We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B and B: A true warm Irish welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riverdale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent B and B: A true warm Irish welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Mary is the absolute Irish lady as she welcomes you into her beautiful b and b, immediately making you feel that you've arrived home. From the immaculate rooms, to the lovely en-suites (possibly brand new), to sitting by the fire in the sitting room, to a quiet peaceful sleep and a wonderful breakfast, we could not have asked for a more wonderful stay. She made phone calls for us, suggested sight-seeing and restaurants, gave us driving directions and although she must be terribly busy, always had time for a nice chat as well. I don’t think I could go back to Ireland and not stay with Mary again; I’d have to make a special trip to the West Coast! I feel as though I now have a friend in Doolin, Ireland. After only two nights with Mary I honestly did not want to leave!
Sincere Thanks,
Teresa, Laurie, Pat and Paul

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Padua, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

i was there only for one night with all of my family ...we've enjoied the spirit of Mary, her smiling charmness her delicious breakfast with the torf's chaminet perfect for a raining morning and the very best harrings all over our journey. rooms are very quiet with the right amount of radiators to dry up our sweaters. she's a wonderful person and she's able to advice we're you should go o take a dinner. try her and you'll not be disappointed! a big hug from italy
love and see you

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank domenico r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

It was a holiday weekend and the first 2 B&B's we checked were full. We didn't know how fortunate we were. Riverdale is just outside of the small town center of Doolin set in a beautiful country side with farmland and horses. Mary's home is warm and inviting. She has many suggestions and is very knowledgable and helpful in planing your stay in Doolin and the next leg of your adventure. Food, accommodations and ambiance get high marks. We would return to Mary and recommend her home to any traveler or friend. Go raibh maith agat. The Shaughnessy's from the USA.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne and Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grassy Creek, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

I can't say enough about Mary Fitzgerald the owner of Riverdale Farmhouse. She was the most well informed, interesting, genuinely caring woman to talk with I've met in a very long while. Her home was warm and comfortable with turf fires burning in the breakfast room each morning. I could have lingered there feeling the unique warmth and enjoying the tangy, earthy smell until the last ember died. The food was delicious and bountiful. Our room was quiet, beautifully furnished, cozy and relaxing. We enjoyed the nearby farm horse who was a loving pet. Doolin was a short drive away with several pubs, good food and live music. The Burren, Cliffs of Moher and Corkscrew Hill were all an easy drive from Mary's. I can't wait to return to Doolin someday and Mary's wonderful, warm, dreamy Irish home. Thank you for our most Irish experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

I enjoyed my stay with Mary at her B&B. She was very welcoming and helpful. Her home was delightful and comfortable. Her Irish breakfast was excellent. I also enjoyed an evening at the local pub of her suggestion with live music and great food! I enjoyed talking with her about the Burren area and Ireland in general and she helped me to learn more about this wonderful country. Thank you and I definitely hope to return!
John Emmons
Science Teacher from New Jersey, USA

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scilabteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

Riverdale Farmhouse feels like a home away from home. We stayed at the farm for four nights and loved it! Mary Fitzgerald is the owner and is the sweetest, loveliest person you will ever meet. She was so friendly and spoiled us greatly with warm turf fires, delicious breakfasts and lively conversation. The rooms are nicely decorated and are very comfortable. The farmhouse is found just a short distance from Doolin and is a great base point for exploring the burren and cliffs of Moher. The only bad part about the stay was having to leave.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jolly_dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2008

We stayed at Riverdale our very first night in Ireland. I'm sorry we didn't make arrangements to stay here much longer. Mary is a remarkably warm, and gracious hostess. Her cooking was delicious and plentiful. She was only too willing to accommodate us with our early check in time on our first day ever in Ireland. Our room had a true home feeling (a tad on the smaller side) but hardly noticed with all the charm it possessed. The town of Doolin is an amazing town. Mountains, rolling hills, cows, sheep and so on and so on. TRULY MAGICAL. If you go here, which we highly recommend, McDermott' Pub on the main way is a MUST! Hopefully Oein(sp?) O'Neill will be playing (phenomenal) and the pub crew were great. We can't wait to come back. Thanks Mary!!
WE LOVE RIvERDALE FARMHOUSE.
Lisa & Michael-Boston MA

  • Liked — Welcoming, relaxed and cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeLaa18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
1.0 mi away
Aran View Country House
1.6 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
1.7 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Glasha Meadows
Glasha Meadows
#11 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#15 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.9 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 53 in Doolin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverdale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

Property: Riverdale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Address: Gortaclob, Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverdale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Riverdale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing