We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family and Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Doonagore Farmhouse
Ranked #24 of 56 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2010

This B&B was great! Mary was more than accommodating with what we liked for breakfast and was a great cook. Her son was also more than happy to show us the way to the VERY long hike to the Cliffs of Moher. If you don't have any physical limitations I would highly recommend this hike! We got the room we wanted with an ocean view and it was beautiful (we could see the aran islands from our window). There were nice bars and restaurants very close. When we go back to Ireland we will stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkuhls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 129 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2010

This farm was AWESOME! We had arrived a bit late but Mary was able to get us a table to eat at a wonderful restaurant called the Stone Cutters, just up the road a bit. We were also put in the room with a view of the Aran Islands. Comfy and quiet was this amazing farmhouse! The breakfast was among the BEST I had while in Ireland and the nights were absolutely stunning with the sun setting over the Aran Islands... Located really Close to the Aran Islands, The Burren Perfumery, and the Cliffs of Moher this is a MUST stay farmhouse! Will be back sOOn I hope!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blas-Herrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

I was very excited to stay here from the great reviews I had read. When we arrived, we were given little information--even had to ask what time breakfast was, etc, and felt as though we were in the way, and no tea/coffee were offered as per the advert. The location is wonderful as is the lovely little farm. The rooms were clean. Someone was weedwacking/strimming until after 11pm and the walls transmitted sound rather well-- another guest at the end of the hallway had a baby that was up crying all night and it was as if it was in our rooms. The following morning, one of our rooms had no hot water for showers and the proprietress replied--Well a lot of people took showers last night, nothing I can do about that. Although adequate, we were glad we only stayed one night, and were disappointed.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
5  Thank ScotGal999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Doonagore Farmhouse. It was the best stay of the entire vacation. (which was 10 days) Mary and Pat were excellent hosts and suggested lots of places to visit, along with driving directions - which you will need!
The view is absolutely fabulous! The Cliffs of Moher are only about 3 miles away. The town of Doolin is even closer and there is a wonderful rocky shore to explore and the food at O'Connor's Pub is fantastic!
I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epmonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Doonagore Farmhouse is great ! Mary Sweeney was our host and no one could have offered more hospitality. Doonagore is located a few miles from Doolin and is centrally located to tour The Burren and to see the Cliffs of Moher. Actually The Burren is all around this area and you can drive to key sights in The Burren in an easy 30 minutes. The Cliffs of Moher are even closer. Our room at Doonagore was great with a queen size bed and another twin bed in the room. The bath was very good with a great power shower. The farmhouse is on a working farm with views of the Atlantic Ocean. Hard to imagine being able to live in such a beautiful place. Our hostess was great and the breakfasts were fantastic. Mary fixed what you asked for and had cereals and fruit available. When we asked for breakfast a little early on our last morning, so we could get back to Shannon Airport, Mary was more than happy to accomodate. And Doonagore is exactly one hour from Shannon so it is very convenient if you are flying out. If you want a great location, beautiful sight and charming hostess, you can't beat Doonagore. It is also minutes from Doolin which has several great pubs which feature traditional Irish music.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prabedky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

Nice bed and breakfast. Kind hostess. Good breakfast. A few miles from Doolin (with hindsight we would have stayed right in Doolin so we could walk home at night). You need a car if you are staying here, you can't walk to any activities.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank calajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

To Describe this place in a nutshell would do an injustice to the Sweeney family. It is a beautiful home set against the Cliffs of more and the Atlantic Ocean what more could you want? Well you get plenty more. As my first experience at a B&B I cannot say I could have had a better introduction. While it is gorgeous it is humble at the same time. We greated as soon as we got out of the car. The owner is a little more shy and reserved but very wonderful helpful and pleasant plus she cooks a mean breakfast. The rooms are clean and pretty pleanty warm especially for february and the one i stayed in over looked the ocean. Can't beat it! We were given great direction to the Cliffs of Moher park and to downtown Doolin. Breakfast was delicious. I now feel that I need a full meal every morning. The family is great and helpful. Don't forget its a farm so they have a dog named murphy very sweet, farmcats, donkeys and 80 cows. It was and excellent experience.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay_Bucholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
2.7 mi away
Glasha Meadows
Glasha Meadows
#8 of 56 in Doolin
283 reviews
2.4 mi away
Riverdale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#11 of 56 in Doolin
146 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dale View
Dale View
#26 of 56 in Doolin
39 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blackberry Lodge B&B
Blackberry Lodge B&B
#5 of 20 in Doolin
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doonagore Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doonagore Farmhouse

Address: Cliffs of Moher Road | Doonagore, Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range: $156 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Doonagore Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Doonagore Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing