We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Windmill Court Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Travelocity
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    $49
    $47
    Priceline
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    $67
    $53
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    The Imperial Crown Hotel(Halifax)(Great Value!)
    $52
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    $83
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    $89
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    The New Hobbit(Sowerby Bridge)
    $79
    $77
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    The White Lion Hotel(Hebden Bridge)
    $145
    $141
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (43)
    Filter reviews
    43 results
    Traveler rating
    28
    13
    0
    1
    1
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    28
    13
    0
    1
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsogden waterthe cottagesself cateringclaw foot bathdiamond weddinglovely eveningcentral heatinggillianhalifaxyorkshirefridge
    Filter
    Updating list...
    24 - 29 of 43 reviews
    Reviewed May 2, 2013

    Been staying here since 2005 whilst working in Halifax. For the last 2 years in one the Windmill Court cottages.

    This visit was for 4 nights, April 28th to May 2nd 2013

    Really good value for money, and lovely cottages. The proprietor Gillian will always go out of her way to make sure you are welcome and that you have everthing you need.

    Cottage was lovely and quiet, peacefull setting, and only a short walk from the hotel/cottage to Ogden Water which offers a nice walk round in a lovely landscape.

    Room Tip: Cottages are nice and well proportioned. Idea for a short break or business trip.
    • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank ARG1UK
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 17, 2013

    Stayed at the hotel last night. Gill was the perfect host, offering us a cuppa as soon as we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble. The location is lovely - breakfast highly recommended (didn't have dinner there, more's the pity, will next time). We asked to look at one of the cottages while we were there. Typically it was not a problem, and we were amazed how lovely the cottages are, for the price. We're going to stay there again, and hopefully in one of the cottages. They are a bit special, especially for the price. Recommended (just in case you aren't sure we liked it).

    • Stayed: February 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank The93rd
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 6, 2013

    We were invited to a 70th birthday party here and decided to stay overnight. We booked a family room but when we arrived we were allocated a beautiful 2 bedroomed cottage at no extra charge! we were met by the lovely Gillian who couldn't have been more helpful. Throughout our stay she was a hand to attend to all our needs. The evening meal was a great success enjoyed by all the party. We had a breakfast fit for a king, beautifully cooked with a huge choice and something for everyone! We would highly recommend The Windmill Court to anyone wishing to stay in the Halifax area.

    • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Alison R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 24, 2012

    This was our second stay, first time was in July. We had a lovely two-bedroom cottage. It was well furnished, comfortable & spotless clean.
    It was simple and hassle free booking, the owner was wonderful and nade us feel totally at home.
    Highly recommended and we will be back regularly.

    • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Daarc
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 6, 2012

    I'm originally from Halifax and wanted somewhere independent to stay when visiting family. On a recent visit I drove past Windmill court and thought "hm that looks interesting"! What first attracted me was the location; in a semi-rural situation on the edge of the moors not far from where I grew up, yet within easy reach of Halifax town centre and Bradford.

    I booked a room for my next trip home by phone and was greeted by the very friendly Gillian who offered me a choice of a hotel room with bed and breakfast or a self catering cottage. As it was only for two of us I booked just a room. On the day of arrival we were warmly welcomed by Gillian who informed us that as they were not busy and we were staying a few days we could have a cottage on the same basis as a room ie. for the same price and with breakfast included.
    When she showed us the cottage we were absolutely gobsmacked ! It was a fullblown 3 bedroomed house which I would happily live in full time ! The cottage was immaculately furnished and decorated, with full central heating, use of the kitchen and two bathrooms etc. We felt very spoilt ! Breakfast was served in the main hotel dining room, a full English which was a real treat for us each morning as we live in France. We also had an excellent evening meal in the restaurant on the first night.

    The hotel is only a short walk away from Ogden water, a beautiful reservoir and nature reserve. beyond which are the moors and the Withens which provide some fantastic fell walking (or running in our case ! ) The views around here are breathtaking, something I never appreciated while growing up here. A little further afield ( but only a little) is Haworth and I would certainly recommend Windmill court as a base for exploring Bronté country, thus avoiding the expensive tourist prices in Haworth itself .

    For us Windmill court was particularly good value, but even if we had just had the hotel room the price would still be hard to beat.

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return each time we visit Halifax in the future. I've already booked my next stay in a couple of weeks time !

    Room Tip: The main hotel building is on the roadside so rooms on that side could possibly get more traffic noise, although the road is not terribly busy at night time. The cottages are behind the main building and we heard no road noise whatsoever. Although I haven't yet tried a hotel room I would think that it's well worth paying the extra for a cottage. Especially good value for a family group !
    • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Orangeapeel
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews