We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Pub and Cozy Room”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McGann's Pub and B&B
Ranked #34 of 54 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lindenhurst, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy Pub and Cozy Room”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We were traveling through Doolin in January to see the Cliffs of Moher and came to McGann's afterward to warm up with an Irish Coffee. The fire was so cozy that we stayed for dinner, and then many pints, and then decided to inquire about a room instead of venturing out to find other accommodations. The room was perfect. There was no live music (it was off-season), but this was still a memorable stop on our trip and I would definitely recommend staying here in your travels. Also, I should mention that we left a cell phone behind in the room and they took care of it immediately, mailing it back to us...it reached Dublin before we did!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyCast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    25
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
21
57
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This was lots of fun! The traditional music was great, the crowd was welcoming and fun. We sat with a family that was celebrating the 100th birthday (posthumously) of their grandfather who once owned the Pub.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

As another reviewer wrote, its' a bit like Cheers, you are made welcome and made to feel as if you'd been coming here for years. The place was crowded when we visited but the staff went out of our way to find a table for us in the Restaurant.

The food was very good, the chicken wings were hot and tasty and the main courses of Steak, Salmon and Irish Stew were all good.

The highlight as far as our party were concerned was the music which was top class. Shame some people chose to talk all the way through it. The musicians were first rate and very friendly, talking about their music with us like we were old friends. So if you want a good time go to McGanns and look out anywhere for the Geraldine MacGowan band.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveFinTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The bartender made me feel at home right away. It was like I was Norm at Cheers. I was part of the group righ away. The goat cheese salad was so good I had it again the next night. The food and drinks make this pub great and the music make it the best in Doolin.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelley34HoustonTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed in Doolin in order to be near the Cliffs of Moher. We stopped into McGann's for a pint and dinner and ended up staying in the rooms above the pub. It was reasonably priced and our room was fabulous. Nothing fancy but nice, warm, clean and comfy. We took naps and headed back down to the pub for some local music. This group playing was awesome....very talented. The pub was packed and we enjoyed the company. The people were so friendly. We closed the place down :) I would HIGHLY recommend McGann's. This was one of my favorite places that we stayed at.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamhicks10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

my stay at mcganns began with a local friend bringing me there recommending it for food ,hospitality and location to" the burren"(which was what brought me to that area on my first trip to ireland) she said we know the people who run mcganns and you will be well taken care of there...no truer words were ever spoken...my weeklong stay there began with friendship,a wonderful meal, pint of guinness, night of fantastic music and a restful sleep in a clean comfy bed! the first of many days and nights....the staff were caring and helpful and the locals charming and full of wonderful tipsabout this awesome area....i cant wait to return to the charm and warmth of the local people at mcganns and doolin...stop.... stay .......and spend a few days ...don't just go through on your way to somewhere else...its a fine place to stay awhile....

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myerstown, PA
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We didn't stay at the B&B (stayed at another close by though). We were recommended to McGann's for music and the recommendation was good! Arrived around 9:30 on a Friday in March and the place was hoppin'. Good atmosphere (not like a bar in the US) with lots of good music, singing, clapping, and laughter. If you're there when Ted stops by and sings you're in for a treat! The rest are good but Ted knows how to please the crowd. I'm sure the other pubs are good too but we're glad we went to McGanns that night. We have a lot of good memories!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.0 mi away
Doolin House
Doolin House
#4 of 4 in Doolin
80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aran View Country House
0.3 mi away
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Cullinan's Guesthouse
#4 of 54 in Doolin
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dunroman House
Dunroman House
#11 of 54 in Doolin
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seascape Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#15 of 54 in Doolin
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McGann's Pub and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McGann's Pub and B&B

Property: McGann's Pub and B&B
Address: Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing