We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doolin2Aran Ferries

Doolin2Aran Ferries
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.49*
and up
Cliffs of Moher Cruise from Doolin
Ranked #3 of 20 things to do in Doolin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Doolin2Aran Ferries is owned by the Garrihy's family and is the largest ferry company operating between Doolin and the Aran Islands. It is the original Cliffs Of Moher cruise company. It operates a fleet of 4 ships with a capacity for 332 passengers and sails from March to November. We hope to welcome you on board soon!
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Rain, a rolling small boat, a little dust here and there, red noses, wet clothes, the smell of the sea, imposing cliffs at the horizon: I enjoyed every second of the crossing to the Aran Islands.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vergogna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    201
    82
    45
    45
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a Ride! A Real Highlight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband & I awoke that Sunday AM - overcast - but still looking forward to our ride from the Doolin Pier to Inishmore. First hour was " rather exciting", we felt it ADDED to the experience, and enjoyed every minute. Staff was courteous, and a great help to 1 guest - got seacksick. Rest of us were fine. Very prompt, both leaving Doolin & vleaving Inishmore as well. Rec'd a discount - when booking on their ONLINE SITE. Very pleased. Hope to take this ferry again next year.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarylandTaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Helping Hands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

When returning to Doolin from a wedding on inishmor, a man approached us and offered to help with our luggage, who then, when asked where were going (bus stop) he offered to take us there. When I tried to pay him, he refused. He turned out to be one of the owners of the ferry company, and all he wanted was to be helpful. Oh, and the ferry ride (over and back) was handled efficiently and on-schedule.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
1 review
“Doolin2Aran Ferries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We used Doolin2 Aran Ferries for a trip to Cliffs of Moher in mid-October. Even though the seas were a bit rough and the weather windy and cold, we really enjoyed this excursion! The cliffs were truly amazing from this vantage point and well worth any physical discomfort. This outfit's service was memorable in that when we returned to the office to use the loo, and Joe (sold us the tickets...) saw that we were chilled to the bone, he brought us a glass of Scotch whiskey...warmed us right up!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2travelbugs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Spa, NY
2 reviews
“Great View of the Cliffs of Moher”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

After a number of visits to see the Cliffs from the top under all sorts of weather conditions, we took the Doolin2AranFerries ride recently and loved it. The captain made a number of passes to give everyone close up views of the cliff wall and the offshore spire that had birds jumping off in order to entertain the visitors. It was slightly overcast but this gave great views of the many colors on the walls of the cliff without being blinded by sun from above. Like any activity in Ireland, you need to dress for the worst, as it's cold at sea in October, and to expect that times may be a little off. But it's a great adventure and one we were very glad we embarked on. Everyone on the tour loved it, including those who opted to stay inside and watch through the window.

Ron and Lynne 2012

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Irishmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doolin2Aran Ferries also viewed

 
Liscannor, County Clare
Doolin, The Burren
 

Been to Doolin2Aran Ferries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing