We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome eviroment, music and food!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McGann's Pub and B&B
Ranked #35 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stillwater, OK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome eviroment, music and food!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The family that runs the pub was very friendly. I tried lamb for the first time and ordered the lamb shank. It was the most delicious thing I had ever had. The music was also very good. Only down fall is that it is so wonderful it does get crowded but the more the merrier right?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    24
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
21
56
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, Cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

There is music here every night of the week in the summer.
Having visited Doolin many times over the last 20 years, I can say that the best night to be had is in McGann's on a Saturday night. You may catch him occasionally in another pub but on Saturday nights, the best local singer, Ted McCormac, sings in McGann's.
This is also a great place to eat at anytime.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Great atmo and outstanding salmon! Find a table and enjoy the music.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DancyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My husband and I stopped off for 2 nights in this gorgeous, friendly pub. We were exploring the local area as part of our honeymoon and we could not be made to feel more welcome and comfortable. Our room was clean, cozy and despite being above a busy, vibrant pub - we slept soundly.
We had 2 evening meals there - and some of the best homemade soda I've ever tasted! Fresh food, local produce - some excellent Irish dishes, wonderful.

In terms of location, this pub is right in the centre of things and you can easily walk to the village itself within 10 mins or so. It's an excellent hub for exploring the Aran islands, Cliffs of Moher, and the general Burren region itself.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this pub to visit, stay, eat, drink and make merry with the locals and the traditional music sessions they have - enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schijndel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We stayed in Doolin for 3 nights with our choir,.
every evening we had diner in this place.
it was FANTASTIC...food...but also THE STAFF.
Your are a lucky person.....forgot your name..to have this people working for you.
the food was great, but also the atmosfeer.
be back for sure

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Det S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We were traveling through Doolin in January to see the Cliffs of Moher and came to McGann's afterward to warm up with an Irish Coffee. The fire was so cozy that we stayed for dinner, and then many pints, and then decided to inquire about a room instead of venturing out to find other accommodations. The room was perfect. There was no live music (it was off-season), but this was still a memorable stop on our trip and I would definitely recommend staying here in your travels. Also, I should mention that we left a cell phone behind in the room and they took care of it immediately, mailing it back to us...it reached Dublin before we did!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyCast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This was lots of fun! The traditional music was great, the crowd was welcoming and fun. We sat with a family that was celebrating the 100th birthday (posthumously) of their grandfather who once owned the Pub.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.3 mi away
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Cullinan's Guesthouse
#5 of 53 in Doolin
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nellie Dees
Nellie Dees
#22 of 53 in Doolin
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aille River Hostel
Aille River Hostel
#2 of 17 in Doolin
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#18 of 53 in Doolin
112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Doolin Hostel
Doolin Hostel
#1 of 17 in Doolin
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McGann's Pub and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McGann's Pub and B&B

Property: McGann's Pub and B&B
Address: Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing