We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing music, surprisingly amazing food.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McGann's Pub and B&B
Ranked #33 of 54 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing music, surprisingly amazing food.”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We walked from our b&b and were pleasantly surprised with the great pub atmosphere and very quality dinner. Their Caesar salad was excellent, their burger was great, fish and chips were crispy and Guinness wad perfectly poured. The music started later and was some of the best on the trip. Their was a rowdy stag party but surprisingly it added to the charm instead of taking away.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    25
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
21
58
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great food and traditional Irish music evenings made for a perfect evening in Doolin. Great atmosphere Very we'll located . Such a bonus on our holiday in Ireland stopping here...
We highly recommend this place
The pear and walnut salad was the best ever as was the beef and Guinness stew delicious..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronica42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We visited this pub for a brief lunch during a quick stop in Doolin after a tour of the Cliffs of Moher. McGann's serves great food. The service is swift and the staff friendly. Decent prices on top make this a place well worth visiting.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelJFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

A great place to eat - a true authentic Irish pub! The food was great and the staff were very friendly and helpful. When we entered the bartender asked if we wanted menus or just drinks - food was ordered at the bar and brought out to the table without much of a wait. The fish & chips was delicious and the fish chowder was the best I've ever tasted. Wish we could have stayed on for the live music!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kozikreation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This little gem is a great place to stop while visiting the cliffs region. Food was very good and authentic, and their Guiness was great as well! People were extremely friendly and willing to chat it up! I had their fish and chips and a pint of Guinness. Really great seafood options there and it is all local. Recommend highly!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We booked McGann's for one night and loved it so much we stayed two! It was the best pub we went to in Ireland! The people were friendly, the staff very helpful and the seafood chowder was awesome! Free wifi was a nice bonus. Shower was hot and had wonderful water pressure. The heat worked very well also! We will be back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Level 6 Contributor
744 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

On a November weekday night, there are naturally slimmer pickins for a good live music session quality pub meal, but we hit the jackpot on a new Thursday night E12.95 International Tastes bonanza in Doolin at McGann's Pub. Geraldine MacGown, of raspy conversational and angelic to soulful singing voice (so impressive I bought her cd) was accompanied by two wonderful solo stellar musicians on Irish bagpipes and banjo, as well as secondary level accompanying guitar and midi keyboard.

Tonight was Indian food night and I am one who's quite frequently visited the Lower East Side of Manhattan where on but one small street, co-exist 26 separate restaurants of that delightfully sophisticated cuisine. On this occasion, the five tastes menu was varied, imaginative, classically echoing the quality of my aforementioned reference, of excellent value relative to Irish prices.

Accordingly, I just had to meet the chef to bestow my compliments. It turns out he is a shy, smiling former African denizen, clearly a culinary treasure to boot. The ladies in back informed me they'd never seen him so painstakingly humble, though they assured me he was quite pleased by my desire to meet and thank him for those efforts.

I cannot speak in convenient recall of yesteryear visit experiences and the more normative fare at McGann's. However, based on others' diner comments during the night, the various hardworking members of a completely delightful staff, a clearly higher standard of normative musicianship so apparent in our experience of the evening at hand, my wife and I would make a beeline for this wonderful pub as a must stop when once again anywhere within driving distance.

Room Tip: Try to time a visit and meal to a live music night if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.0 mi away
Doolin House
Doolin House
#4 of 4 in Doolin
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dunroman House
Dunroman House
#12 of 54 in Doolin
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blackberry Lodge B&B
Blackberry Lodge B&B
#3 of 18 in Doolin
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Cullinan's Guesthouse
#4 of 54 in Doolin
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seascape Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Nellie Dees
Nellie Dees
#22 of 54 in Doolin
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McGann's Pub and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McGann's Pub and B&B

Property: McGann's Pub and B&B
Address: Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing