We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inisheer and The Cliffs of Moher - Family loved it all!”

Doolin2Aran Ferries
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.13*
and up
Cliffs of Moher Cruise from Doolin
Ranked #3 of 20 things to do in Doolin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Doolin2Aran Ferries is owned by the Garrihy's family and is the largest ferry company operating between Doolin and the Aran Islands. It is the original Cliffs Of Moher cruise company. It operates a fleet of 4 ships with a capacity for 332 passengers and sails from March to November. We hope to welcome you on board soon!
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Inisheer and The Cliffs of Moher - Family loved it all!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

A trip to Ireland is hardly complete without a visit to the Cliffs of Moher...and I really wanted to go to the Aran Islands - how wonderful to find a trip that would touch on both.

We started our trip by packing a lunch and heading for Inisheer. It was a lovely island that bowled us over with the rock walls. Walking thru Inisheer was like being in a life size maze - how cool is that? My Irish born husband was thrilled to find all sorts of candy from his youth in the local store - so we stocked up. Then it was back to the boat for the cruise around the Cliffs of Moher. Fantastic! It was beautiful - it took our breath away - and we all agreed it was a not-to-miss activity. The crew was friendly and helpful.

When we got back to shore we headed to the top of the Cliffs - and walked along the edge.

It was really neat to see the Cliffs from both vantage points - it became even more dramatic seeing it from the sea and then from the land. I strongly encourage you to do it all in a day.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TeressaNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    210
    84
    45
    48
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cliffs of Moher -view from the sea”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

beautiful views from the sea to the cliffs of moher, very funny boat-trip. A man of the crew made photos for a tourist. As the camera didn´t worked he ordered the captain to make a second turn to have the right motive in the background - crazy!
Unfortunately the trip doesn´t went up to the other end of the cliffs.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Klappskalli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Check ferry times for return”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

as they may not run the last one, so no time to walk the Inishsheer island. Day trip is great and we had cliffs of Moher cruise thrown in for free on return. Standing on the bow is also a great way to get wet!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SkiingHeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“where is the safety????”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

i just got back from a lovely three week holiday in ireland- the people of ireland are lovely, the scenery is spectacular, and i absolutely loved it. fortunately for us, the rest of the trip wasn't like the ferry ride that we took a day after we got there. the tickets were easily gotten, as we booked it online before we ever left the states. on the way to the aran islands, we sat in the cabin underneath and it was okay- made you feel a little queasy, but that's to be expected. the island was beautiful. they sent a totally different boat to bring us back, and we thought "what the heck, sit topside and avoid the queasiness from being shut in". i can't believe those people even attempted to get us back to doolin. the waters were terrible- i don't believe anybody on that boat has ever been that frightened before. the boat was going back and forth at a fourty five degree angle the entire time. common sense should have told them to go back. we were sitting topside and hanging on for dear life. speaking of life, there were no life preservers or life jackets of any kind on board. my two friends were sitting on the bench and i had my arm behind them both, clutching the railing like my life depended on it, which it actually did. whenever my arm slipped, we all went flying across the bench. it was absoluteley terrifying. we finally reached doolin after LOTS of prayers, and were supposed to go along the cliffs of moher for another hour. that might have not been so bad, but they piled a bunch more people in, and most of us already on the boat decided to get off. we talked to some locals in town later that day and were told that the ferry operators think it's funny to do that to tourists. if everyone with a business in ireland treated tourists like that, they wouldn't have an economy. there's nothing funny about endangering the lives of the people on that boat. and they should have refunded the people that didn't go on to the cliffs. but again, the safety issue is what really bothered me. we could have been tossed overboard so many times, and those two idiots in the enclosed cabin never even checked to see if we were still on the seats. NO life vests, and oblivious to the passengers safety. i would NEVER suggest that ferry company to anybody i cared about- it's dangerous and the operators are obviously ignorant, sitting inside thier little cabin and smirking. i just thanked God that we made it back alive.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cindycat1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Rain, a rolling small boat, a little dust here and there, red noses, wet clothes, the smell of the sea, imposing cliffs at the horizon: I enjoyed every second of the crossing to the Aran Islands.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vergogna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doolin2Aran Ferries also viewed

 
Doolin, The Burren
 

Been to Doolin2Aran Ferries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing