We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of our stay in Ireland”
Review of Churchfield B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Churchfield B & B
Ranked #14 of 56 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Can't disagree more with WayneKayla. Maeve is welcoming and went above and beyond as a host. During our stay, she went out of her way to make us feel comfortable and she provided us with delicious breakfast daily. Had we been chilly (which we were not) I am sure she would have turned on the heat in the room if we asked. This was the best between the four different places we stayed on our trip, including the couple nights we were upgraded to a swanky hotel in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ittybittyprettyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 297 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

One of the first things you notice at Maeve's B&B is the welcoming entrance room along side the bright breakfast room and tables set for service. Then in walks Maeve to greet you with a wonderful smile and a "thousand welcomes." The rooms upstairs are generous in size and storage with great mattresses for a restful sleep. The common sitting area provides a beautiful view for use of wi-fi etc. or just to relax and watch the fabulous everchanging Irish Skyscapes. Maeve provides a hearty Irish breakfast with the best coffee anywhere (try her Irish Oatmeal!). But the priceless thing I noticed is in the service Maeve herself provides. She has an observant eye and can anticipate your needs and likes before you quite know them yourself...whether it's information provided, tips on places and people to see, or suggestions on which activities are weather dependent...she knows. Churchfield provides an at-ease atmosphere with great charm and you benefit from her years of experience in welcoming travelers from everywhere. The experience there is like the commercial from Mastercard "priceless."

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whiteChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Churchfield is truly the BEST!! Your host, Maeve, is fabulous. If you have questions
or concerns about ANYTHING, she will drop everything and help you. She took such good care of my friend and I on our recent trip, we cried when we left. And we can't wait to return! This is my second stay with Maeve, and I've never been in such a wonderful place. Her breakfasts are beyond delicious!! The rooms are excellent -- clean, comfortable and quiet. She goes out of her way to make her guests happy. When staying at Churchfield B & B, you experience real Irish hospitality and warmth. I felt happy, contented and well-cared for ~ it was really my "home away from home."
You've GOT to stay at Churchfield when you're in Doolin!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanL193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Although the visit was on a very rainy day didn't feel any better at Churchfield. Maeve was nice and welcoming (offered to dry the clothes for us) but it didn't overcome the cold rooms with no heat (extra blankets). WIFI was only accessible in the common areas.

Did have great access to the limited food and entertainment.

Compared to the others we stayed at we would never go back to Churchfield.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank WayneKarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Maeve Fitzgerald is a delight - affable and ready with dining/touring suggestions. Wonderful linens, comfortable bed, plenty of places to plug in devices and store personal items. Skylight in bathroom and lovely window view. Nice sitting room for wifi access allows chatting with other guests. Tasty breakfast! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I stayed 2 nights with two brothers. We were up early to have a look around. It was near the end of our trip and we had learned that driving is much easier in the early morning hours, just after sunrise. The surrounding area is beautiful. We came back for a delicious full Irish breakfast - the best we had tasted. Then off for the day; back in the late afternoon for a rest; and over to the pubs for dinner and music. We met the locals who knew our hostess, Maeve; and just like her, they made us feel at home. We slept soundly. We enjoyed the reading room. Everything was nice and clean.. We had to leave early on our last day to catch the plane out of Shannon. Maeve got up early and fed us for our journey. 'Twas a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thomas p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed one night here. The location was excellent, there were a couple great local pubs nearby that we could easily walk to. Maeve was a great host and she recommended we take the ferry ride by the cliffs of mohr...definitely the best decision we made! The views of the cliffs from the water are breathtaking.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
618 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aran View Country House
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 56 in Doolin
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation
0.3 mi away
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Cullinan's Guesthouse
#5 of 56 in Doolin
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchfield B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchfield B & B

Address: Doolin, Doolin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Churchfield Bed And Breakfast
Churchfield Hotel Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing