We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'A warm Irish welcome' did not await us” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doonagore Farmhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doonagore Farmhouse
Ranked #30 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“'A warm Irish welcome' did not await us”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

I was very excited to stay here from the great reviews I had read. When we arrived, we were given little information--even had to ask what time breakfast was, etc, and felt as though we were in the way, and no tea/coffee were offered as per the advert. The location is wonderful as is the lovely little farm. The rooms were clean. Someone was weedwacking/strimming until after 11pm and the walls transmitted sound rather well-- another guest at the end of the hallway had a baby that was up crying all night and it was as if it was in our rooms. The following morning, one of our rooms had no hot water for showers and the proprietress replied--Well a lot of people took showers last night, nothing I can do about that. Although adequate, we were glad we only stayed one night, and were disappointed.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank ScotGal999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    24
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
62
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Doonagore Farmhouse. It was the best stay of the entire vacation. (which was 10 days) Mary and Pat were excellent hosts and suggested lots of places to visit, along with driving directions - which you will need!
The view is absolutely fabulous! The Cliffs of Moher are only about 3 miles away. The town of Doolin is even closer and there is a wonderful rocky shore to explore and the food at O'Connor's Pub is fantastic!
I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank epmonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Kentucky
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

Doonagore Farmhouse is great ! Mary Sweeney was our host and no one could have offered more hospitality. Doonagore is located a few miles from Doolin and is centrally located to tour The Burren and to see the Cliffs of Moher. Actually The Burren is all around this area and you can drive to key sights in The Burren in an easy 30 minutes. The Cliffs of Moher are even closer. Our room at Doonagore was great with a queen size bed and another twin bed in the room. The bath was very good with a great power shower. The farmhouse is on a working farm with views of the Atlantic Ocean. Hard to imagine being able to live in such a beautiful place. Our hostess was great and the breakfasts were fantastic. Mary fixed what you asked for and had cereals and fruit available. When we asked for breakfast a little early on our last morning, so we could get back to Shannon Airport, Mary was more than happy to accomodate. And Doonagore is exactly one hour from Shannon so it is very convenient if you are flying out. If you want a great location, beautiful sight and charming hostess, you can't beat Doonagore. It is also minutes from Doolin which has several great pubs which feature traditional Irish music.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prabedky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

Nice bed and breakfast. Kind hostess. Good breakfast. A few miles from Doolin (with hindsight we would have stayed right in Doolin so we could walk home at night). You need a car if you are staying here, you can't walk to any activities.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank calajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

To Describe this place in a nutshell would do an injustice to the Sweeney family. It is a beautiful home set against the Cliffs of more and the Atlantic Ocean what more could you want? Well you get plenty more. As my first experience at a B&B I cannot say I could have had a better introduction. While it is gorgeous it is humble at the same time. We greated as soon as we got out of the car. The owner is a little more shy and reserved but very wonderful helpful and pleasant plus she cooks a mean breakfast. The rooms are clean and pretty pleanty warm especially for february and the one i stayed in over looked the ocean. Can't beat it! We were given great direction to the Cliffs of Moher park and to downtown Doolin. Breakfast was delicious. I now feel that I need a full meal every morning. The family is great and helpful. Don't forget its a farm so they have a dog named murphy very sweet, farmcats, donkeys and 80 cows. It was and excellent experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay_Bucholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

What an awesome place to have the privledge of staying in! Mary and Patrick (and Niall, Alan, and Declan!) were such wonderful hosts! We got a very nice large room overlooking the Cliffs of Moher road. Very comfortable, cozy beds, clean bathroom and lots of room to move around. We thoroughly enjoyed Mary's breakfasts each morning. We didn't have a car, so Mary and Patrick both offered us rides when we went to the cliffs and into Doolin. We walked almost everywhere and Doonagore is well situated in the middle of the tourist highlights.

We wanted to spend an additional night and although Doonagore couldn't accommodate us, they went out of their way to find us another B&B nearby that they recommended, and drove us there. GREAT HOSTS!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsDash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2009

We went to Ireland for our belated honeymoon, and we spent the first 2 nights at Mary and Patrick's Doonagore Farmhouse. We requested and stayed in room #1--the only one with a view of the ocean from the bedroom window. The room was quite large, well furnished, and comfortable. The bed was wonderful. The Doonagore Farmhouse is ideally situated about 5 minutes drive from Doolin town center with O'Connor's and McGann's pubs---FABULOUS TIME! There are some great little craft shops on the same street as O'Connor's. In the other direction from the farmhouse, about a 7 minute drive, are the Cliffs of Moher. Breathtaking!! Both evenings we went after 6 so there was no parking fee, but the shops and visitor center were closed as well.
Mary serves a gorgeous, huge Irish Breakfast. She and Patrick are both so friendly and helpful with advice. Our only, very small, complaint, is that noise does travel in the house. Perhaps, since our room was right over the kitchen/family room, we could hear some noise, but it wasn't too loud and certainly quiet at bedtime.
We would definitely plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
1.5 mi away
Aran View Country House
3.1 mi away
Riverdale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#13 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Moloney House
Moloney House
#28 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.5 mi away
Atlantic View Bed & Breakfast
1.4 mi away
St. Anthony's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doonagore Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doonagore Farmhouse

Property: Doonagore Farmhouse
Address: Cliffs of Moher Road | Doonagore, Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Doonagore Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing