We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautifull peace place to relax and watch the landscapes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doonagore Farmhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doonagore Farmhouse
Ranked #30 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
San Gimignano, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A beautifull peace place to relax and watch the landscapes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

if you want to relax and get off from the real world come here and enjoy. It is a great B&B and, behind it, there is a special landscape and you can see doolin and his port.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuele096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    24
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
62
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2010

This B&B was great! Mary was more than accommodating with what we liked for breakfast and was a great cook. Her son was also more than happy to show us the way to the VERY long hike to the Cliffs of Moher. If you don't have any physical limitations I would highly recommend this hike! We got the room we wanted with an ocean view and it was beautiful (we could see the aran islands from our window). There were nice bars and restaurants very close. When we go back to Ireland we will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tkuhls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

This farm was AWESOME! We had arrived a bit late but Mary was able to get us a table to eat at a wonderful restaurant called the Stone Cutters, just up the road a bit. We were also put in the room with a view of the Aran Islands. Comfy and quiet was this amazing farmhouse! The breakfast was among the BEST I had while in Ireland and the nights were absolutely stunning with the sun setting over the Aran Islands... Located really Close to the Aran Islands, The Burren Perfumery, and the Cliffs of Moher this is a MUST stay farmhouse! Will be back sOOn I hope!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blas-Herrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

I was very excited to stay here from the great reviews I had read. When we arrived, we were given little information--even had to ask what time breakfast was, etc, and felt as though we were in the way, and no tea/coffee were offered as per the advert. The location is wonderful as is the lovely little farm. The rooms were clean. Someone was weedwacking/strimming until after 11pm and the walls transmitted sound rather well-- another guest at the end of the hallway had a baby that was up crying all night and it was as if it was in our rooms. The following morning, one of our rooms had no hot water for showers and the proprietress replied--Well a lot of people took showers last night, nothing I can do about that. Although adequate, we were glad we only stayed one night, and were disappointed.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank ScotGal999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Doonagore Farmhouse. It was the best stay of the entire vacation. (which was 10 days) Mary and Pat were excellent hosts and suggested lots of places to visit, along with driving directions - which you will need!
The view is absolutely fabulous! The Cliffs of Moher are only about 3 miles away. The town of Doolin is even closer and there is a wonderful rocky shore to explore and the food at O'Connor's Pub is fantastic!
I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank epmonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Kentucky
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

Doonagore Farmhouse is great ! Mary Sweeney was our host and no one could have offered more hospitality. Doonagore is located a few miles from Doolin and is centrally located to tour The Burren and to see the Cliffs of Moher. Actually The Burren is all around this area and you can drive to key sights in The Burren in an easy 30 minutes. The Cliffs of Moher are even closer. Our room at Doonagore was great with a queen size bed and another twin bed in the room. The bath was very good with a great power shower. The farmhouse is on a working farm with views of the Atlantic Ocean. Hard to imagine being able to live in such a beautiful place. Our hostess was great and the breakfasts were fantastic. Mary fixed what you asked for and had cereals and fruit available. When we asked for breakfast a little early on our last morning, so we could get back to Shannon Airport, Mary was more than happy to accomodate. And Doonagore is exactly one hour from Shannon so it is very convenient if you are flying out. If you want a great location, beautiful sight and charming hostess, you can't beat Doonagore. It is also minutes from Doolin which has several great pubs which feature traditional Irish music.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prabedky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

Nice bed and breakfast. Kind hostess. Good breakfast. A few miles from Doolin (with hindsight we would have stayed right in Doolin so we could walk home at night). You need a car if you are staying here, you can't walk to any activities.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank calajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
1.5 mi away
Aran View Country House
1.8 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#13 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.5 mi away
Moloney House
Moloney House
#29 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
St. Anthony's Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Pairc Lodge B & B
Pairc Lodge B & B
#27 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.4 mi away
Doolin Hostel
Doolin Hostel
#1 of 15 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doonagore Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doonagore Farmhouse

Property: Doonagore Farmhouse
Address: Cliffs of Moher Road | Doonagore, Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Doonagore Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing