We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service makes this ane of the best” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocotinos Manado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cocotinos Manado
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wori
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Friendly service makes this ane of the best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

We had two visits here (primarily as a stop over to a longer holiday) but enjoyed our stay immensely. The staff were brilliant and James the dive-guy and u/w photographer was a real pleasure. Although there is no beach, the resort has excellent access to the Bunaken and Siladen dive sites (soem of the world's best) and there is excellent muck-diving in the bay - James' pictyures well attest to that! Food and drinks were pleasing - and teh happy hour was always fun for our whole group! Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: The only benefit to the sea-facing rooms is that you can sleep through the 4:30 am call-to-prayers e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreqTravW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for you kind review of our Cocotinos Resort. We are so glad that you and your group enjoyed your stay with us. Maybe next time you can have a longer stay rather than just a short stop over but either way you know that you are always welcome at Cocotinos. James sends you his regards and hopes he will have a chance to dive with you and show you the muck diving in the bay, rather than just his photos. Actually while the diving at Bunaken and Siladen is so good, not a lot of people realise that the diving along the coast line next to our resort is also very good and we are always finding new spots. But of course you need to dive with us as we don’t show others where the good places are. So thanks again for your review it was much appreciated. And we hope to see you all at Cocotinos you again soon .

With kind regards
Martinus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    102
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
112
23
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

On my last visit, I stayed at 4 different hotels.. sounds crazy but it was a good experience to see the hotels in Manado..Work and Pleasure.
Cocotinos Manado is a pretty hideaway resort tuck away about an hour drive from the city. Its closer the airport. The resort is surrounded by a village. Its a small cozy resort and the service is very good. The rooms are clean and comfortable and surprisingly fairly large. The toilets were excellent, clean and comfortable size. There is no internet in the room and its available free of charge at the restaurant area. There is only one restaurant. Food quality is of a good standard and so is the breakfast in the morning. The resort has a good dive centre and its very professionally runned and its owned by the resort.

The sad part about the resort is that there is no beach at this resort but one can go for a walk around the village which is quite nice. The service is attentive and good at this resort. I will want to go back and stay at this resort

Room Tip: There is not much difference in whether you take a sea view room or a pool view room. The rooms I li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

We are so glad that you found our resort so clean and well run, especially since you had stayed at 4 other hotels in Manado. We always try to make our guests stay a friendly and comfortable experience and this is always made easier by the natural friendliness of our staff.
You commented on the size and comfort of our rooms especially the toilets. When Mr Wong the owner was designing the resort, he wanted not to make the same mistakes that he had experienced when staying at other, sometimes quite expensive hotels in Asia, i.e. Small and stinky toilets so he was determined not to repeat the same mistake when building Cocotinos. As you have seen by the layout of our rooms I think he succeeded. Thank you again for your review, sorry we did not have a beach but it comes and goes depending on the weather and the currents.

Warmest regards from all staff of Cocotinos Manado

Martinus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

I was impressed with the location. This is good for divers who like to experience the area and the diving. The property has 22 rooms and they are certainly well kept and faces the ocean. The staff are friendly and always ready to assist.
The meals are simple but tasty . They have a very nice spa and wellness area. Highly recommend this place. It is about 45 minutes out of Manado City.

Room Tip: The Chalet room or suite is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kseow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind review of our resort. Your comments were very much appreciated especially by our spa staff. We look forward to having you stay, as a guest at Cocotinos in the near future. So once again, you can experience what true Indonesian hospitality can be. Thank you again for your review.

With kind regards
Martinus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

We spent the last December week at the Cocotinos Hotel. Although it was rainy season and it did rain a lot we felt very comfortable and enjoyed our time there.
It was our fifth visit to Manado/Bunaken/Lembeh and we know a lot of hotels there such as Mapia, Minahasa, Living Colours, Onong, Bastianos and Lembeh Resort. We must say that Cocotinos offers an outstanding value for money! The rooms are spacious, very nicely furnished, bathrooms clean and spacious as well and the food is execellent. For the first time in five years in Manado area we could even enjoy TV with various english channels - which we have never missed before but if you are there during the wet season it is a nice feature when it is pouring rain in the evening.

The diving was very well organised. The dive team labels your gear and takes it onboard for you. Two tank dive trips started at 8:00 am to Bunaken and returned at 1:00pm with lunch at the resort. Alternatively, there were days with three dive trips and a lunch box on board, returning to the resort at 4:00pm. But not only Bunaken is there to be discovered but also the dive spots near the resort on the mainland are worth to be seen. Staff is very friendly and helpful , the dive crew is well organised and punctual.

The Cocotinos Resort is conviniently located. It only takes 25 minutes to the Airport what makes it a nice stop if you plan to go somewhere else ( we traveled to Sorong , Raja Ampat ) and take a break from the long journey. Don´t expect any tourism around the hotel. There are two villages surrounding the hotel, one christian and one muslim (in some rooms you will here the muezzin calling if you have a light sleep) but there are no shops and pepople stare at you if you want to buy some cookies or coke there at one of the small kiosks. So don´t forget anything and bring all medicine with you!
We can recommend this resort and it will definitly be our first choice for our next stay in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kokukan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Many, many thanks for your review. That you have stayed at some of the other dive resorts in Manado over the years and found us one of the best, if not the best you have stayed at, has made both our resort and dive staff very happy, We always try very hard to make Cocotinos Resort the best that it can be, and to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible. We hope that you will stay with us again soon and look forward to meeting you again soon.

with kind regards
Martinus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We arrived after long flights to the warmest and friendliest welcome imaginable! All logistics were taken care of, smiles all around and cold water in the car for a short ride to the resort. Rooms were charming, even fresh flowers on the beds! Service generally very attentive and friendly, food good and spa an absolute gem! I would return just for that! massages brilliant! Sadly we could not dive there but James the DM showed us his underwater photos and these were truly amazing! So, all in all , we all agreed to return as soon as we could - to savor the resort, the spa and the diving!

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms were a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for staying at our Resort and for your review. Our Spa staff really appreciated your comments, our spa maybe small, but as they say, good things sometimes come in small packages. It was a pity that you could not do any diving as it really is something special, the drop-offs at Bunaken island will take your breath away and we also have some really good diving close to the resort. James our dive Instructor sends his regards and hopes that he can show you the real thing next time you visit. Again thank you for your review from all of us at Cocotinos.

With kind regards
Martinus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

I picked this resort based on good reviews on Tripadvisor and i really did choose the best one. It is indeed a very charming resort, full of lovely people.

As soon as i arrived, I was invited to fill in the registration form in the restaurant and was welcomed by welcoming club sandwiches and welcome drink. Then I was brought to my room just opposite the swimming pool. The decoration is simple but cozy. The room is spacious, clean and my bed is so comfortable.

Free WiFi is offered in the restaurant area. Food was good. They also have a small spa in the resort. Unfortunately, I didn't get chance to try the massage or any treatment.

The next best thing here is the service. All staffs are so helpful and friendly. They can communicate in English really well and they took really good care of me and my friends.
This trip was my business trip but i enjoyed it as if it was my holiday. Definitely I would love to come back again.

Tips :

- I would recommend to book airport pick up service in advance since the resort is a bit isolate and some taxi does not know the exact location

- Going to Manado Town Center may take a while and resort doesn't have shuttle service. However, you can ask reception desk to call a taxi. It costed me last time approx. IDR 80,000 to go to town and approx. IDR 100,000 to come back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatangel_am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

What can we say but thank you for your kind review it is much appreciated , Please come and stay with us again and please try our spa the next time it maybe small but it gives really good Indonesian style massages a bit different from the Thai massages you may have had before. So again thank you from all of us here at Cocotinos and we hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards from all staff of Cocotinos Manado
Martinus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

It was litle bit late when I was arrived at the hotel...and was very happy to find that I had my room overlooking the sea..from the glass door of my bedroom I can see the movement of the wave and its sounds and bring me to had a good sleep

I wake up for the breakfast and and ready to go with a boat to Bunaken... It was really unbelievable , Leaving the Jetti of Coconut hotel greeted by a professional staff at the restaurant and try to fix my snorkeling equipment... they are very friendly.

Arriving at Bunaken.. the sea and underwater view that I really eager to discovery with.was amazing.. as so far I just really read , look on TV and movie... but look at this wat the beach has had? along the beach was a nice coral , colourful fish... and I feel I dance with them.. ( Thanks Tino ( Martinus) - the GM of Cocotinos Hotel and the master Divers who is more than 5 hours accompany me in the sea.. (I cant swim really well, but with his assistance all luks easy and great::-).and when one chance both of us see big fish we teboth scream,, Its NAPOLEON fisssssh..:-) ..

It was 4 pm in the afternun, we back to the hotel for lunch ,,, and and enjoy my afternoon
tea... the restaurant also occupied by WIFI ... the sunset was there and I enjoy every movement of the sun from the jetti of COCOTINOS resort.

The dinner time start at 8 pm... a buffee dinner was served for a group,, entertained by the famous local music of MENADO - KULINTANG,,,TM/Mr. Wong .. the owner and Iwan Sitompul the Director of sales was there to accompany the group dinner... this night, we all like a family... singing together...and even TM was a good guitar player.. .. the night sound is now come ,, the wave and its sounds spoil my sleep...back to the room the staff has clean all the bedroom..room so convenience....and i slept with lullaby...
Thengkyu again for TINo, IWAN and TM ( mr.Wong) you have the friendly and proffeisonal staff ... cee u again

Room Tip: front beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andin_Bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much, as you are from Bali another beautiful island with lots of good hotels this makes us appreciate your review even more. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that when you go to sleep you dream of the dancing fish and not of the Napoleon Wrasse which made you scream. Pak Iwan and TM send their regards as do all of our staff and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Cocotinos.

With kind regards
Martinus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wori
4.5 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#3 of 44 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
8.1 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 44 in Manado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
7.0 mi away
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Siladen Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.0 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#2 of 44 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bastianos Dive Resort
Bastianos Dive Resort
#1 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocotinos Manado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocotinos Manado

Property: Cocotinos Manado
Address: Desa Kima Bajo, Jaga 3 | Jaga 3, Kec., Wori 95000, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Wori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocotinos Manado 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocotinos Manado is a boutique dive resort located within Wori Bay in the heart of Kima Bajo, a fishing village overlooking the Bunaken National Marine Park, world famous for its astounding wall and macro scuba diving. A mere 25-minute drive from Manado's Sam Ratulangi International Airport brings you to the resort, on the water's edge, in full view of Siladen Island and Manado Tua, a majestic dormant volcano across the Sulawesi Sea. Through the use of selected hardwoods, stone, and other ecologically friendly building materials sourced from the region, the resort blends seamlessly with the surrounding village and coconut grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Cocotinos Manado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocotinos Manado Hotel Wori
Cocotinos Manado Indonesia/Wori, Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing