We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying at a friends and a beautiful house.”
Review of Brook House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brook House
Ranked #1 of 2 Ogden B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The house and rooms are beautiful and the stay was worth every penny.

Interesting and friendly hosts, but feels a little like a hobby rather than a business, but could just be them settling in, as they have just started out. It felt like we were staying with friends, which depending on what you are looking for, could be good or bad. For us it was perfect, left to our own devises and got useful info when we bumped into Chris & Christa.

Special note should go to the breakfast which was fantastic, locally sourced where possible and very tasty.

If you are looking for a unique and interesting place to stay, I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mart_n_Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brookhouseyorkshre, Owner at Brook House, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Hi, Martin, thanks for the review.
But can you help, did you choose the location photo or did Trip advisor since this is not our B & B!

Kind Regards

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 62 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2011

you could not find a better place than this beautiful house at the edge of the moors, with its dreamy atmosphere and fantastic hosts

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petra p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at Brook House to mark my 'retirement'. Having read about Brook House in the Yorkshire Post, we decided to sample it for ourselves and we were not disappointed. Despite a lot of rain clouds it didn't stop us experiencing a wonderful few days in an exquisite house, in a stunning location with such wonderful, welcoming hosts - Chris and Christa, who are more than happy to share their beautiful home with their guests. The food was fab and even if you were not a fan of the Brontes you will be after listening to Christa, who is not only passionate about them but about the area in which she was born and brought up in - and Chris is a little treasure! Brook House is so much more than a B&B.

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed with any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

..just how much we loved this bed and breakfast in Yorkshire. I could write a novel about our experiences and stay here, but as already stated, our words could not do this place justice.

From the moment you park inside, Chris greets you like you're family. He and his wife basically opened up their home to us, as guests, and took us on a tour of their lovely house. We stayed in the Cream Room, which was beyond our expectations in terms of luxury and comfort. The bedroom had a gorgeous king size bed (one of the best beds I've ever slept on), sitting area and en-suite bathroom. The bathroom was even more gorgeous than the room! The pedestal tub was exquisite, equipped with a rain bath. I had a wonderful bath every evening and while doing so I looked out over the moors. The absolute best part about this place is the view - the two windows from your room (one in the bedroom and one in the bathroom) overlooks the hauntingly beautiful moors of Yorkshire.

Like so many others, I came here for the Bronte history. Crista and Chris were excellent historians and helped guide us in the right directions as to what we should see. They were extremely helpful and gracious with their time. We usually had these chats about local Yorkshire history as my husband and I ate breakfast (which was marvelously cooked fresh with local ingredients) and listened to the wealth of knowledge they had about the place they grew up in. As I understand it, they plan to offer tours of the area in the very near future, which we plan to take advantage of on our next trip.

If you're a Bronte lover, you could stay in the town of Haworth, or you could be a 10 minute drive and stay in the lap of luxury, with nothing but the moors surrounding you. As a writer I was very inspired. Beyond that, this house was beautifully decorated and furnished - better than a 5 star hotel. You can look at the photos but they do not do this place justice. Stay more than one night if you're interested in the area and the Brontes because you will need time to soak it all in. My husband and I originally booked two nights, but we actually stayed four as we loved it so much. We never wanted to leave. We will certainly be going back. Do not hesitate to book a night or more at this place as it will be an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loretta y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed at Brook house for our minimoon. The house and the hosts are fantastic. I can not rave about this place enough. If you want perfection when it comes to relaxation then this place is it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davinia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

If you're looking for a real taste of Yorkshire, Brook House is the place for you. It's hosts, Chris and Christa, are a wealth of knowledge when it comes to Yorkshire, it's history, and it's Brontes. We were very well cared for in their lovely Moor-side home and left feeling we'd seen the true underbelly of Yorkshire and the lives it's people, especially the Brontes, lived there. You're a quick drive to Haworth, lovely walks on the Moors, and good food and drink. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremybobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed at Brook House for a week at the end of May, and during our time their, it was our 25th Wedding Anniversary. I let our hosts know this prior to us arriving and they couldn't have been more helpful.

We were treated like royalty.

The property is absolutely gorgeous, with beautiful gardens, and we had a different Breakfast every morning.

Thank you Chris and Christa for making our Anniversary break such a special one.

We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are of an excellent standard, we had the Cream Room which is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise196229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook House

Address: 1 Brook House, Ogden HX2 8XN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ogden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ogden
Price Range: $80 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Brook House 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brook House is a fine Georgian period property nestling at the heart of Bronte country on the outskirts of Halifax and just a short journey to Haworth, home to Yorkshire's most famous literary family. Offering luxurious boutique bed and breakfast facilities with fine moorland views and stunning antique furniture. Produce for breakfast is all local with a wide choice available. Bedrooms have private or en suite facilities and offer luxury toiletries, fluffy dressing gowns and Yorkshire treats as well as flat screen TVs and DVDs to relax and enjoy our wide range of free Bronte films and books and English classics. Brook House is close to the unique hilltop town of Hebden Bridge and just a ten minute journey from Saltaire a world heritage site. The Yorkshire Dales are half an hour away and the major cities of Leeds and York are within an easy drive away. We look forward to offering you a true Yorkshire welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brook House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing