We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to enjoy Clare and the Aran Islands”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nagle's Doolin Camping & Caravan Park
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Bray, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great base to enjoy Clare and the Aran Islands”
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Stayed in nagles with husband and four young children. Site is very open and windy, so better in caravans or campers, although they do have sheltered areas for tents. The location is quite remote, and a bike is a must to explore the area. They can be rented nearby for around 7 euro per day. The campsite itself has a flat tarred road so kids can cycle around. There is no playgorund which they got over fairly quickly when they made friends, and cycled around for hours and hours. The staff were extremely friendly, and even thought there were hundreds there, you felt as if they knew you personally. Being asked a hundred times a day by 4 5 and 6 year olds "How much is this and how much is that" didnt phase the staff in any way, they were so good with the children. The ferry to the Aran islands is only 2 minute walk away, and you can bring your bikes along free. The village of Doolin is a ten minute walk, where there are some great pubs and good food. There was a great atmosphere on the site, seemed to be a fair mix of families, and retired couples just relaxing. Well supervised at night by the owners, but not in an intrusive way. Would definitely go again. PS check which roads are the best to get there. Some of them are dreadful, so shorter may not be better

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campingkidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    66
    14
    3
    12
See reviews for
117
94
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Malahide, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed here for one night at the start of August. The site was very busy but we managed to find a pitch without much hassle. The toilets and showers are very clean and plentiful. There are cooking and laundry facilities available aswell although we had no need to check these out.

Gus O'Connors Pub is about 10 mins walk away, where the food is really quite good and at night you can expect a trad session to kick off.

The shop on the campsite had all the essentials and given the remoteness of the location was really reasonably priced.

Pitch and Putt course beside the campsite is really quite good and well maintained. The views of the Cliffs of Moher and the Aran Isalnds are spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superlav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co louth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2010

I fish alot in the area and have stayed in campsite many times.I find it to be a excellent site with great views etc.Pubs is only about a 10 minute walk away,but if your the lazy type you can call a taxi.Have never had any problems with Ken the owner, and made me feel more than welcome.The toilets etc are very clean as is the campsite itself.So in 2010 i plan to have plenty of more stays in the site.If anyone would like anymore information on the site or area feel free to drop me a line.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lureangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
actionfighter
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2009

I stayed in this campsite with my girlfriend and and a few of our friends,its our third visit
and cant say a bad word about the place very well run great security,and the owner Ken Nagle couldnt have been nicer.
We were lookin for a taxi to give us a spin to the pub on the saterday night and Ken wouldnt let us,instead he gave us a free lift down!,afterwards the bar lady in gus o conners pub gave us all a lift home at around half 1 in the mornin!
all in all a great weekend and cant wait to get back next year,as for the other reviews i think its great that the site is well supervised at night and you can get a peacefull nights sleep,who wants noise all night?

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saluda, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

at the edge of town in doolin... right by the pier. very nice, grassy campground. nice showers and bathroom. pay for showers. they have a kitchen, you have to pay to use the stove.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iselynjenniep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2008

My experience is not as bad as some of these previous reviews. We had a great time. Although that could be because we were travelling/
touring and where knackered, so we were in bed for about 1am and out like a light.

First of all - We are from the north and we did not encounter any hostility from the owner/staff or anyone else. Infact - because we turned up about 4o'clock - he only charged us half price for the first night. We had such a great time - We stayed for an extra night.

Getting the tent up was the only real problem we had. It was so windy that an Englishman and a Scotsman seen that we were in trouble of our holiday turning into a paragliding trip, and came to help us which was greatly appreciated.

The campsite itself was a little waterlogged but the owner pointed us in the right direction and we had a dry and comfortable night. The toilets were clean and showers were plentyiful (tokens needed for hot showers). I would advise 2 tokens for women who want to wash their hair properly. The kitchen facilities were very good but you had to pay to use the cookers on offer (not that we needed to as we had our own camping gear to cook with). The shop was handy if you needed anything straight away but if you have time - Get into lisdoonvarna as there is good shops/mini supermarkets their to buy your necessarys.
There is a mini Golfcourse (par 3) right next to the campsite which is a great laugh and a must. I don't think you'll play a game of golf with views of the ocean like this. Beware - You'll pay for each lost ball (quite easy to do) and also - Only take one set of clubs round with you - less to carry and cheaper and you only need an iron and putter.

The views are spectactular and the waves breaking against the shoreline are amazing to wake up to.

One last thing - Bring something warm as it can get really really windy. Brilliant place

  • Liked — The Views
  • Disliked — The Wind
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belfastlady06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmeath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2008

A small group of us stayed here for one night this weekend. To say the experience was awful is an understatement. The views are spectacular but there are plenty of places to stay in the area close to the stunning beauty Doolin has to offer. If you are young and want to "talk" to your friends after dark then I suggest you book in somewhere else. The owner expects no talking or laughing and he seems to have a "no fun" policy. The cost is cheap as chips but I would recommend you pay a little extra unless you enjoy being annoyed, met with aggression and have someone bang on your tent at all hours of the morning for no reason.

I'm sure it's a fantastic place if you value extreme peace and quiet and a very early night!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The owner
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Museiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
593 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aran View Country House
3.4 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Doolin House
Doolin House
#4 of 4 in Doolin
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic View Bed & Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Cullinan's Guesthouse
#4 of 54 in Doolin
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nagle's Doolin Camping & Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nagle's Doolin Camping & Caravan Park

Property: Nagle's Doolin Camping & Caravan Park
Address: Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Doolin
Number of rooms: 99

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing