We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Piddlehinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Longpuddle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Piddlehinton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Faultless!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This was undoubtedly the most comfortable and charming B and B we have ever stayed in.
Very relaxed and beautifully furnished throughout. The breakfast was delicious. We were impressed that nothing had been forgotten with regard to comfort. Even leaving little jugs of milk in small fridges for our morning tea! We will definitely be going there again, and will also recommend it to our friends and family.

Room Tip: room 2 or 3 in the separate annexe. Very private and quite charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALA650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
32
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. Ann and Bertie very welcoming and helpful but not intrusive. Stayed in double room in main house which was bright and spotlessly clean. Lovely relaxing place to stay! Breakfasts were good and Ann said if we wanted anything else just ask! Would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandy608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Ann very welcoming. Our room in the Annex was spacious as was the ensuite. Bed very comfortable. Very peaceful and wonderful garden. I suppose the only things I could say it lacked were biscuits on the tea tray and toiletries (bath shower gel etc.) At £80 pn I would expect these items. Breakfast was good but not the best we've had.

Room Tip: Annex rooms give poor privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopemwnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liecester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

If you want just the best of everything in a bed and breakfast experience then look no further than Longpuddle. This is what a bed and breakfast would be if a certain well known larger company were running it. Relaxed and friendly atmosphere Ann and Bertie could not have been more welcoming or helpfull. The accomodation is first rate we stayed in the main house what a fabulouse room, and we wanted for nothing. Large comfortable bed and so much peace and quiet it was almost deafening. The grounds are to be seen to be believed take a walk down to the paddock over the stream out into the loke and back arround the village we recomend it. Now if you think this sounds good enough to try well my friends the best is i can assure you yet to come, just wait until you arrive at breakfast. Personally i recomend the full English, Ann and Bertie are happy to cater for all tastest and preferences just tell them what you would like and how you would like it. I have never written a review for anything or anyone before, but frankly after the treatment we recieved at Longpuddle we just had to pass on the good news to everyone. Go enjoy and re-charge your batteries, we did.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanmY4651OO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed for one night and had a very good stay. The bed was comfortable, the room nicely decorated and very clean, had a very tasty vegetarian breakfast, wifi if you need it and the proprietors were helpful and polite. Would struggle to find fault with it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beardiebloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunmow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed at this tasteful and immaculate b&b this weekend and found it outstanding value. Our room was in an annex with modern facilities. Nothing was too much trouble for Bertie and Ann,the cooked breakfast and fresh coffee were spot on. Bertie even drove us back to our car in the morning after we had been to a wedding in Dorchester.
Ideal old England setting was a real escape and we will be back.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Wve stayed in one of 2 rooms in the annex and which overlooked the lovely well kept grounds. The room was light and airey and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was roomy with bath. Bertie's breakfast was superb with nice china and presentation.

This was our first B&B experience ever and a pleasant one . Bertie and Ann were friendly and attentive hosts and have a property that is kept to a high standard throughout.
The rooms overlooked groomed gardens, and the thatched roof of the main house.

You can join on to the country lane at the rear of the property for nice walks or stroll to the nearby village of Piddlehinton. Being oversea visitors we were overawed by the quintessentially english village nature of the area... at one point we were sure we saw Barnaby drive by ..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T0uringKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piddlehinton
4.4 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
179 reviews
3.4 mi away
Yalbury Cottage
Yalbury Cottage
#2 of 45 in Dorchester
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Little Court
Little Court
#5 of 45 in Dorchester
141 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Poachers Inn
The Poachers Inn
#1 of 2 in Piddletrenthide
309 reviews
4.4 mi away
Westwood House Guest House
Westwood House Guest House
#1 of 45 in Dorchester
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longpuddle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longpuddle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Longpuddle Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4 High Street, Piddlehinton, Dorchester DT2 7TD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester > Piddlehinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Piddlehinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Piddle Valley, midway between abbey town of Sherborne and the county town of Dorchester, Longpuddle is well placed for exploring Thomas Hardy’s Dorset and the Jurassic Coast. The 400 year old thatched cottage, originally a farmhouse, overlooks the embryo river Piddle which runs through the garden and paddocks. Guest accommodation comprises three spacious tastefully decorated rooms ideal for an extended stay; two double and one twin with colour TVs, radios and hairdryers, both en suite. A third bed can be made available if required. Breakfast consists of local produce freshly cooked personally by the proprietor. There is also a large comfortable guest’s lounge; with a log fire on winter days. This also has a colour television and views over the garden and paddocks. The name Longpuddle was used by Thomas Hardy collectively for the villages of the Piddle valley which has several excellent Pubs serving local food to suite a variety of tastes. The many bridleways offer a chance to see the local wildlife and badger watching is available locally. The delightful village of Cerne Abbas with the famous Giant (The Rude Man) is just a few minutes drive away. Ample off road parking is available ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing