We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Nellie Dees

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nellie Dees
Ranked #22 of 56 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2011

A fine place to stay in Doolin. The rooms were very good and the breakfast was fine. This B&B was walking distance to almost anything in Doolin

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 262 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2011

my husband and i my daughter, my 2 sons and daughter in law just spent 2 nights in nellie dees,what excellent food and lots of choices for breakfast,hospitality the best lovely people,3mins away the best of trad music.we will be back

Room Tip: allways check it out,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rose h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We had a booking for 27th August 2011. Arrived just after 1 pm. NO ONE around. Went touring around and came back at 3 pm ... Still NO ONE present! Went to Pub for a drink & was advised that the owners had gone to England for a wedding! So unprofessional hosts not to honor their forward bookings! Luckily we were able to get alternative accommodation ... NELLIE DON'T!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorspencer, Owner at Nellie Dees, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Dear GeorgioF

I was disappointed to read your review but also understand your frustration when you were unable to check in to where your Tour Operator has advised you a reservation had been made on your behalf.

I feel I must clarify the situation as I am also frustrated as this is not a good reflection on Nellie Dee's but what happened was through no fault of mine.

The fact that I was not at home to meet and greet you was because I had no reservations on August 27th.

In fact your reservation was cancelled by a Tour Operator and I have forwarded a copy of the cancellation notice I received to the Agency you booked your vacation through. I trust you have been contacted by the Agency in question as they assured me they would contact you and explain why there was no reservation made on your behalf here.

I hope this upset did not impact too much on your evening in Doolin.

Yours sincerely
Loraine Spencer
Nellei Dee's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Six of us stayed two nights at Nellie Dee's and we're glad we chose this spot in Doolin. Innkeepers were very helpful with local tips, ferry schedules and restaurant recommendations. Jim serves a wonderful breakfast! Try the fresh fruit with yogurt and honey swirled on top for breakfast. The porridge was the best we had in Ireland! Very clean accommodations. Great location in walking distance from two pubs and a great restaurant. Highly recommend this quiet, lovely B&B!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BettyS_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This is a nice, new, clean and bright place. It's an easy walk to the pubs for music and a great location for visiting Doolin and the Burren. Thanks to Lorraine, our hostess, who spent a good deal of time helping us find another room for the next night, we stayed two nights in Doolin, and we'll love to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dianne603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This B&B was absolutely terrific! With a welcoming puppy named Jacob and the host who was warm, caring, and full of information. A very peaceful place close to the ocean with amazing views, you could walk anywhere for a bite to eat or some light shopping. I would recommend this B&B to everyone! I wish we could have stayed there longer :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeanhWilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

A very well situated bungalow, spotlessly clean and comfortable, homely, very peaceful. Run by Jimmy and Lorraine who are most welcoming and congenial hosts. Breakfasts are excellent too.
2 mins walk into Doolinn for food and drink.
Go there!!!

Room Tip: The twin room is at the front but all are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DekMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.6 mi away
Dunroman House
Dunroman House
#11 of 56 in Doolin
158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Seascape Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#12 of 56 in Doolin
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blackberry Lodge B&B
Blackberry Lodge B&B
#6 of 20 in Doolin
115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Cullinan's Guesthouse
#5 of 56 in Doolin
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nellie Dees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nellie Dees

Address: Killilagh, Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range: $84 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Nellie Dees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing