We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good tour”
Review of Doolin Cave

Doolin Cave
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A Stunning Underworld Experience, the Great Stalactite at Doolin Cave is one of Europe's most compelling cave attractions. It is a truly unique and breathtaking experience:- the largest stalactite in the Norhern Hemisphere. Doolin Cave has a Farmland Nature Trail, which is FREE for its visitors.We have unusual breeds of chickens, sheep, cattle and alovely pygmy goat called Minnie, with her little kid called Vincent Van Goat or Vinnie for short.We have also planted lots of native trees and shrubs and wildflower meadows. Our cafe serves lovely fresh salads, soups, breads and homemade cakes We are very proud to announce that we have recently been awarded a Gold Award from Ecotourism Ireland. Hurray!
Ennis, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good tour”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Very good tour guide. Wonders of nature shown in an interesting way. Good walk in the cave. Wear good shoes. Recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakub K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHBrowne, Manager at Doolin Cave, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your trip to Doolin Cave. We are delighted that you enjoyed the tour and the wonder of the Great Stalactite. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Doolin Cave in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    250
    52
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exciting tour highlighting Mother Nature!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My fiancé and I were a little underwhelmed by the Burren and decided to give Doolin cave a try based upon a brochure we saw at our B&B. We arrived just after a tour started so we had some time (50 minutes) to have some ice cream in the cafe and enjoy a quick stroll along the quaint Nature Trail. Our tour guide was fantastic and very knowledgeable; he was good about stopping and pointing out key features of the cave and telling the discovery and excavation story (our tour actually ran long!). The stalactite, of course, was absolutely beautiful and breathtaking! I recommend a coat or sweater and tennis shoes, as the cave is cool and damp, and you do a lot of walking/climbing stairs. The only thing I would do next time would be to book online to save 20% on the entrance price, since we paid €28 for just the two of us. Definitely a good stop in Doolin!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jh0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHBrowne, Manager at Doolin Cave, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review of Doolin Cave. We are delighted that the tour made your experience of the Burren enjoyable. The tour guides at the cave are excellent, their passion for the cave and its environment really shines through on tours. We are working hard to preserve the natural environment of the cave so it can be muddy in places so tennis shoes or a good pair of boots are a good choice of footwear for your visit. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Doolin Cave in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“surprising, in a good way”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My group had some time to kill before our lodgings were ready, so we went to Doolin Cave. What a pleasant surprise! It is not a built up commercial attraction. It ended up being really fun. It's cool in the cave, so wear a sweater even in the summer. There are a lot of stairs and it's clearly not handicapped accessible. The guide was informative and able to answer questions. The stalactite was quite a vision. I'd recommend the cave if you have a little extra time in Doolin. Make sure to wear sneakers and they will get a bit of clay on them. It's quite damp in the cave.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHBrowne, Manager at Doolin Cave, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for a lovely review of Doolin Cave, we are delighted that your group enjoyed the tour. The Cave truly is a rare opportunity to see the magnificent work of mother nature under the Burren. We work hard to protect the natural environment of the cave and the guides do a fantastic job of educating visitors on all the fantastic features within the cave. We would be delighted to see you back in Doolin Cave in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

How fantastic to find an attraction that hasn't sold out to commercialism. No frills attraction that shows Mother Nature in all her amazing glory.
Don't miss this visit, the engineering that has gone into making it safe is impressive.
As a bonus it is a great way to get out of the blustery wind and I am sure in the summer months a lovely escape from the heat.

Helpful?
1 Thank MCLovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHBrowne, Manager at Doolin Cave, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review of Doolin Cave. To protect the delicate ecology of the cave and to maintain the authenticity of the experience, we are working hard to keep it in a natural state. The Great Stalactite is a true wonder of mother nature and definitely well worth a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yes! Its definitely worth the stop!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The well-informed guides, the safety of the tour and welcoming visitor center all contribute to a most memorable experience of viewing the world's largest and certainly most unique stalactite. Actually breath-taking upon first view!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ELJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHBrowne, Manager at Doolin Cave, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Doolin Cave, we are delighted that you enjoyed the trip. The Great Stalactite is certainly a spectacular and sight and once in a lifetime opportunity. We would be delighted to welcome you to Doolin Cave in the future on your next trip to this part of the country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doolin Cave also viewed

Liscannor, County Clare
 
Ballyvaughan, The Burren
 

Been to Doolin Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing