We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing countryside retreat”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Jasmines Cottage

Jasmines Cottage Sun Deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Jasmines Cottage Sun Deck
Jasmines Cottage Dining Area Jasmines Cottage Twin Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Jasmines Cottage Sun Deck
Jasmines Cottage Dining Area
Jasmines Cottage Twin Bedroom
View from Jasmines Cottage
Jasmines Cottage Kitchen
Jasmines Cottage Bathroom
Jasmines Cottage Bathroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Piddlehinton, Dorchester, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sarahcast...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing countryside retreat”
Reviewed May 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a great time at Jasmine's Cottage. Yes, the stone floors are a little chilly, but bring some socks or slippers and you'll be fine. The cottage is in a beautiful spot and you can't beat an evening in the hot tub looking out onto the countryside views. We found the place to be very well equipped. The beds were comfortable, plenty of towels and hot water, all the necessary kitchen equipment. Be warned that there is no mobile phone reception the Piddle Valley, but we found this advantageous! Vanessa was a lovely hostess. She provided welcome gifts of food and drink, offered to share her knowledge of the local area (including tips on where to eat) and was approachable without being intrusive.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie_Tr...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not if the weather is very cold.”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We arrived when the weather was freezing and with an unlit log burner being the only heating downstairs it wasn't very welcoming,especially with the stone floors downstairs. Heating upstairs is provided by the smallest electric heaters I have ever seen. A couple of rugs in the living room would help because it just felt like we were staying in a railway waiting room.
The location is great; close to many areas of interest
and hidden away in a pleasant valley.
I appreciate that this is an eco property but if you're looking for a cosy break, I couldn't recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyHoli...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very relaxing stay”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The cottage is in a lovely location, peaceful with lovely views from the top of the hill. Facilities were on the whole very good but, as we were a party of 6, there was a lack of storage facilities in the bedrooms. It would also have been very useful to have had towel racks in the bathrooms and also the fridge/freezer BOX was inadequate for a party of 6. On arrival it was lovely to have the chocolate brownie cake, milk and bottle of bubbly waiting for us - a lovely touch. The hot tub was a great success. We all looked forward to a relax in it after a day on the beach.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkernst...
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous location but cottage needs a fair amount of TLC”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Beautiful location but the cottage needs some work. Door catches missing on both toilet doors so smells waft out! No drawers in bedrooms for underwear etc. Shower panels in the ensuite need urgent attention. Be careful when you open the dishwasher, it tips forward. The welcome cake, wine etc were a nice touch though,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's location
Liked least: Smell from the downstairs toilet wafting into the rest of the ground floor
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony W
Overton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Superb location for a young family”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Our party consisted of grandparents, parents and two children aged 5 and 3. The cottage is well-equipped and has all the facilities you can reasonably need - at least if the weather is good. We received welcome gifts of milk, eggs and a bottle of wine. The owners are friendly and helpful, and the farm animals provide interest and entertainment for the children, who have plenty of space to run around. The situation is quiet and peaceful, but there are pubs and other eating places within a ten-minute drive, and restaurants and takeaways in Dorchester which is only 15 minutes away. There are good facilities for cooking your own food. Lots of places to visit within about 25 miles and good beaches at Weymouth and elsewhere.

The cottage has triple glazing and a vast solar heating installation, and it's worth asking for advice about the best way to run a bath as the heating system produces slightly different outcomes from a gas boiler or immersion heather.

Note that the location shown under the "directions and map" tab on the website is a couple of miles out.

We all enjoyed our stay very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing