying) I am a food lover and not fussy at all, so for me to not like the food, there must be something wrong :-((( Obviously this is only my opinion, others may have other opinions. The following week, a buffet was offered and this was much better quality.

Friendliness of staff: I cannot express enough how friendly some of the staff were, especially the front desk and some of the restaurant staff, this is why I find it hard to write this review. They made us feel very welcome.

Noise: The resort is right in the middle of a village. We were woken many mornings with extremely loud local music and radio. The speakers were located right above the wall boundries. We always take ear plugs on holiday, but even these did not drown out the radio noise at 5am until 7.30am. Our room was very close to the village beach, and again, loud local pop music was played from 8am until 5pm most days (especially on weekends) I do not think the resort can control this noise, but be aware of this when choosing this resort. We did also hear the muslim loud speaker a few times a day but this seemed to add to the ambience and did not destract from the beauty of the bay.

Diving: Absolutely brilliant. The knowledge of the staff was astounding! We had a dive master to ourselves all dives and they found so many varieties of fish, always very gentle upon approach with fish. A hot drink was always offered with some fruit after each dive and you were given your own towell also. I absolutely loved the diving, it was very uncrowded as there is only one dive company in the bay! We came for the diving and were not disappointed.

Spa: We had a few massages, overlooking the sea with the aromas of the massage oils after diving was fantastic, I especially enjoyed the massages which were done by the most senior lady, they even gave us a present when we left the resort, which was very touching and kind.

Pool: Very refreshing and clean and perfect for swimming or going for a dip, very attractive well kept gardens, overlooking the bay.

Beach/Bay: Not really a beach as such, but had fun watching the villagers having fun in the sea and the few dogs splashing around. The village children were adorable and we loved watching them play on the beach.

Sunsets: Amazing, Amazing, Amazing. Red sunsets overlooking Suluwesi mountains and surrounding beautiful - espeically amazing from the jetty with the lovely muslim chants, really atmospheric.

Overall, there were aspects which we loved, the area is outstanding, northern Suluwesi is BEAUTIFUL, the mountains, the extinct volcanoes, the people, the cuture, the underwater and over water wildlife, I would love to return one day. However, I did not expect the early morning loud radios, the pop music on the weekends and I found the food dissapointing. I think this is a fair review of Cocotinos.

Room Tip: room 26 is located at the very end of the resort, overlooking the beautiful bay BUT very close to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your detailed and vary fair review of our Cocotinos Resort. May I apologies for the one item that you found rather wanting i.e. the quality of our food and the small matters like the staff forgetting constantly to give milk with your tea and coffee. I agree this can be very annoying. We have taken your comments very much to heart and have completely revised and extended our ala carte menu to offer more choices for long-staying guests. Regarding the quality of the beef, the local beef does tend to be tough and is not quite to the standard of imported beef from Australia, especially when used for Western-style cooking. However, we have now included imported tenderloin and other choice cuts in our ala carte steak selection which we hope will meet your expectations in your next visit.

The other item you commented on was the noise from the village next to the resort. Unfortunately, when you stayed with us, it was the start of the fasting month for Muslims. During this period, they do not eat or drink from sunset until sundown. So, they have to wake up very early to pray and eat before the start of the fast. They also tend to play music to celebrate the start of the fast. Hence, the music and noise from the village are a lot louder and last longer then usual during the fasting month. But to be honest, it is never totally quiet in the village. And as you have commented, the sound of the mosque adds to the ambience of being in Indonesia.

We are glad you found the rest of the resort and the service of your staff and dive guides satisfactory. Thank you for your review of our resort. It is appreciated, as we would rather have our guests be frank with us, as this is the only way we can improve our service. We hope to see you again.

Regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Attentive staff and warm hospitality. Room is clean and spacious.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thiras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were pleased with our stay at Cocotinos - the staff were most attentive, especially the dive centre staff who were very professional and friendly. Don't expect any white sandy beaches though. This resort is very much for people who want to go diving or snorkelling in the area. Good food but limited range for vegetarians.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YSL271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments which our staff appreciated, especially the ones on their professionalism. Regarding the limited range of vegetarian food, we have extended the choice of items on our menu to suit guests who prefer to eat a bit more healthily, which most people are doing nowadays. We look forward to seeing you again at Cocotinos. If you wish to visit a resort with good diving and a white sand beach, please try our other resort in Lombok. Just look us up on Tripadvisor: "Cocotinos Sekotong"

Regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Had a great expreience! Warm and attentive staffs. Great diving crews as well.
Staffs remembered our names, right from airport pickup. We are always greeted with smiles even the gardening staffs does that. Always welcome us back from dives with warm towels when weather is cold. And chilled towels when weather hot.
Attentive to every details, from our rooms, our meals to our diving expreience.
Thumbs up Mr Martinus, great place an great crews you had built!
We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antochaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

We are so glad that you found our Resort and the diving so much to your liking. As you have commented on, the friendliness of our staff and the small things like the hot/cold towels at the end of your dives are what make us different from the other dive operators. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to having you visit us at Cocotinos again soon.

Best regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Had a great experience with Cocotinos. Every single staff of Cocotinos was very warm, friendly, attentive & helpful. Will come back soon. Good job guys & keep up the fantastic hospitality :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessDolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our resort and it was very much our pleasure to have you here. We look forward to seeing you back very soon. Kindest regards from all of us here at Cocotinos.

Warm regards,

Martinus Wawanda.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wori
4.4 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#2 of 45 in Manado
139 reviews
8.1 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 45 in Manado
536 reviews
12.8 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#3 of 45 in Manado
174 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bunaken Oasis Dive Resort and Spa
5.2 mi away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Siladen Island
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocotinos Manado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocotinos Manado

Property: Cocotinos Manado
Address: Desa Kima Bajo, Jaga 3 | Jaga 3, Kec., Wori 95000, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Wori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocotinos Manado 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocotinos Manado is a boutique dive resort located within Wori Bay in the heart of Kima Bajo, a fishing village overlooking the Bunaken National Marine Park, world famous for its astounding wall and macro scuba diving. A mere 25-minute drive from Manado's Sam Ratulangi International Airport brings you to the resort, on the water's edge, in full view of Siladen Island and Manado Tua, a majestic dormant volcano across the Sulawesi Sea. Through the use of selected hardwoods, stone, and other ecologically friendly building materials sourced from the region, the resort blends seamlessly with the surrounding village and coconut grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Cocotinos Manado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocotinos Manado Hotel Wori
Cocotinos Manado Indonesia/Wori, Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing