We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and clean”
Review of Nellie Dees

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nellie Dees
Ranked #20 of 56 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I stayed here with my three teenaged kids. They were thrilled that the internet was strong. Haha. The things kids focus on. Also the three great pubs in town are within walking distance. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. Windows open so even in the warm weather we were very comfortable. Jimmy met us and took our order for breakfast. Worked out great. Only four rooms so not worried about overcrowding at breakfast. Food was tasty. Hosts were wonderful. Would stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 262 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

Doolin is such a warm and welcoming community. Nellie Dee's is just at top end of Doolin. It is perfect to walk off those pints you had while listening to all the music Doolin is known for. It is far enough away that you do not hear all the partying that goes on at times at the pubs in the wee hours of the night. It is a perfect location to call home base as you take in all the attractions- cliffs of Moher, Doolin Cave, the Burren, Poullnabbrone Dolmen. We stayed for three nights. There is so much to see.
Everything was on one floor( no stairs to carry up suitcases). We had a large room with a double bed. It was neat and very clean. As Jimmy said, Doolin is a small town. They do not have a lot of water pressure. I chuckle when I hear that people expect things as if they were home. I always remember that I travel in order to experience how other countries live and love life. No you will not find the big bath sheets but your basics are there in a warn, clean and friendly environment.
You had breakfast options and we tried them all. The breakfasts was well prepared. I loved the drizzle of honey on the yogurt with fruit option. They were very attentive to make sure you had enough. What more could we have asked for....not a thing....thank you Loraine and Jimmy!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Beautiful little B&B in a rural area. The rooms are only "small" by American hotel comparison. Ours was spotless and very neat!. The view from the breakfast area is of the Cliffs of Moher in the distance. On a clear day it is absolutely inspiring. Jimmy is informative and as helpful as can be! Delightful to stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lou933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had called to let Jimmy know that we would be late (after 6PM). Arrived after a beautiful yet long coastal drive through the Burren. Our room was small and clean. The bathroom was very small, but we made it work...
The next morning, Jimmy greeted us with his Irish humor and the porridge (oatmeal) was the best of the trip. Breakfast both mornings was very excellent. The family is nice and helpful. Very good location and there is a view of the cliffs from the breakfast room. We enjoyed staying here !

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdhtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I had e-mail correspondence with the owners before staying there and they were helpful with advice and things to do in the area (and it was April so they told us not to worry about dinner or boat reservations... things like that). And when we arrived they continued to be friendly and helpful. Just a nice family renting a few rooms - real people, i guess you'd say. We found the accommodations to be comfortable and clean, and enjoyed our visit to Doolin. Not sure how long I would want to stay in that area, but a couple days of the small town charm was quite nice. We also heard the matchmaker festival in the fall is quite fun, though haven't been.

Anyway, nice people (who make a darn good breakfast too). Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

After driving all day from Kenmare and stopping through Dingle, my husband and I were pleased to arrive at our resting place for the night near the Cliffs of Moher. We attempted to see them on our way but it was cold and after 8PM. Our arrangements were made through Exploring Ireland and the directions were accurate as we passed by a couple of pubs and restaurants, we were glad they were down the street as we imagined that some would be walking back to their places after a long night of merriment. Peter welcomed us when we walked inside and immediately showed us the common area, he also provided us with the choices that needed to be made for breakfast and the preferred time between 8-9:30AM. He then showed us our room number 1 and provided us with instructions for the internet while inviting us to ring him anytime if we needed assistance. Our room was small but inviting with a double bed and a twin that we used for storage. The bathroom was tiny but we were able to make do with the space and the towels were adequate. There was also a couple of hair and body shampoos that smelled nicely. We immediately walked to find a place to eat although Peter did not make any definite recommendations so we found a nice bistro. Our walk back was hampered by wind and the cold but we were happy to take warm showers and settle into the comfortable bed. The 4 guest rooms are located downstairs and it was fairly quiet throughout the night. The next morning, Jimmy once again greeted us with a bit of the Irish humor and our porridge which was delicious (I didn’t realize that it was oatmeal). We both chose menu #3 and were served a substantial amount of smoked salmon, the coffee was strong but necessary given that we had to get on the road. The place was clean, welcoming and well situated for sightseeing. There was also an option close by to take the ferry to the Aran Islands but the weather was too windy, rainy and cold.

Room Tip: It seems that the front facing rooms #1 and 2 are better as they face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherrieseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Owners were very pleasant and accommodating. Very comfortable beds. Short walk to pubs and very convenient drive to ferry and Cliffs of Moher walk. Thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts prepared by Mr. Spencer. Thanks!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Cathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
633 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cois na Habhann
Cois na Habhann
#13 of 56 in Doolin
92 reviews
1.1 mi away
O'Learys Lodge B&B
O'Learys Lodge B&B
#10 of 56 in Doolin
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 56 in Doolin
477 reviews
1 mi away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
0.4 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#11 of 56 in Doolin
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nellie Dees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nellie Dees

Address: Killilagh, Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range: $86 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nellie Dees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing