We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rip off” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doolin Court

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doolin Court
Ranked #15 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Doolin
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rip off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2010

These holiday homes are in a beautiful location. They are very spacious and pretty. The location is very good but a car is needed to access the sights.
However as a previous reviewer has stated the charge for utilities completly overshadowed an extremly enjoyable stay. The charge for heating is 2euro per unit(this is not mentioned in the welcome book) and electricity is 15cent per unit.This equated to a 76 euro charge for one house for 3 nights.
One of the houses we booked also had no heating for 2 nights, the only help given was a few extra blankets and a heater. They changed houses on the third night. The only concession to the extreme discomfort was this house was not charged for electricity (36 euro for 2 nights electricity). The outside temperature at the time was minus 3 degrees.
The supervisor we dealt with was extremly uncoperative and rude and refused to show us a printout of the actual meter charges only her ones.She almost seemed to expect an argument from us.
We had friends from America travelling with our party who was extremly unimpressed with all this (at a time when Ireland needs its tourists)
To summerise, beautiul houses in one of the most scenic villages in Ireland. However use the electricity very sparingly and dont go when the weather is cold!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandyw81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clare
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

We booked a holiday home via the website, watersidehomes, and were contacted within a few hours offering us a discount if we stayed longer which of course we accepted.We dealt with Emer on line and received sat nav co ordinates via email which helped to find the place in the dark.On arrival, late, we enjoyed a really well laid out and clean house.walking distance to the nearest hotel/bar and quite enough to only hear the seagulls in the morning. Weather was ok for swimming, in a wetsuit,and the nearby surfing school is a must to do . walks are free and plentiful and if its a quiet place to relax then this is it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shortstaybargains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed in Doolin Court this summer as a family. The houses are upmarket, clean and a great location.

The location is perfect for the Cliffs of Moher, Aran Islands, The Burren and golf in Lahinch.

We will definitely be back next year.

Sandra Fleming

Helpful?
Thank SandraFleming_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2009

I rented two of the houses at Doolin Court with Friends for New Years Eve in 2008/2009. We stayed for a total of around three nights and four days. First of all, the location is amazing, the surroundings are beautiful - I watched the sun rise over the hills outside my bedroom window at least twice and was amazed at how magnificent the surroundings where. There are a few great pubs and restaurants within walking distance, and several shops selling wool and craft items and such, there's also a traditional Irish music shop, an internet cafe, two bicycle hire places and some tourist ferries (at the harbour) within ten minutes walk.

If you have a car, there are lots of great tourist attractions and other towns within a short driving distance, the cliffs of Moher are about ten minutes away and the Aillwee cave is about twenty. But be warned, if you don't have some means of transport the area is quite isolated, you must be willing to take a taxi quite a distance to get to the nearest atm or supermarket.

The houses themselves have been built quite recently and are very nicely furnished. They where very clean when we arrived and they are very well appointed. Our house had a very nice fitted kitchen and dining table, several bathrooms with power showers, a washer and dryer, a television, two very nice couches and some extremely comfortable beds. Everything is of an above average standard and quite tastefully designed. You should have all of the cutlery and utensils etc. that you need if you plan to self-cater. Don't however expect the kitchen to be stocked with anything more than pepper and salt, in my experience people tend to leave certain items behind in self-catering cottages or the proprietors might give you some basics - such as teabags and sugar and such - but not here, we literally had to buy everything ourselves, so be warned.

The jury is still out on the quality of customer service, on the first night we had a problem with the electricity in one of the houses and had difficulty accessing the fusebox, when I called the number we had been given to ask if we needed a key or if it just needed to be forced open the lady on the other end wasn't particularly friendly. In the end we managed to get it open with a butter knife I believe.

On our last evening, a woman came to collect payment, personally she was pleasant enough and we had a good laugh talking to her but we where all absolutely shocked when she gave us a price for the heating and electricity (which you must pay for). We had been turning the heating on and off so as not to waste it and had spent much of our trip outside the cottage with all of the electrical items turned off and our bill for utilities was about the same as I would typically pay for my own apartment in a month or two, which is scandalous. As far as we could tell they must take a reading and then multiply it by about 10, 20 or 50, who knows. But you simply cannot use the amount of heat and electricity we paid for in the space of three days, its impossible, so that soured our experience a little bit.

Aside from this however, we had a really good time and I would almost certainly stay here again, although next time I think I would have to haggle over the utility bills. This time around I was too hungover to put up a fight.

  • Liked — The Location/ Furnishings.
  • Disliked — The cost of utilities.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DerekDoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2008

stayed in doolin court for two weeks in sept. 08.Cottage rep, Imelda was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for her.house very clean,warm and comfortable.will most definately be staying again and again,can't wait! elizabeth and gareth sloane,bolton england.

  • Liked — location,comfort,peace,
  • Disliked — that we had to leave
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sloaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2007

These are self catering cottages in the middle of Doolin, Co. Clare. We stayed there in August this year and to say they were filthy was an understatement!!
The lady who greeted us was to say the least rude (god help any non-english speaking tourists!) and very unwelcoming.
It was such a shame as the houses are lovely but are not being managed properly

  • Liked — The house were well laid out and spacious
  • Disliked — The were very dirty
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bkq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Doolin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aran View Country House
0.1 mi away
Aille River Hostel
Aille River Hostel
#2 of 15 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Doolin Hostel
Doolin Hostel
#1 of 15 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Cullinan's Guesthouse
#5 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunroman House
Dunroman House
#17 of 53 in Doolin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doolin Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolin Court

Property: Doolin Court
Address: Cliffs of Moher, Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Doolin
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
doolin court is located in the village of doolin and 4 miles from the cliffs of moher. it is the ideal base for exploring the burren and the aran islands. our properties are modern, semidetached, terraced homes, fully equipped and luxurious. this modern complex is suitable to all holiday makers. our homes are 2 bedroomed and sleep upto a max of 5 people ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing