We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality spoiled by the shower”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riverdale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 54 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Spennymoor, County Durham
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great hospitality spoiled by the shower”
Reviewed July 31, 2008

Lovely warm welcome here, but were slightly dissapointed by the standard of the room.

The room was clean but the en-suite shower room was very dated and the shower was really bad, it was one of those that you have to run around in to get wet.

We wished we had seen the bathroom earlier and asked to use that as we were very tired after a long bike ride.

We were crushed under the weight of all the blankets on the bed and would have loved a duvet instead.

However don't think that staying here was a bad experience the owner was very friendly and the breakfast was great in front of a peat fire, lovely.

  • Liked — Warm friendly welcome
  • Disliked — The shower
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k1200ltgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ny,ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

As this was my first visit to Ireland, I wasn’t sure what to expect. The Riverdale Farm House was beautiful, and Mary Fitzgerald was so friendly. We were welcomed by her son’s dog, who greeted us at the car with excitement. The rooms were cozy and had everything you needed. The breakfast was amazing – ask for the porridge! Mary was even kind enough to send me the recipe afterwards. The B&B was a short drive to the town. It was my first visit, but won’t be my last!

  • Liked — Location and People
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danadtnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2008

Riverdale Farmhouse B&B is a warm and friendly place to stay near Doolin. The owner, Mary Fitzgerald, is a lovely person who truly loves people and does her best to make them feel at home. There is usually a warm turf fire burning in the guest's family room, or in the dining room during breakfast. We have stayed with Mary three times now. Her accommodations are reasonable, clean and comfortable, and her breakfasts are wonderful and delicious. She is a warm and delightful person, and goes out of her way to be helpful. We had the unfortunate experience of having booked rooms with Mary in 2007, when a sudden death occured in her family the day before our arrival. Despite the grief and chaos that must have been going on in her family, she still found other accommodations for us before we arrived, and even made dinner reservations for us as she had promised to do. It is worth being a mile and a half outside of Doolin in order to stay at Riverdale Farmhouse.

  • Liked — the owner, Mary Fitzgerald
  • Disliked — one of the rooms is not ensuite
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deedeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

Gortaclob, Doolin, Co. Clare, Ireland : Feels Like Home

In June, 2007, we had the wonderful experience of staying
two nights at Mary Fitzgerald's charming Riverdale Farmhouse
B & B, nestled in the hills just a short distance from Doolin.
We found this lovely yellow farmhome to be exceptionally
clean and it's owner, Mary, warm and friendly with a delightfully
sweet laugh. The rooms were ensuite and cheerfully decorated.
Breakfast was prepared just as requested and graciously
served. The location of this B & B is within an easy drive to and
from Shannon airport. Our stay was so lovely, we didn't really
want to leave.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingretirees_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.9 mi away
Aran View Country House
1.0 mi away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
1.3 mi away
Limestone Lodge
Limestone Lodge
#31 of 54 in Doolin
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Glasha Meadows
Glasha Meadows
#9 of 54 in Doolin
246 reviews
1.4 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#14 of 54 in Doolin
125 reviews
1.8 mi away
St. Anthony's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverdale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

Property: Riverdale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Address: Gortaclob, Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverdale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riverdale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing